We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with nice views over the river” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with nice views over the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

A first class hotel with excellent facilities, good service and good restaurants.

A very well equipped modern hotel with good air conditioning and comfortable bed. The swimming pool was kept very clean, and was much appreciated with temperatures consistently in the low thirties

The separate a la carte restaurant by the river was excellent

Room Tip: Room with a balcony overlooking the pool and the river was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimpat500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at cinnamon citadel, Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    994
    276
    70
    45
See reviews for
574
1,173
52
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel, set down a long, winding, single file road. The room was large and nicely appointed, but was a long trek to room 316 from reception.

Our tour of Sri Lanka had been altered without our knowledge and e thought we were staying near to Columbo on our last night not a 2/ 1/2 hour journey away from the airport. Requests were made by us to change the booking to a hotel in Columbo but we were told that the Kandy Citadel would not cancel the booking. We did not know if this was true or if our tour operator in Sri Lanka did not make such enquiries for us.

The food was very good and we were given a picnic to take with us for breakfast the following morning.

Reception was very busy with phone calls and guests queries. The wifi reception was haphazard and involved moving about in the lounge area to keep reception.

As we were leaving early the next morning we settled our drinks only bill that night. In the morning we were presented with a food bill, which someone had ordered using our room number, something to be aware of if staying for a few days.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nan2272252117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your detail feedback following your stay at cinnamon citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments concerning the food & the room layout is very much appreciated.
Issues that you have encountered is very well noted, we will definitely take appropriate action.
Thank you once again & we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The hotel is set beside a river but you have a windy, single lane in place road to get to the hotel. Service was a bit slow when we checked in. We stayed in Room 305 which was a bit of a walk from everything and smelt musty. I would look more for a central hotel in Kandy so you could walk around the lovely town. The hotel seemed to have lots of tour buses there and I could understand why as it is so far from everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at cinnamon citadel Kandy
Your honest feedback is very much appreciated.
Our well-equipped modern deluxe rooms are very spacious and away from the reception. But our superior rooms are close to the reception & restaurant.

Tank you once again & we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We enjoyed the two nights we spent at this hotel whilst touring Sri Lanka. Everything was in good order with very nice restaurant, good buffet choices at meal times, friendly staff and a nice view of the river.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at cinnamon citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our short stay with us.
Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again for another remarkable holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Nice modern hotel, friendly staff, good position overlooking the river. We ate in the a la carte restaurant and the food was excellent. Breakfast also very good. However, our room was directly above the kitchen so we were sent to sleep and awoken early by the sound of clattering plates. We only stayed for one night which is probably why they put us there as someone has to go there and most people will put up with things for one night. If we had been staying longer we would have asked to be moved. We were in Room 203, so avoid that one and the others along that stretch.

Room Tip: Say you do not want a room above the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annelizabethSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

+++ Very nice, clean and friendly hotel in Kandy
We had a room with river view which was great
Breakfast and dinner buffet were both excellent, especially the view from the terrace upstairs
Very good service at the pool

--- There is no spa/ massage at the hotel and it also cannot be arranged through the hotel.
The service at the bar was very, very slow. We had lunch there at around 2pm when there were lots of other guests and we had to wait at least 40mins for our food.
The WIFI signal is quite bad (no signal in our room).

Room Tip: Room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wife_of_fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Beautifully situated overlooking the river this modern hotel offers comfortable, if rather avantgarde, rooms. Everything worked well and sound insulation seemed good. The restaurant terrace was a delight which overlooks the river valley. The food variety and quality was excellent but the standard of service both here and in the bar was rather sloppy. Lovely pool but the plentiful loungers oddly have little option for shade as there are no parasols provided.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayesandveetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3.5 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
2.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#12 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing