We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Its atmosphere and elegance are the features that set this hotel apart from others. Our room - which was lovely and its size was adequate, nothing spectacular but was very clean, comfortable and nicely equipped. But, the charm of this wonderful hotel is in the details.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kosirae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Cinnamon Citadel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments will surely be shared with our team. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,490)
There are newer reviews for Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,542 - 1,548 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had stayed here for 6 nights during our visit to Kandy. This is a boutique hotel in a very quiet location. The views of the river & the dense forest across was serene.The room was very cosy with a nice balcony & a super bathroom. Dinner Buffet at the restaurant was exotic. The tea lounge at the lobby was very relaxing. They served us breakfast in the balcony which was great. They had also provided us with a car ( nissan sunny ) & excellent driver/guide for all sightseeing and airport transfer at a very reasonable price. Kandy, the Sinhala capital of ancient times is so beautiful and this hotel is just perfect. Surely we will go there again someday.

Room Tip: higher floors. most of the rooms have a good view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulrupesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your detailed feedback of the overall experience you had with us at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and we are also pleased to note that the unique view, location of our property and the dining experience at our restaurants have brought more value to your stay.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our newly refurbished lobby which has a fantastic view overlooking the pool and the river. Our renovated rooms are equipped with all the modern facilities and comfort to meet international standards.
Thank you for taking time in giving us your comprehensive feedback on your stay with us and we look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel offered a fantastic location for our three nights in Kandy.
It's views are great and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful.( my wife took a misstep and fell on the floor) Mss Dinesha came right away and took care of my wife ,She had the barman bring ice right away) The next days she came to us and asked us how it was and if we needed any thing.
Rooms are very nice and we had a great view of the river. We ate dinner there 3 nights and the buffet was really great and offered a huge selection of very good food
Breakfast was incredible
It Hotel was very clean and well maintained and it's only about 15/20 minutes into Kandy i

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikerIzegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments on Trip Advisor.
We are glad that you chose to spend your holiday with us and you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are glad that you appreciated the quality of food we served which encourages us to further improve our food choices offered and your positive comments certainly keeps us motivated to keep raising the bar.

While thanking you for taking time to write to us, we do wish to have you back with us for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is actually much prettier than in the photos! I was pleasantly surprised.

The buffet was amazing!

Our room was nice (not spectacular but very nice!). We stayed in one of the garden terrace rooms which gives you easy access to walk along the river and to the pool.

We used http://www.dsltours.com/ for our entire tour of Sri Lanka and it was prefect. Nimal is a great tour planner!

Highly recommend Temple of The Tooth (visit during the evening ceremony) and the Botanical Gardens! And looking for elephants on safari at one of the parks depending on where the elephants have roamed (We ended up at Hurulu National Park Safari) and found a wonderful family of elephants!).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback of the overall experience you had with us at Cinnamon Citadel, Kandy. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We did a major refurbishment last year and the hotel is uplifted to a stunning four star deluxe resort enriched with all the modern facilities and comforts. We also enjoy one of the best locations in Kandy as our Hotel is overlooking the Mahaweli river, the longest river in Sri Lanka.
While thanking you for stay with us, we eagerly look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, we stayed here for 1 night on a tour of Sri Lanka. We were very impressed with the rooms, they are really spacious, clean, and very comfortable and would have loved to stay for a few more nights. We didn't get to use the pool but it looked very nice. We ordered room service as we were pushed for time before a trip to Kandy, but the food was amazing, it was delivered as promised within 20minutes and for a burger, pizza, 2 plates of chips, and 2 drinks it was approx 2500 rupees (around £12) which we thought was amazing.

The evening buffet was also nice, and drink prices very reasonable. The staff were very friendly and we really enjoyed our brief visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your review on our Hotel. We are indeed delighted to know that you enjoyed and appreciated every aspect of our Hotel. Cinnamon Citadel does indeed enjoy a unique presence of having a stunning view of the Mahaweli river while having well-appointed rooms which are equipped with all four star modern amenities. We also maintain the highest quality in our food to ensure that our guests enjoy every meal.
While thanking you for taking time to write to us we warmly wleocme you back at our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was our second visit to Sri Lanka and our second stop at this hotel. Last time it was still under the Chaaya label (owned by the same group as the Cinnamon ones) and although we enjoyed it, had a good room and loved the location, there were some aspects of it that felt a wee bit lacking. On arriving this year we were blown away by the wonderful refurbishment that has taken place and lifted the hotel up the ranks quite substantially, Our room was comfortable, modern, stylish but not overly fussy, and we do enjoy those cosy little balconies overlooking the river. The lounge area has been rearranged and was very pleasant - we enjoyed a snack and a drink there as we'd not had lunch en route - and the restaurant has also been very effectively revamped. Food was very good indeed and service excellent. On the advice of Sri Lankan friends we made the trip up to Embekke Devale, which had our driver cringing, the road was so narrow and windy, even for him, but it was worthwhile. And we had to return to the fantastic Royal Botanical Gardens at Peredinya. Could spend days in there just meandering and enjoying the great plants and people watching. Were only there one afternoon and overnight and were rather wishing we'd been staying a bit longer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review on Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are elated to know that you thoroughly enjoyed our hospitality and comfort during your stay with us.

It was indeed a pleasure having you with us and we eagerly look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location and decent sized rooms, we understand the hotel has been recently renovated. The open air public arears are fantastic.
The food was disappointing we made the mistake of eating in the poolside restaurant which we thought would be less formal for our family than the main restaurant. It lacked atmosphere and was overpriced, we didnt realise the main restaurant was buffet style (as are most hotels in Sri Lanka). The breakfast buffet looked wonderful but proved to be disappointing, I ordered poached eggs and was told to return in five minutes, on my return they had clearly forgotten, when they did finally appear they were inedible, having got my eggs I then had to wait for the chef cooks bacon idividually - frustrating when we had a fixed departure time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused during your stay at our hotel. Please do know that we are looking into every area highlighted by you in order to improve our level of service and facilities.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Kandy so you could experience true cinnamon hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 56 in Kandy
792 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $106 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing