We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations at 4 a.m.”
Review of Senani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Senani Hotel
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Renovations at 4 a.m.”
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The service in the hotel is quite good, the rooms are well cleaned and the people are friendly!
We arrived in the afternoon and saw that there were renovating the swimmingpool, in front of our room. We never thought they would start the next morning again at 4 am with using very loud machines.
The beds are not comfortable and there is a lot of noise on the corridor during the whole night.

When other tourist start waking up, you can hear everything what is said on the corridor, incl. what is said in the dinning room.

You also have to bring your own shampoo!

The location is great, with a nice view and a great value!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    124
    108
    36
    16
See reviews for
73
111
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Stayed here whilst on a two day tour of Sri Lanka. This wasn't my choice but that of the tour agency.

The hotel is situated on top of a hill in the outskirts of Kandy. It's not easily accessible. The rooms are basic with minimal perks. There are no toiletries in the bathroom so bring you own ! Small hard but comfortable beds. For a one night stay this was going to be fine.

However the food (with the exception of an omelette which we had when we arrived) was bad. We had an evening meal which the only choice was BBQ roast chicken. The starter consisted of some shredded colslaw type vegetables - that was it. The chicken when it came was warm and rock hard. It could not be cut with a knife and was inedible. We didn't bother to send it back as they were all like it. Breakfast in the morning was no better, poor quality with little choice.

Hotel is ok if you're on a budget and are going to eat out - otherwise don't bother

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonndJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I was here in this hotel with my wife & my son..it'a a good hotel with the ever smiliong staff.. quick action & average food in Veg, they cannot make good Veg Indian food but if u want to try Srilankan food in Breakfast , luch & dinner then u r a game for it.

It also has a nice view of Kandy city as the hotel is situated at the highest point in Kandly & has a good view of kandly city & kandly lake from the terrace where the food is served.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mannmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I stayed there for a night and the stay was pretty bad. The rooms were in a very shabby condition, the bed were bad as well. The rooms also looked very shady and there was no lift as well.
The food quality was pretty much average. The staff was also not much helpful. I tried to schedule a wake up call but in vain.
The only good part was that it was pretty cheap and located at a height from where I could have a look at the rest of the place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank me_nishantgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

Stayed just one night, room had a pleasant view. Set menu (international-style) was pretty bad, Sri Lankan food good though. Restaurant has a nice view. We asked for a Sri Lankan breakfast which was nice (as long as you like curry for breakfast). There were monkeys outside the hotel when we arrived. Beds were hard and bathroom a bit basic but generally it was fine.

Stayed April 2009
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-and-Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

We stayed at the Senani for only one night and were given a dark room in the basement.
The hotel was full due to an annual rugby tournament which could account for the lack of alternative / better rooms.
Perhaps because it was on the ground floor, the drains smelled in the bathroom. The area outside of the 'patio door' was dirty and the door didnt seem to want to close properly.
The restaurant is open to the elements and had staggering views over the valley but being at the very top of the hotel meant a climb of four flights of stairs to get there - we didnt see a lift.
The food was outstanding, both the international cuisine and also some milder Sri Lankan curries which are better suited to most western tastes.
The hotel is well situated away from the noise of the centre of Kandy but close enough for a tuk tuk ride.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellyfish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed at the Senani hotel as part of our honeymoon for 3 nights.
We arrived and were put in a smallish room downstairs with no views, hence we were disapointed and asked if we could move rooms. We were moved to a nicer room with a better view, but had to pay a bit more. Still good value at 49$. The room was spotless, with a decent bathroom, air con, mini bar etc.
We were the only guests for a couple of days, so got very attentive treatment from the staff and the waitors were great and often chatted with us during meals. The restaurant has lovely views over the valley and it's nice eating breakfast up there, but we felt a bit strange eating there by ourselves in the evening in such a huge restaurant. The Sri Lankan meal we ate was delicious tho!
Although good value for money there were a few things that let the place down:
The reception area is a bit dingy, and there are often no lights on. The pool was empty due to leakage, not good as we were dying to cool down and relax after a days sightseeing.
The lower rooms don't have views, so make sure you stay in either of the three rooms under the restaurant - No5 is the best.

We felt The Senani is a nice guesthouse, but not really a hotel.

  • Liked — lovely views from restaurant
  • Disliked — Dingy reception area and swimming pool out of order
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Joeyjangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#45 of 54 in Kandy
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#28 of 54 in Kandy
618 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senani Hotel

Property: Senani Hotel
Address: No. 167/1 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Senani Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Senani Hotel, a comfortable and luxurious hotel in the hill Capital. Here the guests can avail the modern comforts in a homely atmosphere. Relaxation in absolute Privacy in Luxury. Surrounded by breathtaking view of Sri Lanka's famous Hunnasgiriya and Knuckles mountain range. You can enjoy the warmth and traditional Kandyan hospitality and the tourists can move around easily from here and visit a large number of grand historical sites, which are part of rich cultural heritage of Sri Lanka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senani Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing