We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Villa Rosa(Kandy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Secret Kandy(Kandy)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,747)
Filter reviews
2,747 results
Traveler rating
1,113
1,165
330
84
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,113
1,165
330
84
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivera la carte restaurantsri lankalovely hotelmain restaurantswimming poolsuperior roombuffet stylefruit batsour honeymoonhalf boardlovely pooldinner buffetpublic areasstayed longerhotel is situatedtwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,740 - 1,745 of 2,747 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very comfy large room with all amenities. Great helpful smiling staff. The open air reception area and lounge was great to sit and relax at the end of a busy day sightseeing. The dinner buffet offered lots of choice and the breakfast buffet was also good espcially the setting with views of the river. The hotel is spread out over a large area and we felt sorry for the porter as he struggled with our bags with no trolley or lift access to the rooms. Overall one of the finer hotel experiences we had on our 7nt island tour of Sri Lanka.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank TheSaifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience with us on TripAdvisor. It gives us great pleasure to read that you loved your stay in our four star Deluxe resort, the extensive selection of food that is prepared according to your preference together with all aspects of our beautiful resort.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hotel is far from the city and is mediocre on many fronts: The room, the poolside food, the choice at the bar and occasionally the service. The food we had at the pool side was the worst I had in all of Lanka.

The food at the a'la carte cafe is good, but has very little vegetarian and no Sri Lankan! The breakfast is good, and their hoppers are beyond good. They get rural ladies to make them, and my wife was fascinated with the ease with which they belted them out.

Room Tip: River facing may get the breakfast and pool noise, and the other side has mediocre views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devenverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Please be rest assured that we are looking into every area highlighted by you to improve our level of service and facilities. We thank you sincerely for the feedback provided which is truly invaluable to us. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again at our Hotel on your next visit to Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A good experience at cinnamon kandy. Nice spread out resort next to the river. Had a delux room, which was pretty large. Good staff, polite and smiling, and helpful. Decent buffet spreads and breakfast.
Overall a very nice hotel, one could spend 2 / 3 days relaxed here.

Room Tip: No gymn here. But u have a swimming pool and ample garden area to walk and jog.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on our Hotel. We are pleased to read that you have had a wonderful stay with us. While thanking you for your feedback, we eagerly look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and me felt that we should congratulate the management for the excellent hospitality we received during our stay in your beautiful hotel. The staff from the reception, the stewards and also the housekeeping were very friendly. The food was great and so was the location overlooking the river and the rain forest mountain.The rooms were spacious and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks and keep it up.

Mrs Judeline Dsouza & Mr Harry Dsouza

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HARRY406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding Cinnamon Citadel. We are thrilled to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to highlight every aspect of your stay in Citadel. We were especially delighted to read your positive comments about the team and their impeccable service. We have already shared your warm sentiments with our team who are elated to note that their efforts were well noticed. While thanking you for your feedback, we eagerly look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived their very tired after a 7 hour flight plus 2 hour road journey but the moment we stepped into the lobby, our eyes opened wide. Loved the surrounding scenery and the room which opened up to a canal & moutain view. We could literally hear the birds chirping outside our room giving us the closest experience to nature.

The buffet breakfast we had was one of the best I have ever experienced.

A must for honeymooners!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raazaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews