We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leesha Tourist Home
Ranked #1 of 70 Polonnaruwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for three nights whilst we explored the cultural triangle. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and the location is very peaceful. You can hire bicycles to explore the ruined city. More than anything what makes this place great is the owner. He really works to make you feel comfortable and relaxed, and nothing seems to be too much trouble for him. Oh, and the food is delicious too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vernon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 319 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are spacious and clean with comfortable beds, mosquito nets and a decent hot shower. We had a fan room for 1800 excl breakfast, which we felt was good value. If you book in advance then the owner will pick you up for free from the bus stop.

Upali was friendly and incredibly efficient, always busy trying to help his guests. We didn't find him pushy. He organised a safari for us to minneriya for 4500 per person which was convenient for us.

Breakfast is really good with lots of fruit and fresh bread. Dinner of rice and curry was also good, not spicy which might be good or bad depending on what you like!

You can hire bikes from the guest house to see the ruins for 300 and this is a good way to see the site. The bikes are in very poor shape but the distances aren't large. Upali also let us use the bikes for free on our other days.

Finally, it's also a good place to meet other travellers as it's busy and there is a outdoor seating where everyone sits in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you don't mind being on a tourist production line this is a great place to stay and get good service!
From the moment we made contact by phone everything ran like a well oiled machine. We were met as soon as we stepped off the bus and were taken straight to the guest house by tuk tuk. Within an hour and a half we were on a safari to Minneriya National Park where we were able to see 'the gathering', and a meal was arranged for our return. The following day bikes were organised and we were given detailed instructions of where to go for our tour of Polonnaruwa archaeological sites. Shortly after leaving the museum the chain came off one of the bikes, and within ten minutes the guest house owner appeared from nowhere and sorted out a replacement bike. He was a mine of information regarding onward travel arrangements and arranged tuk tuks to the bus or train station for all his guests.
Meals and drinks were all served efficiently on the terrace in very quick succession. On the morning of our departure breakfasts were again served quickly, bills were presented and paid and arrangements were made for those wanting accommodation in other cities.
Throughout the stay the owner was pleasant and friendly and though full of suggestions was happy for guests to take them or leave them. We did not find him pushy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Reading the reviews of Leesha's rooms, we expected an exceptional guesthouse, but it was very simple. The owner is a bit pushy, and tried to send us several times to his tuk-tuk driver friend and to a woodcrafts shop of another friend of his.
The rooms are a bike ride from town, but the town itself is a bit dull and there's not much to do there.
In addition, the bikes we rented here were quite bad and the riding experience wasn't very pleasant.
Overall, if you're planning a visit to Polonnaruwa, you better sleep in Sigiriya, which is not far and is much more pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The owner of Leesha's makes this guest house, he is such a character. Hopping on and off his moped and laughing constantly. He had arranged our trip to the national park with some other tourists staying down the road to make it cheaper before we'd even been there 5 minutes. The rooms are clean, the food is great and the location is perfect- you can hire bikes from him and cycle to the ancient city in 5/10 minutes.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank olivia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We came here while my girlfriend was a bit sick. We were picked up at the bus stop and mr Upali gave my girlfriend some coffee with lemon for her upset stomach (it works!) There are bicycles so you can explore the ruins. The food is good. We had a nice clean room with AC for 3000 rupees. Great price. I'd stay here again. Mr Upali arranged a good deal for visiting Mineriya. With some other guests. The jeep (with kind driver) picked us up at the guesthouse, and after the safari dropped us off at a restaurant we picked. Even though it was further than our guesthouse. Great place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukaskrepel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed one night at Leesha Guesthouse in Polanaruwa and we really like it; Good value for rooms.
We were travelling with our 2 kids (5 years old and 1yo) and we had a nice clean room with 2 beds and a mattress for the baby (no . Bathroom is basic but clean and with hot shower.
The owner was very friendly & helpful, arranging tuk-tuk, giving advices on what to visit and even took our oldest son (5yo) for a short walk to show him bats.
Dinner was also very good, we had a nice rice& curry and the owner prepared a special meal for our baby!
I think there s some bikes you can borrowed but since we had the kids we haven t tried!
Nice adress in Polanaruwa and good value for the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurelhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
0 mi away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
203 reviews
0 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#4 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
132 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#5 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Ancient Village
Hotel Ancient Village
#4 of 70 in Polonnaruwa
101 reviews
0 mi away
Seyara Holiday Resort
Seyara Holiday Resort
#2 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
250 reviews
0 mi away
Manel Guest House
Manel Guest House
#3 of 70 in Polonnaruwa
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leesha Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leesha Tourist Home

Address: 105/A, New Town Road, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Polonnaruwa
Price Range: $14 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leesha Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing