We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean guesthouse, excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leesha Tourist Home
Ranked #1 of 74 Polonnaruwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We paid 2000 rupees for a double room and this was easily one of the best rooms we had at this budget price during our three week stay in Sri Lanka. The owner can be a little pushy but if you are firm (as we were) he takes no for an answer and is generally very friendly and helpful. We had a delicious dinner of many small Sri Lankan curries with rice, and fruit platter for dinner, for a very reasonable price. The only negative is that it's a little far from town on foot, which is not so good on an unlit street at night, but then you don't need to go out as the food is so good!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 319 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during our time ib polonnaruwa. Although the owner was quite intense in the beginning he turned out to be a very friendly host. Even prepared some special food for the two of us. Especially a good place for backpackers.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilbert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

leesha is a bit out of pollonaruwa but in a nice quiet location and very close to the main sites (ruins etc). mr upali is an incredible businessman, comes across as a bit much to start with (seems to pop up at various places during your stay) but is so helpful and just wants to make sure you're enjoying your stay. food was amazing! delicious spicy generous serves of curry. lovely clean spacious rooms with well-functinoing bathrooms. nice outside dining area in a lovely family home. definitely recommend leesha's

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eanddbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is the typical backpackers place. Everyone eats outside in the evening and joins together. Room is simple but clean. The staff (=Leesha) is very kind and does everything for you. Cheap place also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgh722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The owner was waiting for us at the bus station to bring us for free to the guesthouse. The rooms were nice and the food was delecious! Bicycles were 300rs and the hotel to take a swim was 500rs (tell the manager and he will bring you there). The owner was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankygoestoholywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If it weren't for the aggressive selling-on of his friend's services, the host here would be running a place I would consider amongst the better places I had stayed during my Sri Lanka trip. The room was comfortable, newly-decorated, and clean; the bathroom was, compared with most I'd encountered in Sri Lanka, spotless; the breakfast was as good as any other I'd experienced.

By the time we got to Polonnaruwa, we had become much more adept at resisting attempts by hoteliers to sell on their mate's services (plus, in many circumstances, this can be helpful and money-saving). But our host at Leesha - Upali - was the master at it. We went there on the recommendation of an acquaintance in Sigiriya, who said that with the time we had available we should borrow one of the bikes at Leesha and ride around the ancient city sites. He called ahead to tell Upali that we would be coming, but Upali was prepared. He told us we didn't have long enough to do the city by bike (untrue - we had four hours, more than enough time on bike), that the entrance price of US$25 was a rip-off and that his friend, already and waiting with a tuk tuk, could drive us around the ancient city whilst bypassing the entrance fee.

We can't take the moral high-ground; we could have protested, said that we preferred to put money into the hands of the people who maintain this ancient site, and declined his offer of a 6,000 rupee trip with his friend. In retrospect I dearly wish we had, but in the face of his quick-fire sales pitch and his persistent assertion that in his opinion we'd by fools not to take him up on the offer. The tuk tuk driver knew nothing about the site so we didn't benefit from explanatory literature or guidance, we felt thoroughly ashamed to be bypassing the legitimate fee, and we were then taken with scant consultation to a wood carving centre where we were thrust straight into another sales pitch that was very uncomfortable to extract ourselves from.

I don't say this to put anyone off, and broadly I would concur with reviews that appreciated the standard of accommodation and welcome. I'd also add that Polonnaruwa is not a particularly lively place, so have your evening meal here, and demolish the excellent breakfast! But do be aware that you're subject to the front-end of a local enterprise when you stay at Leesha.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Leesha Tourist Home is really just like a home away from home. We stayed here for two nights, and it gets the thumbs up for everything!
Great rooms - clean, spacious, own bathroom, hot water, mosquito nets, towels, comfortable beds, wifi, washing line.
Great service - the owner, Upali, is wonderful! Happy to help in any way - he made our stay there that much better.
Amazing food - we ate dinner and breakfast here each day we were here, and it was unbelievable - so good and so much food! It was a real experience and treat to be served real Sri Lankan home cooked meals - and there was SO much! We couldn't ever finish it all.
Good location - good location! Easy to get around, to ancient city, to station.
Good value - we stayed in a fan room for 1800 rupees, which was great and sufficient! We also stayed one night in the more expensive air con room - it was also fantastic.Air con works well!
We would stay here again, absolutely, and thank Upali for the wonderful service and stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForeverTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
3.8 mi away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#6 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
#5 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Seyara Holiday Resort
Seyara Holiday Resort
#2 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
258 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ancient Village
Hotel Ancient Village
#5 of 74 in Polonnaruwa
106 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thisara Guest House
Thisara Guest House
#4 of 74 in Polonnaruwa
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leesha Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leesha Tourist Home

Address: 105/A, New Town Road, Polonnaruwa 51000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Polonnaruwa
Price Range: $14 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Leesha Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing