We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having read some of the poor reviews for this hotel we were braced for the worst.......I wonder if these bad reviews were fr another hotel?
However - the hotel is amazing. Wonderful location, superb room, amazing buffet and outstanding staff.
Well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPratt2563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and you had a memorable holiday. We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    1,026
    281
    71
    46
See reviews for
601
1,202
55
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and were very impressed. The public areas of the hotel are bright and spacious. We had lunch from the bar menu and had the buffet one the nights. Both were up there with the best food of the holiday. Try the nasi goreng and the egg hoppers for breakfast. The distance from the heart of kandy is too far to walk

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have also noted and shared your feedback regarding the food with our culinary team. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we do look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. It is located right next to a clean river. Across from it is a jungle-like area with thick foliage where one can image wild boars or a herd of elephants emerging at any moment. The room is quite big and has a balcony that looks out to the swimming pool and the river. The breakfast buffet has a wide choice of food and the main restaurant serves international cuisine. I had Thai dishes on my first night and I'd say they all tasted good. The location is a bit out of the way and the road that leads in and out quite narrow but overall it's an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyrusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us that you had a memorable holiday. We hope that the accommodation and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Citadel.
We have the best location in Kandy. Our newly refurbished rooms are spacious and equipped with all modern amenities. We look forward to welcoming you at our Hotel once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a great location right by the river which gives u a good walk anytime of the day.staff were nice & helpful, doing a boat trip from hotel along the river is a must.open buffet breakfast was great with a beautiful view,the herbal water was soo tasty!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youssra78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad that you have enjoyed the boat trip along the Mahaweli River.
Your kind sentiments and comments are very much valued and we look forward to welcoming you back at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Sri Lanka, 1 week on tour and 1 week at the beach. We had 2 nights at this hotel and I loved it. It was more luxurious than our previous hotel but probably less personal too. However I loved the luxury, from the little touches in the room (flowers on the bed each night, a very welcome complimentary toothbrush and slippers) to the fantastic pool. As per other reviewers, we had been to see the Esala Perahera festival and despite our late return from the chaos and splendour, the restaurant was still open and in full flow. The staff were polite and courteous, the food an excellent selection (loved the cold room at the buffet) and wonderful views across the river to the jungle beyond. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy.We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights on our 2 week honeymoon tour of Sri Lanka. This was the least impressive of the hotels although I wouldn't say bad. The restaurant selection, food quality, cleanliness and ambience was the most disappointing thing. Staff were pleasant but not as open, friendly, forthcoming and edficient as in other places we stayed at. Otherwise we thought it was pretty average with luxurious features.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in the Cinnamon Citadel towards the end of the Esala Perahera festival. It is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy on the bank of the Mahaveli river and is a haven for visitors to relax and unwind.

With beautiful views of the river, lovely and spacious rooms and courteous and efficient service, this is a hotel that I would recommend without hesitation to any visitor to Kandy.

Do contact the travel desk and go for a boat ride on the river - it's well worth it. We also explored the botanical gardens and - on our way back to Colombo - the elephant orphanage.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkrishnaswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you with us again for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
998 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
737 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 54 in Kandy
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
970 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 54 in Kandy
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing