We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view from rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our tour and absolutely loved this hotel. The rooms were lovely with fantastic views over the pool to the river and the jungle beyond. The bar area had the best view ever and watching the fruit bats fly past on their nightly feeding trip with a gin and tonic in hand was a wonderful experience. The food was a good standard but on one of the evenings the staff were struggling to cope which made service slow. Would definitely like to return to this lovely hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel, kandy. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. After the recent refurbishment our rooms are equipped with latest equipment & upgraded to a very high slandered. The deluxe & the superior rooms are very spacious & have a stunning view of the green garden & the Mahaweli River.
Thank you once again for your stay with us & we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,325 - 1,331 of 2,520 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent 2 nights here , its a wonderful hotel, the rooms are spacious and well appointed, staff are lovely, the food is good and varied both at evening meal and breakfast, salads , cold meats, sweets etc are in a small seperate area which is kept cooler than the rest pof the buffet area - this is an excellent idea, the pool looked inviting but we didnt have time for a"dip", the lounge area is comfy and inviting, the views overlooking the river are spectacular.
i would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hotel is out of Kandy so transport required to visit town and surrounding area. Welcome was very good with drinks on arrival. Lovely pool and good choice of restaurants and room service. We had a groundfloor room on the river's edge giving good photo opportunities at sunrise and sunset. Friendly and courteous staff.

Room Tip: Get one on the river's edge. It's a long way from reception but the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spikefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I loved this hotel. It's a bit outside of Kandy and in a lovely peaceful riverside location. The rooms are spacious and very stylish and comfortable. The pool area is stunning and overlooks the river and the surrounding countryside, very green and lush. Sun lounger service for those wee G&Ts after a hard day of touring is highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are an early bedder avoid rm 237, right next to bar and evening band.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Unlike the Cinnamon Lodge all the rooms are in the hotel, the room we had was on the second floor overlooking the swimming pool, river and jungle beyond. Idyllic!
service was good but food not the same stsndard as the Lodge, but good.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jdb4404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a great place to relax and enjoy just chilling out. The food is great with both Breakfast and Dinner buffet with plenty of choice, both Sri Lankan food, and western.The staff are friendly without being "in your face" and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms are more than adequate with comfortable bed (double) and a good shower. There was some live music in the evening, but nothing loud or invasive. Decent choice of drinks at the Bar. Lunch menu looked good, but disappointed with the food, as did not seem at the same standard as other meals (other than the soup). We will happily recommend the hotel, and hope to stay here again when we are planning to take our next visit to the country in a year or so.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OakhurstGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My family and I stayed in the Cinnamon Citadel located in Kandy as a stop during our travels in Sri Lanka. We really liked the hotel, the staff were really friendly. The location is really nice - located right by the river - when you wake up in the morning you can see the mist on the river. The pool is really nice and clean. The hotel staff were really friendly. The only problem is mould in the bathroom - I guess this is unavoidable!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRoberts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments in relation to our location, Food & our service are well noted. Thank you once again for your honest Opinion. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable lengthy stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 56 in Kandy
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $98 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing