We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern comfort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is a considerable distance out of the city but is most impressive with comfortable spacious rooms overlooking the river and/or large pool. The air conditioning was most efficient and the staff were friendly and helpful.
The dinners were excellent with a wide choice of dishes. Likewise there was an enormous choice at breakfast.
There are lots of stairs so people with mobility issues may need to think carefully before selecting this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Betula103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for selecting our Hotel for your holiday, we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,523 - 1,529 of 2,550 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely rooms with the opportunity of eating privately on your own patio which we did overlooking the river.
Food was lovely and lots of choice.
The pool and bar area very clean,
Lots of stairs throughout the hotel so not sure it would suite the less mobile but I'm sure lifts must be available .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel, Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cinnamon for three nights from 4-6 August. The hotel is generally very good but unfortunately I picked up a nasty stomach bug during my stay which lasted well over a week. I needed antibiotics to shift it. The staff were helpful and anxious to help at all times.
The views are lovely and pool is great but the food was only average and may have given me the bug!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are quite alarmed by the unpleasant experience you had with the food and do apologize for any inconvenience caused. We constantly strive to improve our food and quality standards and your feedback is undoubtedly deeply valued by us. While thanking you for selecting our Hotel for your holiday, we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here on two separate occasions with a few days in between on our tour of Sri Lanka. Both rooms were comfortable, modern and very clean. The service was mostly very good although coffee was a bit slow to be served at breakfast. The breakfast Buffett however was excellent with a really nice variety. I particularly liked the cold room! We had one dinner at the hotel buffet and one room service meal. The buffet was excellent and the food good from room service although the portion size was rather meagre. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Kandy. It has lovely views over the river, nice swimming pool and bar area, but be aware that it is a little way out of the town.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Jmahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday at Citadel and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was my 2nd time at the Citadel. On both occasions I stayed only one night but the experience from start to finish was very good. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with everything you would expect in a 4 star hotel. Always ask for a room with a view of the river. It beautiful to wake up early and go onto the balcony and listen to the birds and look out over the Mahaweli River. The beds are very comfortable and clean. The bathroom had fantastic shower and separate bath if you like. Lots of the usual complimentary bathroom accessories are provided. The super deluxe rooms can have two single beds or one large super king size bed. The price including buffet breakfast is not cheap but then you are paying for a very high standard. The buffet breakfast has a fantastic range of Sri Lanka, continental Europe, and English foods. There is a cook to make eggs, hoppers, etc. lots of choice and very tasty foods. There is also a fruit and dessert glass room to prevent any insects landing on the food that also had a lot of did fence choices. The breakfast area also has a great view of the river and worth getting a window table if you can. On the downside this hotel is about 15 minutes outside of Kandy but apart from that I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request a room with good view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PraveenWickramaratne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy.
We were happy to read that you were pleased with the location of the hotel, which is only a 10 minute drive from Kandy. Your comments on the food and the spacious rooms are as well noted.
We look forward to welcoming you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having read some of the poor reviews for this hotel we were braced for the worst.......I wonder if these bad reviews were fr another hotel?
However - the hotel is amazing. Wonderful location, superb room, amazing buffet and outstanding staff.
Well done!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPratt2563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and you had a memorable holiday. We look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and were very impressed. The public areas of the hotel are bright and spacious. We had lunch from the bar menu and had the buffet one the nights. Both were up there with the best food of the holiday. Try the nasi goreng and the egg hoppers for breakfast. The distance from the heart of kandy is too far to walk

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have also noted and shared your feedback regarding the food with our culinary team. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we do look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
570 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#13 of 56 in Kandy
1,342 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 56 in Kandy
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $108 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing