We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable place to stay in Kandy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A comfortable place to stay in Kandy”
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Stayed one night here on our tour. Just outside Kandy but not too far away and nicely positioned right on the river with good views of same from the room terrace. Rooms were very comfortable and the hotel has a very nice swimming pool which also overlooks the river. Food (buffet) was absolutely fine but restaurant itself has little atmosphere. Bar area was very pleasant and a good place to relax after a hard days sightseeing. No issues at all but I suspect most people spend one night here whilst touring and that is probably sufficient.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    1,049
    283
    75
    48
See reviews for
625
1,219
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghaziabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Nice resort with beautiful location. Excellent reception staff. Big rooms with enough space. Breakfast was simple was not very lavish. Overall a great value for money. Big swimming pool and centrally located near the open bar and lounge. Located a little away from the city centre but easily approachable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepak41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel in March for 2 nights and it was gorgeous!! We had a room overlooking the Mahaweli river where you could see lone fishermen every morning. The room was big and very clean with a luxury bathroom and good facilities. Mosquito nets were provided each night also. The restaurant served lovely food and overlooked the river and pool. The hotel is big but also very personal. The staff are excellent especially the pool boy who will bring you anything you need. The location is good as it is a few minutes drive from the hussle and bussle of the main city but the hotel is set in such quiet and tranquil settings that you would never believe you were so close. It was a brilliant hotel to stay in and I would definetley recommend especially to couples.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and had fogotten how good it is. Staff very friendly, food excellent. The location is a not close to the city centre but its not to far away. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiemay275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We very much enjoyed our short stay at the Citadel in Kandy, it's in a great location with gorgeous views of the Mahaweli river. The staff were attentive and friendly and the food was fantastic with some excelent local curries on offer.
The rooms were clean with the most gorgeous lotus soaps in the bathrooms! It was slightly annoying not being able to plug in a hair dryer or straighteners because there was not a big enough gap between the pug sockets and the dressing table! This is the only silly little problem I had!
The good location of the hotel means you are not far away from the botanical gardens, tooth temple and the tea gardens in Nuwara Eliya.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToriaTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed here for two night on our tour and loved it. The hotel is very clean and well kept with a nice bar area and pool. The views over the river are just lovely and you sit having your meals looking out over it. The rooms are very well kept and the staff left us little flowers on our pillows itwas very quiet at night. The food is very nice with a great range of choices including British and local buffett style. The only small thing i can moan about was that the waiting staff must work on commission selling wine as there not so happy when you only want a coke and not a bottle of £20 wine and they turn very friendly and chatty when you have finished your meal to get a tip though but dont bother with you for the rest of the meal. We really liked this hotel and the area around, it was the nicest hotel we stayed in during our time in Sri Lanka and would go back as it really is a place to go to get away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkpink_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

stayed for one night as part of a tour.the hotel it's self looked old fashoned and felt a little that way too. but the room was clean quite well equipped and we had a fab view down over the pool and river. the pool area is great and the service of the staff around the bar and pool was excellent.the food in the restraunt was pretty good, not the best we'd had in sri lanka but plenty of choice ,also got a good table overlooking the river, would recomend for a stopover but maybe that would be enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakefieldmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kandy
772 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 55 in Kandy
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
1,012 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
696 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#13 of 55 in Kandy
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing