We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riverside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our wonderful travel agent, Sudheera from Happy Holidays Sri Lanka organized a tour of the island. Our second stop was at this hotel where we spent three nights including New Year's Eve. Everyone was very professional and the hotel was very well maintained. The location over looking the river was very peaceful and relaxing. The pool area was a little small but we only found it was full on one afternoon. The food was good; the breakfast buffet offered many options but the lunch and dinner were more limiting and primarily offered curries and that's the only reason why we haven't given the hotel 5 stars. It would have been nice to have the option for some lighter food. All the staff was very polite and professional. The entertainment for New Year's Eve was very disappointing as they held a beauty queen contest among the hotel guests. They had a band play but it was a shame that the hotel didn't hire some local entertainers to highlight the rich culture.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LockhartsUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,426 - 1,432 of 2,551 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is amazing!!!! Very Comfy soft beds. Stayed in room 277. The room is quite noisy at night because of some kind if machine or pump outside our room on the ground floor... but apart from that fabulous...
Food was brilliant - plenty of fresh and tasty vegetables!!!!!!
We stayed there for New Year's Eve and the hotel had arranged an amazing evening complete with fireworks!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lainie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A very comfortable hotel, go for top floor rooms if you can - the views of the river are very relaxing. Some have commented negatively about the distance from the city centre - we found it helpful since it meant that the area was really quiet.

Expect to walk and climb stairs if you want one of the rooms with best views.

We stayed a couple of nights and enjoyed the experience. Good service, except for a hiccup over collecting our luggage on checkout, but it was well handled when I complained.

The main restaurant was rather off-putting at first sight with a row of tables with travel companies names on them, together with lists of room numbers. However, get beyond that and sit on the terrace and the breakfast experience is very good. The fine dining restaurant, which we used both evenings, achieved very high standards and has a good location over looking the river. They kindly produced cake and candles etc in celebration of my wife's birthday.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for just the one night whilst touring Sri Lanka. The accommodation was superb. Room was spacious with scenic views over the river and a private balcony. The lobby was maintained giving a 5 star feel on arrival. Staff are warm and welcoming and always willing to help. The food was great, there was a large spread for both dinner and breakfast with lots of delicious local and international dishes. We wished that we stayed here longer whilst on tour, but unfortunately were really pressed for time.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jareth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at cinnamon citadel Kandy. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your short stay with us and our warm hospitality. We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience at the panorama restaurant.
Whilst thanking you for your high recommendation, we do look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for one night in early Jan. Checked in about 4pm with a nice glass of fresh juice waiting for us. Room good although we were stuck at the end of the corridor. Really comfy and homely with ok view of river. Bathroom was very chic!! Had dinner at the pool bar in the evening-beautiful surroundings- but food and service average. Nice change from a buffet though!!
Had a good nights sleep except for the local cat miaowing outside our door between 2-5am! Breakfast was very good. We ate on the balcony overlooking the river which was beautiful.
The only downside to this hotel is its location outside of central kandy. We did know this before arriving and had a driver so it wasn't a massive problem, but if you're staying more than one night and don't have a driver I'd say stay in central Kandy, as the town seemed very lovely. Overall a great hotel. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Emma-Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here as part of our trip. Other than the difficulty of getting Earl Grey tea which was non existent there was nothing bad but nothing great either. It did what the tin said!
Good bathroom and big room, great views from pool so worth a one night stop over but I would not choose here as a longer base.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Newkneebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowme I, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at cinnamon citadel in Kandy.
We wish you and your family a very happy and prosperous New Year 2014.
Your compliments are highly appreciated and will be shared with the entire team.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to having you back with us for another memorable holiday at cinnamon citadel Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is very good with an excellent dinner and breakfast buffet (ask for a discount if you're full vegetarian). The rooms are spacious and quiet, and rather well isolated. Some rooms near the reception can be noisy as there is a rather mediocre life music until 23.00 at the bar/lobby area, but in the rooms further down you don't hear anything. The grounds are green, with a view on the river and pleasant. The only issue is the distance from the centre of Kandy, so you need a car. At dark, the road to the hotel is not well indicated. The road coming directly from town goes up and down the hill and is unlit - difficult if your driver doesn't know the area so ask well for directions before leaving Kandy center. The other road arriving to the hotel goes along the river, but I was told by a local friend not to take it alone at night as there are no houses on the way, so think about it.
There is driver accomodation available, but the driver has to pay for his food (apparently; I did not check with the reception, that's what my driver told me).
The reception and restaurant staff was good and professional.
The pool looks very nice, but I did not see anybody swimming. It would be a bit awkward, I suppose, as it is just at the front of the lobby/bar area. :-)
The hotel caters to tour groups, which dominate the scene, but if you don't mind it, and you want a quiet night in a pleasant room, it is a good choice.
The internet is included and worked well.

Room Tip: Far from the reception or otherwise very bad life music until 23.00.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priya777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
570 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#13 of 56 in Kandy
1,342 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 56 in Kandy
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $109 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing