We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2009

As the hotel claims-Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday.

However we did not find this place to be that interesting, especially when one has stayed in such amazing hotels in Srilanka.The rooms are smaller, interior is goos but the overall riverview is not so fascinating.We didn't like the food at all, though there were a lot of varieties.

Overall we were disappointed with Kandy as such.Nuwara Eliya is a much better place to visit.Kandy is really boring!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gautamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,494)
There are newer reviews for Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,967 - 1,973 of 2,495 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

We were put in this hotel at the last minute, and we were really pleased, the hotel and staff are fantastic, a really lovely location, over looking the wide and busy river, the pool area is very nicely set out.

The rooms are roomy and with everything you could need, cleaned daily. The food was the best that we had during our tour of Sri Lanka. A tip would be to buy you gifts down town as the shop is very over priced including the well known knock offs!

We loved our 2 day stay here and would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt_williams386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

This is one of the best hotel in kandy, overlooking the lake. One can even go for boating. Hotel service, view from rooms, lobby, pool area are excellent. even rooms are good

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jyoti_monga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Good quality hotel in an excellent situation, away from the city noise & pollution but near enough for access. Staff were friendly without being obsequious. Room was about average for a resort hotel but it was clean and looked well cared for.
Only downside for us was the number of big tour groups.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bw592964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
36
Reviewed February 16, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a tour in Sri Lanka spending time in Habarana, Kandy and Beruwela. The Chaaya Citadel was amazing. The staff are welcoming and friendly yet subtle and discrete. The location is stunning with the adjacent river and the hotel organised an outdoor dining experience by fairy lights. Rooms are great. Would return to this hotel although outside the hotel I found Kandy to not be as relaxing as Beruwela and Habarana: the city (the hill capital) is faster in pace and more hustle and bustle than elsewhere although in the centre of everything. As a base point, a superb hotel yet not really the location to just step out the hotel to go explore on foot.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Chaaya Citadel in Kandy was the first hotel we stayed in on our six days tour in Sri Lanka. The location was very nice by the river but you had to get there by a narrow road long about 7.5 km, so if you want hotel just as a base for your trips, you might appreciate more closer location then this one's. It was very quiet during the day and I think on the first day we might have been the only people in the hotel as we haven't seen anyone the whole afternoon. The staff was nice and polite, but not over friendly, food was nice and they had a big choice of food so you could choose anything you fancied from pasta to curry and the deserts were delicious. The rooms were modern, cleaned twice a day by nice and friendly room boys. We did hear rattling of trolleys and suitcases really early in the morning which woke us up, but we didn't complain about it.
We didn't book any trips throu the hotel as we had a private driver,so cannot comment on that.
Over all the hotel was nice and modern and we enjoyed our stay there.Would we book it again? Not sure. I had trouble with travelling by car for some reason, so the bumpy drive to the hotel was hell for me. But it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

The location is lovely, set on a hillside and looking down over the river. The staff are excellent - very friendly and helpful. The food is also very good, for a buffet. It has been quiet all year at the hotel, which is fine if you are just looking to relax. The rooms are very modern, clean and have all mod cons - most have a great view of the surrounding hills and the river. Taxis and tours booked through the hotel are very expensive, so I suggest getting a lift into Kandy and finding a driver/guide around the temple of the tooth or the train station.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00_traveller_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
794 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $106 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing