We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to worry about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

A solid safe and reasonable hotel, set on the side of a hill overlooking a delightful river scene. Good restaurant, nice bar, good pool and nice gardens. Not the most memorable hotel and a bit tired in places but the staff are excellent throughout the hotel. We had a room that opened on to a balcony and the gardens that was lovely. The room was a good walk from the amenities with lots of steps but hey, it is on a hill. The hotel is not in the middle of town but that is not a show stopper as the up side is the views and the peace and quiet.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CotswoldsOldbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at cinnamon citadel Kandy.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It was a pleasure to read your comments and that you found the hotel to be well suited for your holiday break. We were pleased to have met your expectations and that you enjoyed the room, balcony, garden, facilities, location of the hotel and the friendly team.

We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,503 - 1,509 of 2,657 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in kandy for one night, wish it was more. The room we has was huge, and very private with a view of the lush green garden. The bar by the pool near the lobby was great atmosphere and was nice for catching up with friends. The breakfast buffet was fantastic such a large variety. Overall wish we stayed longer and will be back again.

Stayed: January 2557, traveled as a couple
Thank shakwij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon citadel Kandy
Your valued comments and suggestions are important for us to improve our services & performance.
We are truly delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and have shared your positive feedback with the entire team. This is indeed great encouragements in our objective to continuously improve our performance and thoroughly delight our guests.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback & look forward to welcoming you back to experience our resort at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Spent three nights here during our honeymoon December 2013. Staff very friendly and polite, and the room was gorgeous. We were given complimentary upgrade and fruit bowl for our honeymoon, which was a lovely touch. The room was the cleanest we stayed in on our trip, and was very fresh and stylish. The bed was enormous and decorated every evening with petals and our balcony had a great view of the river. The bar area was very nice, overlooking the pool and the river, and the staff were attentive- giving out Bombay mix with your drinks!

The food was delicious, particularly breakfast with a huge selection of cooked/continental/fruits etc. The curries in the evening were also great, although I noticed inconsistencies with the heat- some evenings nothing had any spice, then the next they made up for it! Curries(which were mostly vegetarian) were by far the best food choice, although other options included pasta, fish and beef lasagne. Only one issue- I have severe allergy to strawberries, and yet most of the desserts either contained them or were garnished with them, despite the hotel having knowledge of this allergy before hand.

Overall I would definitely recommend, and would live to go back myself!

Room Tip: Ask for something on the second floor as it has good views and is away from the noise of the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are glad to note that you have enjoyed the facilities, our food, services and the surroundings of the hotel during your short stay with us.
While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and it was the perfect place after our busy 3 days in the cultural triangle.

The hotel is very open plan, all cool white décor and comfy beach chairs, gorgeous pool area overlooking the lake, and trendy looking bar.

It was quite Mediterranean in feel and we felt the sudden urge to take a break from ‘culture’ and just spent the day lounging by the pool and having cocktails. All very relaxing.

The rooms are laid out almost villa style, again like a Mediterranean villa complex, all throughout the grounds and away from the main lobby / pool area. Our room was huge with a little garden area, and a trendy black bathroom.

Beds were very comfortable, wi-fi free and fast.

Once you enter your front door there is another door at the end of the corridor before entering the bedroom which at first I thought was odd. Close this door at nighttime. This door prevents the noise of early morning guests checking out and staff doing the morning changeovers.

The buffet in the evening was good, but not great, though we thought the price reflected the level it offered. There was a good enough choice, but some of the food was only just warm enough rather than hot. It was also a bit oddly laid out, square shaped, so you seemed to be constantly bumping into someone going the other way, there wasn’t a good ‘flow’ to it!

We ate outside (too many big tables for the tour groups inside) and it was lovely with the pool lite up.

The English of the staff was very good and the service friendly and helpful.

It was slightly cooler than the cultural triangle which was a nice change. There were no issues with mosquitoes despite being so near the lake.

Kandy itself was lovely, quite upmarket in comparison to the other towns we had visited. We did the cultural show, which was fun if a little amateurish, (like attending a school play) and then afterwards we did the Temple of the Tooth, (so we went in at 6 pm, it closes at 7.30 pm.)

This was a lovely time to visit as the sun was setting and it was much cooler. The actual area where the tooth is, where the doorway opens for a very short time, is very very crowded and the locals, Buddhists and tourists alike are passionate about getting as close as possible, so be prepared.

The temple of the tooth is actually a huge complex in total, and very lovely to wander around. I could easily have come back during the day to see it again. Probably our favourite temple we visited.

Room Tip: We liked our room that was ground floor away from the main building as it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Riverside hotel with pretty views. Rooms very stylish with two large beds, sitting area, and small balcony with table and chairs. Bathroom was good, but black tiles make it rather dark. Shower pressure not very good. Modern, airy lobby and bar area. Food was good, although we are not keen on buffets, so we went a la carte or had bar snacks, which were tasty and not expensive. Nice to have breakfast outside on the restaurant terrace. A very pleasant two-night stay. We would return.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BigTrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Citadel, standing grand by the banks of a river, is a good place to stay while visiting the hill station of Kandy in Sri Lanka. The rooms are comfortable and facing the river. The staff of the hotel lives up to the Sri Lankan hospitality and you’d come back with fond memories of not just the hotel, but the staff as well. Food spread is good, and it is advisable to include the buffet breakfast and dinner in the package.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNightjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel we found to be one of the better ones on our honeymoon. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms stylish with good power showers, the food is good in both restaurants (one is buffet and one a la carte) and the staff are nice. The views of the river are really lovely and good for bird watching. Only criticism is the annoying bar music in the evening - terrible musak of annoying covers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mad_Madam_Nim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
879 reviews
1 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 58 in Kandy
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#12 of 58 in Kandy
1,146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#7 of 58 in Kandy
598 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 58 in Kandy
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $139 - $962 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing