We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel with our 20-month old toddler and had a great experience. The hotel staff is incredibly friendly and kind to children, the room was very clean and comfortable, and the food was mostly delicious. The Cafe by the pool has amazing dinner (albeit quite pricey), and the breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever had at a hotel, especially when it is included with your booking. The room service food, on the other hand, is unremarkable. Since we were traveling with a small child, our only issue were the opening hours for the restaurants, especially for dinner, since they open quite late when you need to put a baby to bed early. The room was super nice and spaceous and very clean, but we had an occasional power outage for a minute or two, then it came back... this seemed common in other locations of the island, however, so I do not think the hotel is to blame for it. Overall, we loved the location since we were close enough to the city to take quick trips and explore, but we were removed enough to feel relaxed and breath clean air without the chaos and noise of the city. The pool is beautiful as well although the shade is quite limited.
We highly recommend this spot for anyone wanting to explore Kandy and its surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VicoBau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We were delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at citadel. Thank you for admiring the resort, the rooms and the beautifully landscaped gardens. You might please to know that the swimming pool is the best pool found in the entire Kandy.

We also would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your compliments made on the variety and selection of food. Your sentiments you have expressed in regards to our associates are truly appreciated and I have taken the liberty to pass them to the entire team.

Thank you once again for your stay at Cinnamon Citadel, we are grateful to you for this review and we hope that we will be able to welcome you all back to enjoy yet another stay at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,490)
There are newer reviews for Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,264 - 1,270 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

During our Sri Lankan holiday trip, got to spend a night in this very nice hotel. We reached late in the evening and left the next morning after breakfast.
It has a very spacious lobby opening onto a very nice swimming pool, slightly at a lower level . The rooms are very spacious, air-conditioned with a balcony overlooking the adjacent river. Breakfast is served on the terrace from where one can have a good view of the river. The buffet is really good and the service is excellent. Staff appeared very courteous.
Felt really sad that we did not get more time at this lovely hotel, as we had a long drive to Galle the next morning

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank premc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed for two nights on a half board basis,and very much enjoyed the hotel
The rooms are modern and large,the pool area is good and so is the service.
We had some pool snacks and a few drinks at the bar which were reasonable.
There was a wide range of food avaliable and would suggest the half board basis as theres not much around the hotel.
Would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: They are all good
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sotbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The rooms were beautiful, well kept and air conditioned. It has a fantastic pool area which was exactly what we needed after travelling and visiting various locations over the 2 days we stayed. The food was very good but we were slightly disappointed that both nights we were there the A la Carte restaurant had a private function so we couldn't eat there. They did offer us that menu to have in the bar area though and the meals were great. The panoramic restaurant has fantastic views but is a buffet so we preferred breakfast there rather than dinner. Would definitely recommend the hotel though! Great experience.

Room Tip: All rooms area good but we would have preferred one nearer the pool area as we were a bit further aw...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel, Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your compliments concerning the location & food are very highly appreciated. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We visited this hotel as part of our tour of srilanka. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings. I gather that all rooms have a good view. Ours was over the river. I cannot fault this hotel or it's sister hotel in yala. The rooms are lovely and clean and of excellent standard. The food is all good quality and made for a wonderfull few days. Well worth a return visit. Staff are well mannered and friendly. We will reurn.

Room Tip: All rooms seem excellent ...enjoy!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anntte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your nice little comments & we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel is stunning with very polite, attentive staff, beautiful scenery around, wonderful selection of food, rooms very clean and nice and quite large. There was food and entertainment in the evening. A very relaxing and lovely place to spend time at!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank mommytwogirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We only had one night in the Cinnamon Citadel Kandy but enjoyed our short time there. It was ideal to visit Kandy but also have a relaxing hotel to return to. Our room was large and very comfortable and the hotel is set in a lovely location right next to the river. The pool looked large and very inviting but unfortunately we did not have time to use it. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel; both were buffet style and the quality was very high. There was such a selection for both and almost too much of a selection to choose from!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsion_cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 56 in Kandy
792 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $106 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing