We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent start to our Sri Lankan tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
northampton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent start to our Sri Lankan tour”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel for 2 nights at the start of our tour of Sri Lanka,we wished we had booked a longer stay,the location is wonderful,overlooking the beautiful river and forest.
The whole hotel had a nice ambience,from the lovely bar overlooking the pool to the restaurant,which served an excellent buffet for breakfast and dinner,the staff at the hotel were really good fun and very attentive,especially the lads when you asked them how their cricket team were doing in the Asian Cup(Sri Lanka won).Our room was top class,with loads of space,a really comfortable large bed and had a really good view over the river.
Whether it was because it was our first hotel in Sri Lanka or just because it was a fabulous hotel,it is the one hotel that has stuck in our minds more than the other four hotels we stayed at on our tour since we returned home,and they were all very good.
If you are thinking of staying here as part of your Sri Lankan holiday,book it,you will not be dissappointed,but stay a night or two longer than we did,Kandy is such a lovely city and this hotel is really in the best location possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alekos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    1,037
    281
    72
    47
See reviews for
611
1,209
56
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel was very nice along with a great location, and the service was excellent. The room was nice, hotel service and quality was exceptional. The hotel sit on the river with view of the mountains above and away from the city noise, so overall, less traffic and congestion. The jewelry shops and wood carvings was the best in the country when compared to other locations visited. The 5 hours road trip to the waterfalls was not worth the ride, but hotel and town worth the trip.

Room Tip: Select room away from band to avoid additional noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Absolutely incredible location with the jungle on your doorstep. Amazing to grab a drink, sit outside and take in the beauty of your surroundings. The staff are helpful, the buffets are fresh and have anything you could want and the rooms are perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDGE-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with a great room design and totally beautiful location. Loved the curries served at the restaurant.
If you visit, spend some time enjyoing the view from the terrace overseeing a river and a luscious forest.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Krassimira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was my third annual trip to Kandy and Cinnamon Citadel. What catches you first is the gentle aroma of cinnamon even as you are settled into the hotel by experienced but not overbearing staff. The room was large and clean with a sit out balcony overlooking the Mahaveli river. It was a special treat to sip a cup of tea early morning in a cool breeze and hear the stirring of the birds. The two nights I spent this year was worth the choice - going down the river; the birds were still chirping though the season had changed; the pool was gorgeous and you can laze the whole day pampered by a pleasant bar/snack service. With the T20 World Cup on this year, you could relax in the lounge in a discrete segment and watch the game with bits of commentary thrown in by the waiters! You feel good whatever you do and if you head out there is always good advice from the travel desk The buffet was sumptuous and a great intro to Eastern spreads. The a la carte room service was prompt and met the descriptive promise in the menu card. Maybe I chose well, too. Where I felt an add on was necessary is a good spa. It is still a great place in Kandy to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prince-on-the-wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel in Kandy Sri Lanka.

We were delighted to note that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration to the entire team to consistently maintain the high standard of service excellence which you have experienced with us.
We have shared your praise with the entire team, as this will encourage them to continue the exceptional service to our guests.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact us if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here for one night and it is well located just outside Kandy, with views over the river in a secluded spot. The grounds and swimming pool were a highlight as well as views from the bar and restaurant (we had breakfast outside). Food was good, without being outstanding and our room was a decent size and clean with a good bathroom. The only downside was that our balcony seemed to be underneath a noisy generator so we couldn't really use it. As we were only staying one night this wasn't a problem. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfing_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you once again for your nice little compliments & we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in March when in Kandy. The hotel was excellent, attentive and friendly staff and the pool area was great. Very good modern room with perfect air con, we did expect this given the fact it is certainly more expensive than the more budget options in the area but we really felt it was worth it. The food was very good too (which is important in Kandy as there aren't a lot of good restaurants to choose from in town, either serving local or foreign food). Overall a great experience and we would definitely go back there if we are in Kandy again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triandswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
753 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 53 in Kandy
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 53 in Kandy
995 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#12 of 53 in Kandy
368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 53 in Kandy
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing