We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Luxury Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Luxury Haven”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A beautiful hotel by the river just outside Kandy. Spent four wonderful days there. Just like an earlier review, we found this to be an oasis of calm and luxury after touring the interesting, but busy city. The staff were great and couldn't do enough for us. The meals and service were first class. Took a boat trip up the river organised through the Nature Trails office in the hotel. Saw an amazing variety of bird life as well as monitor lizards. A most enjoyable couple of hours. Looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    1,015
    281
    71
    45
See reviews for
591
1,195
54
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Was fab hotel food excellent setting amazing with pool right beside the river really quiet. Got back late after elephant parade but allowed us to choose some dinner at the buffet and had a waiter bring it to our room! Service service service ! No complaints!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watfordonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff always strives to surpass guest expectations by going the extra mile to make their stay all the more memorable. We are pleased to know that the service we provided was above your expectations and you had a most enjoyable stay with us. We eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here on our tour of Sri lanka for 3 nights. After our previous 3* hotel we had high expectations as this was rated 4* Unfortunately first impressions were not great. One room was ready and we were told ours would be ready in 15 mins max. After 50 minutes and 3 more 10 minutes it was finally ready. I don't mind waiting but had I been told at the start it would be nearly an hour I would have had a drink in the bar or chilled in the other room, I would prefer that than being lied to. The room was nice although there was a small leak in the bathroom, however we reported that and it was immediately sorted. The food and buffet service was excellent. We didn't use the pool as we were out most of the time. we found the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyAmblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We regret the inconvenience caused as a result of not being provided the rooms on time upon checking in. We have been operating on full occupancy these months as it is the season and hence preparing the rooms by the standard check-in time has often been an arduous task due to back to back running operations. We will certainly look at improving our check-in process so that a smooth check-in is possible at all times. We are glad that you appreciated our well-appointed rooms together with our excellent buffet spread. While thanking you for your constructive feedback, we certainly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I spent one night in this lovely hotel just out of Kandy. The room I was given was newly refurbished, and it was both modern and beautifully decorated. The hotel is next to a river. The service was excellent. The restaurant Paramount served an excellent buffet dinner with a lot of choice, both local and international cuisine. Breakfast was very good as well. There was a large pool area which looked very inviting. A most excellent experience. This hotel is ideal for exploring Kandy. Hopefully I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor after completing your stay with us at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
After the recent refurbishment that took place last year, our hotel is equipped with all the modern facilities and is a stunning four star deluxe resort.
Your kind sentiments and comments are highly valued and we certainly hope to have you again with us for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We reached the hotel around 10.30 in the night . the front office staff was very helpful. There was a delay in room service food & the sandwich was not excellent. Rooms are very well done. I got up at 5.30 and was having my tea in the balcony. it was a amazing environment. The breakfast buffet was awesome. Food selection was good & had a very good spread. Breakfast was one of the best I ever had. I still think Heritance Kandalama breakfast is the best but I never expect Citadel breakfast up to this level. Restaurant staff was very helpful and I enjoyed the Sri Lankan spread.

Management has done a good job with the refurbishment. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suresh_Dissanayake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure to know that our valued guests have had a peaceful and relaxed holiday with us. While thanking you for taking time to write to us we eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Arrived mid afternoon after a busy day and really needed to 'chill' we found the Cinnamon Citadel just the ticket. Lovely bar and lounge are all open and overlooking the pool and river below. Lovely quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy. Service and check in good, pleased with our family room, clean well equipped and air conditioned; private balcony overlooking the river below. Good buffet food with wide selection both for dinner and breakfast, nice touch having the separate salad bar area which was enclosed to keep flies out. Would strongly recommend, enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for taking time to write to us we eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Service is good. The buffet breakfast and dinner change over time, so you're not stuck with the same choices all the time. The hotel is a bit outside of Kandi. Tuc-tucs are your best bet for a cheap trip to town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for posting your experience on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3.5 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing