We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel could be anywhere (undististinctive)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights on our 2 week honeymoon tour of Sri Lanka. This was the least impressive of the hotels although I wouldn't say bad. The restaurant selection, food quality, cleanliness and ambience was the most disappointing thing. Staff were pleasant but not as open, friendly, forthcoming and edficient as in other places we stayed at. Otherwise we thought it was pretty average with luxurious features.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,490)
There are newer reviews for Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,483 - 1,489 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in the Cinnamon Citadel towards the end of the Esala Perahera festival. It is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy on the bank of the Mahaveli river and is a haven for visitors to relax and unwind.

With beautiful views of the river, lovely and spacious rooms and courteous and efficient service, this is a hotel that I would recommend without hesitation to any visitor to Kandy.

Do contact the travel desk and go for a boat ride on the river - it's well worth it. We also explored the botanical gardens and - on our way back to Colombo - the elephant orphanage.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkrishnaswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you with us again for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We only stayed here for one night so this is, by no means, a full review. That said, if that one night had been terrible I would be telling you all about that so here goes anyway.
This is a beautiful hotel staffed by wonderful, considerate, polite staff who are at great pains to make you feel welcome to their hotel. Our room was beautiful, spacious and spotlessly clean. The view across the river was lovely, helped by gorgeous birds flitting amidst the trees. We only had a light evening meal but had breakfast here. It was ok; not uber-brilliant but there was plenty of choice and a really nice environment to have it in.
If you are assign through Kandy, stay here. Next time, we will stay longer.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BFB790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel with big rooms, nice pool and good service. The choice for breakfast was huge and quality of the food was good ( except for the juices!) all together iwould definately come back to enjoythe tranquility of thishotel and escape from busy and noisy Kandy :)

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LipTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A beautiful hotel by the river just outside Kandy. Spent four wonderful days there. Just like an earlier review, we found this to be an oasis of calm and luxury after touring the interesting, but busy city. The staff were great and couldn't do enough for us. The meals and service were first class. Took a boat trip up the river organised through the Nature Trails office in the hotel. Saw an amazing variety of bird life as well as monitor lizards. A most enjoyable couple of hours. Looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Was fab hotel food excellent setting amazing with pool right beside the river really quiet. Got back late after elephant parade but allowed us to choose some dinner at the buffet and had a waiter bring it to our room! Service service service ! No complaints!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watfordonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff always strives to surpass guest expectations by going the extra mile to make their stay all the more memorable. We are pleased to know that the service we provided was above your expectations and you had a most enjoyable stay with us. We eagerly look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here on our tour of Sri lanka for 3 nights. After our previous 3* hotel we had high expectations as this was rated 4* Unfortunately first impressions were not great. One room was ready and we were told ours would be ready in 15 mins max. After 50 minutes and 3 more 10 minutes it was finally ready. I don't mind waiting but had I been told at the start it would be nearly an hour I would have had a drink in the bar or chilled in the other room, I would prefer that than being lied to. The room was nice although there was a small leak in the bathroom, however we reported that and it was immediately sorted. The food and buffet service was excellent. We didn't use the pool as we were out most of the time. we found the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyAmblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We regret the inconvenience caused as a result of not being provided the rooms on time upon checking in. We have been operating on full occupancy these months as it is the season and hence preparing the rooms by the standard check-in time has often been an arduous task due to back to back running operations. We will certainly look at improving our check-in process so that a smooth check-in is possible at all times. We are glad that you appreciated our well-appointed rooms together with our excellent buffet spread. While thanking you for your constructive feedback, we certainly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 56 in Kandy
792 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $106 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing