We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpleasant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage

Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Pinnawala
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unpleasant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Unpleasant place. Endless money begging. Seeing elephants is a great experience. Unfortunately what comes to the conditions for elephants, there is still much room for improvement.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SSanSSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    825
    872
    512
    268
    406
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“must visit place in sri lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

it is a must visit place in sri lanka when you are in sri lanka. the only elephant orphanage in the world. you could see how the jumbos eat,drink,bath and so many things about them. remember to take your camera with you to take memorable pictures. once in a life time visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank shaun m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“mixed feelings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I'm not a fan of captive animals as a tourist attraction but as pinnewala is an orphanage we decided to visist. I think that it is certainly better for the orphaned and abandoned elephants
here than other places where they are riden by tourists. It is a fairly big area and the elephants roam around in groups freely but are bought up for tourists to feed etc.They are taken to a nearby
river daily for baths but as the river was too high they werent taken while we were there.
Tip there are two seperate entry gates one for locals one for tourists(the tourist queue was heaps
shorter than the local one)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank crawfords37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A memorable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Pinnawala elephant orphanage is surely a memorable experience. They are doing a pretty good job of rescuing elephants and have donation coming from all over the world. Giving elephant rides is a way of raising money for the elephants. Don't expect too much from the ride, the 10 minute ride barely lasts 10 minutes and I saw some people arguing over this. The way I see it, we spend a lot of money here n there then why not donate some for a good cause like this.
I must warn you, my legs were numb when I got off! lol...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aneera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I don't know what to say”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Considering an orphanage , its very well maintained and the elephants are given food at regular time. Now the sad part, if you properly observe the elephants, then you discover that one of the elephant has only one ear and one elephant is blind. This goes to the fact that these elephants were saved from pathetic situation like landmine blast or poachers. It was very depressing to hear the stories of few elephants and how they were tortured in the past before they were bought here. Also point to mention, the money hungry mahouts, who take money in return you can feed the elephants. I personally do not like such activities. The elephants are taken to bath twice everyday in the river nearby. As a SAARC citizen the entrance fees was 500 LKR. I would rather wish these elephants were sent into the wild as its there natural environment. The food is very expensive here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sai Karthik Red... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage also viewed

 
Kegalle, Sabaragamuwa Province
Peradeniya, Central Province
 

Been to Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing