We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLASSY HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a very nice sophisticated hotel about to miles from downtown Kandy. You will need transportation as there is not much in the area within walking distance. The hotel is quite lovely and up-to-date. It is located on a very rural road and overlooks a river and the impenetrable jungle on the opposite bank. Most rooms overlook the river and a large swimming pool. There are lounges around the pool for relaxation. This hotel is probably the best place to stay in or around Kandy. That said, we stayed at the Cinnamon Lodge in Habarana on the two previous nights where we found the service and food to be superior. Never-the-less, I would definitely recommend the Cinnamon Citadel. We had two buffet breakfasts and two buffet dinners at the hotel. Food was fine and should satisfy most guests. Our room was 275 and looked out at the pool and river. Except for the slight sewer odor in the bathroom, the room was very comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom for odors before using the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelNili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,462 - 1,468 of 2,550 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very nice location and view. The rooms were well maintained. Room service was prompt. Wireless internet available in the rooms free of charge. The food was great with many choices. Tha staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baqami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We selected this hotel after spending a fair amount of time pondering whether to stay in the hills or on the river, there appear to be no decent 4 or 5 star hotels in Kandy town. Our decision turned out to be a good one as this hotel was great. The pool and bar were excellent with awesome views over the river. The food at Café C was really good and was an alternative to buffet style.

The room was modern and large with a lounge, nice separate bath and shower with rain head and there was a balcony with a nice view over the river. To get into Kandy town is about 500 rupees on a tuk tuk.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room that has a view and is slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdchiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We visited citadel for the 1st time after the refurbishment it looks grate The location is spot on with the River view The pool is lovely with only 4ft right round so that children are safe two days is not enough wish we can stay more

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldengrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We gladly look forward to have you back with us for another amazing holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

When you walk in to the hotel one never expects that there is such spectacular view. There is a lovely pool and along side there is a covered place from there the view of the river and the scenery was breathtaking. The rooms are spacious and have lovely view from the balcony. The breakfast/ dinner area ambiance was cosy in evening and inviting in the morning. I wished we should have stayed longer. May be next timeaq

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medha235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are elated to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for your feedback, we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Beautiful room with a great balcony to a lovely view. The grounds and pool area were delightful and the terrace where breakfast and dinner was served was a treat. Everything about the resort was relaxing and we wished we were staying longer not just passing through.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Traveller-in-joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We gladly look forward to have you back with us for another amazing holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night after a long day on the road. This hotel is very well located and has a trendy look. The view of the pool and the river behind it is just breathtaking! We would like to come back and stay for more time and take the river tour.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We gladly look forward to have you back with us for another amazing holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
570 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#13 of 56 in Kandy
1,342 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 56 in Kandy
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $108 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing