We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for a Kandy stopover” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good choice for a Kandy stopover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Chaaya Citadel for 2 nights at the end of September as part of a multi centre tour of Sri Lanka. We found the Chaaya Citadel to be a good place to stay, as it was located on a scenic plot with great views of the river, and in a wealthy area of Kandy, away from the bustle of the centre.
The standard room was really spacious and comfortable, as was the bathroom (even though it was a little dark). The lobby and pool area are very nice, and the staff were friendly and welcoming.
We stayed on a half board basis, and found the breakfasts good with plenty of choice. At evening meals, the restaurant was a bit canteen like, with little atmosphere and large tables of tour groups, however the food was very good (I only ate the Sri Lankan cuisine). I didn't like the service at dinner, as the waiters were too pushy when taking your drinks orders... particularly with selling wine and more expensive foreign beer as opposed to the local beer! Insist on having Lion Beer, as opposed to Carlsberg or Anchor Beer which are much more expensive!
All in all, we enjoyed our short stay at the Chaaya Citadel and would return if we were to visit Kandy again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gl0betrekker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    993
    275
    70
    45
See reviews for
572
1,173
52
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

During the Perahera Season(august) in Kandy we stayed at the Citadel for 10 days. We selected the hotel because of the location.Even though the hotel was fully booked the staff had time to attend to our numerous requests and did it to perfection.We had a room with the river view and enjoyed some evenings watching the nature's marvels by the river while having room service of our choice.We enjoyed a great breakfast (Srilankan and western) with a unique blend of local fruit juices(natural).The evening buffet had different themes,(western,Eastern and Srilankan).We invited a group of our friends to dine @ the Fine dining restaurant too.The food and the service was faultless.
The evening walks by the river and the morning jogs on the road really allowed us to explore the surroundings well.A healthy hill climb through the Mapanawathura road brought you to Kandy in 10- 15 minutes(i enjoyed the hill walk of 40 minutes)We even saw some elephants having a bath on the way.Since we stayed for ten days we got to know the Hotel manager,Chefs and bar staff in addition to restaurant staff and porters.The front desk was very helpful giving hints on locations for photographs ,tours.The rooms are due for a change of decor.Hope they do not change the ECO friendly toiletries.(we had not enough time to enjoy the SPA because of our visits to Kandy and surrounding areas.
The visit to the temple of tooth(Dalada Maligawa) and Perahera(in July- August)is a must if you stay there.I will certainly stay at the Citadel if i visit Kandy again especially to sample their signature dishes.Like any where in the world Ask for what you want politely .If the hotel can do it for you they will with a smile.Citadel did not fail us.
p.s. river crossing on traditional boats ,Please ask the desk for information

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed at the Chaaya Citadel Kandy in mid sept. the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, nothing around. over 8kms from kandy city.very old furniture and horrible beds, we didnt sleep on both nights we stayed there... Avoid it completely.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Megha_it_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights all inclusive as part of a tour. The hotel was in an amazing location right by the river, very peaceful - but quite far out of Kandy. The rooms were very spacious and clean (but the decor was a little dated). But what let the hotel down was the service. The bar staff/waiters always favoured the local tourist, and we were often left waiting for drinks for ages. And when they did bring them they often got the order wrong.

We stayed on a Saturday night, and it did get very noisy and busy due to a large party of local businessmen.

Also if you're a couple ask for a double bed when checking - as unless you're on honeymoon they'll give you twins! We asked for a double after realising they'd given us a twin, so they gave us the 'honeymoon' package which included a double bed, and a plate with 2 bananas and an apple!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelReviewer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yavne, Israel
Level Contributor
387 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights and enjoyed every moment.
Starting from the location: it sits on the bank of the river, with the most beautiful view from the balcony;
Continue with the ample and well equiped room;
Continue with the impeccable service at every step: reception, restaurant, spa;
Continue with the excellent food at breakfast and dinner (we stayed HB).
Add to all that the friendly and accomodating staff and a beautiful country around you: who can ask for more?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

the location is shocking, the rooms are absolutely terrible and we had to change from one that smelt of toilets to the only other available one which had very poor air conditioning ... after enduring this for the first of our 2 night stay the hotel did nothing. When we complained they eventually agreed we could process a complaint on the morning of our departure ... but surprise, surprise the duty manager knew nothing of it and as our driver was waiting we were not able to take it any futher.
a thoroughly terrible hotel, in an awful location, far from Kandy centre, and, for the very poor condition of the facilities, very poor value compared to the other 4 hotels we have stayed at in Sri Lanka, which have been superb

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tris99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Well, it seems finding a decent hotel reasonably priced in Kandy is an issue... well, that's why I picked this one, wrong choice. Remotely located. Big and charmless hotel. Food is terrible (buffet Rs 1,600), mostly guests are western old folks or honeymooners not really demanding on local food, great restaurant if you want scrambled eggs and burger, not for SL or even Indian food. Rooms are noisy and need refurbishment. Staff are grumpy. Internet is chargeable (not in the room, must seat at the concierge desk next to reception.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frog_Singap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3.5 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
2.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing