We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leesha Tourist Home
Ranked #1 of 59 Polonnaruwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Leesha is a nice and simple place to sleep. Rooms are very simple. Food is wonderfull! we had a very good dinner, with different currys. The owner is a very nice person, always available and very kind. I recomend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsobral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    103
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
147
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Dziękujemy Mr. Upali! Thank you for a memorable stay at your cosy guest house! We were four and had this luck to be received by Mr. Upali on a bust stop and taken to his place, where we found clean and relaxing rooms, delicious food served by the owner himself and his great companionship for evening discussions over this and that :) He rented us bikes, arranged guides for Pollonaruwa sightseeing, helped to get the right buses we took during our 3 days stay. We had fantastic fun in Pollonaruwa and spend great time with Mr. Upali and his friends. We traveled for another 2 weeks around the island and never found such a hospitable person on our way. Most recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szczepanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for three nights whilst we explored the cultural triangle. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and the location is very peaceful. You can hire bicycles to explore the ruined city. More than anything what makes this place great is the owner. He really works to make you feel comfortable and relaxed, and nothing seems to be too much trouble for him. Oh, and the food is delicious too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vernon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are spacious and clean with comfortable beds, mosquito nets and a decent hot shower. We had a fan room for 1800 excl breakfast, which we felt was good value. If you book in advance then the owner will pick you up for free from the bus stop.

Upali was friendly and incredibly efficient, always busy trying to help his guests. We didn't find him pushy. He organised a safari for us to minneriya for 4500 per person which was convenient for us.

Breakfast is really good with lots of fruit and fresh bread. Dinner of rice and curry was also good, not spicy which might be good or bad depending on what you like!

You can hire bikes from the guest house to see the ruins for 300 and this is a good way to see the site. The bikes are in very poor shape but the distances aren't large. Upali also let us use the bikes for free on our other days.

Finally, it's also a good place to meet other travellers as it's busy and there is a outdoor seating where everyone sits in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you don't mind being on a tourist production line this is a great place to stay and get good service!
From the moment we made contact by phone everything ran like a well oiled machine. We were met as soon as we stepped off the bus and were taken straight to the guest house by tuk tuk. Within an hour and a half we were on a safari to Minneriya National Park where we were able to see 'the gathering', and a meal was arranged for our return. The following day bikes were organised and we were given detailed instructions of where to go for our tour of Polonnaruwa archaeological sites. Shortly after leaving the museum the chain came off one of the bikes, and within ten minutes the guest house owner appeared from nowhere and sorted out a replacement bike. He was a mine of information regarding onward travel arrangements and arranged tuk tuks to the bus or train station for all his guests.
Meals and drinks were all served efficiently on the terrace in very quick succession. On the morning of our departure breakfasts were again served quickly, bills were presented and paid and arrangements were made for those wanting accommodation in other cities.
Throughout the stay the owner was pleasant and friendly and though full of suggestions was happy for guests to take them or leave them. We did not find him pushy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Reading the reviews of Leesha's rooms, we expected an exceptional guesthouse, but it was very simple. The owner is a bit pushy, and tried to send us several times to his tuk-tuk driver friend and to a woodcrafts shop of another friend of his.
The rooms are a bike ride from town, but the town itself is a bit dull and there's not much to do there.
In addition, the bikes we rented here were quite bad and the riding experience wasn't very pleasant.
Overall, if you're planning a visit to Polonnaruwa, you better sleep in Sigiriya, which is not far and is much more pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The owner of Leesha's makes this guest house, he is such a character. Hopping on and off his moped and laughing constantly. He had arranged our trip to the national park with some other tourists staying down the road to make it cheaper before we'd even been there 5 minutes. The rooms are clean, the food is great and the location is perfect- you can hire bikes from him and cycle to the ancient city in 5/10 minutes.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank olivia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
0.0 mi away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#8 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seyara Holiday Resort
Seyara Holiday Resort
#2 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ancient Village
Hotel Ancient Village
#3 of 59 in Polonnaruwa
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manel Guest House
Manel Guest House
#2 of 59 in Polonnaruwa
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leesha Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leesha Tourist Home

Property: Leesha Tourist Home
Address: 105/A, New Town Road, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Polonnaruwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Leesha Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing