We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtakingly beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is one place which is breathtakingly beautiful. Almost a picture. A pool which opens out to a bar where piano plays in the evening...Rooms that are tastefully done and very modern..a sit out in front of your room which opens out to the quiet river flowing by...nature at its best.

This is a great place if you just come here to relax quietly in the room and the great pool by the forest.

The trouble is service. They welcome you and request you to wait for the welcome drink which never comes. The barman never smiles..kind of strict ..which is strange as in Sri Lanka I find that people do smile a lot. The icing on the cake was however the almost comical behaviour of the captain in the dining hall. As soon as sat down to eat our dinner ( ours was a breakfast only package), he started hovering around us with a black folder. Twice I eyed him suspiciously and he moved away. By the time , I finished my soup, the fellow couldnt hold himself..and came to me and almost shoved that sinister folder below my nose to sign. And lo and behold it was the cheque. I was confused whether I should go beyond the soup or is it a signal that I should get up and go. But then the fellow has vanished. I just chuckled ( as i already had my beer and i was in one of my better moods) and signed the damned thing. While i was getting up , i noticed him handing over similar cheques to more surprised guests who were in the middle of their meals. Reminds me of Udupi resturants in India.

While checking out, people dont smile, they dont say bye..they are more keen to swipe.

Its a beautiful place without a soul. If you are in one of your foul moods, they will do everything to make it worse.

Room Tip: Anything with a river facing sitout
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikas24_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We will take your comments into consideration as we make improvements to our hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed our stunning resort, pool and our refurbished rooms. Our new lobby is designed to inspire a bright and open feeling and to give guests a clearer view of the river.
We seek to continuously improve our service and your constructive comments are deeply valued.
With assurance of offering our best services going forward, we hope to have you with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    1,004
    276
    71
    45
See reviews for
582
1,182
53
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have visited all three Cinnamon Hotels in Sri Lanka, Cinnamon Grand, Cinnamon Lakeside and Cinnamon Citadel, Kandy. Superb service rendered, Food consumed and accommodation given to us. But i would say, Cinnamon lakeside has a bunch of much friendly staff to their guests. Food wise, Grand has many choices. I loved the Indian cuisine restaurant.
Rooms in Citadel are very attractive & the hotel is surrounded with an amazing view which belongs to the property itself.
I would not hesitate to recommend these Cinnamon hotels to my friends & relatives
Thank You

Room Tip: It is no doubt that all the rooms are perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for the review on Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted that you chose a cinnamon hotel for your holiday. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and all that we offer.

Above all, it is nice to know that you appreciated all the efforts of our staff to make your stay a memorable one. Our staff are motivated through your words and we appreciate your praise which encourages us to keep improving our offerings. We have indeed increased the number of our repeat guests due to continually improving our services and facilities.

We hope to see you back soon as you for yet another memorable say with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight stay on a visit from Bentota. We were made to feel as welcome as if we were staying longer. The room was very large, comfortable and well equipped. We felt very tired after a 4.30am start earlier. The evening meal was very good, with plenty of choice of very good quality. In many ways breakfast was a highlight. We sat outside overlooking the river and felt very relaxed. Check out was quick and easy. We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you from all of us at Cinnamon Citadel for the wonderful review posted on Trip Advisor. We are certain that our future guests will find your feedback helpful. It was a great pleasure to have you with us in our stunning hotel during your short holiday and we are more pleased that you have enjoyed your breakfast in an amazing location.
We are sure that comments like yours guide us to continuously grow and ensure that every Cinnamon experience will be a memorable one.
Our team looks forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort Cinnamon Citadel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Cinnamon Citadel, Kandy for 2 nights. We completely enjoyed our stay here, the welcome was friendly and warm, we were greeted with cold flannels and choice of juice drink. Our room was spacious and beautiful, overlooking the lagoon. The pool was a nice reasonable size, and there was always an available sunbed when required. The bar snacks/lunch food available by the pool was very good and the lamb samosas were the best we have ever had. The cocktails were very also very good. We went on the lagoon baot trip, available by booking through reception. Boat trips finish at 4.15pm so make sure you get there before that. They last for 45 minutes. We saw beautiful kingfishers, egrits and a monitor lizard, as well as a lot of local people cleaning/playing in the river. A nice relaxing break from an otherwise packed travelling schedule. The hotel feels very calm and peaceful. The dinner and breakfast buffets were varied and tasty. Good quality food and mix of Traditional and western foods. We sat outside on the balcony both nights, which was nice. My husband did have a slight incident with a toilet attendent who told him he must pay him 100 Rupees, which was incorrect but also not appropriate for the hotel, however the situation was dealt with swiftly and calmly by reception. We defintely enjoyed our stay here, and would return. A very modern, serene and clean hotel, set against a beautful backdrop.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbacon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
The management and the staff of Cinnamon Citadel Kandy take immense pleasure to appreciate your honest feedback on trip advisor.
Thank you for sharing your experience on our hotel. We are happy to know that you found our staff friendly and had a good time in our resort.

We regret the inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you once again for the invaluable feedback. Thank you for staying with us and we trust that you will consider us in your future travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is good. We were there for 2 nights. The food the ambiance was brilliant. But the ac in the room was not good at all. It was very warm. Then we changed the room upon request and still the air conditioner was not working good at all. I was very upset. But then it was rectified. Needless to say excellent location..we can see the river right behind our hotel. The restaurant serves a very good breakfast, i must say it comprises of all different cuisine including Sri Lankan food, which is must to mention. The pool was fabulous and the cocktails at the bar was awsm.

Room Tip: Should request for the pool view room or the river view room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Cinnamon Citadel at Kandy is a great place to visit. The view from the pool and restaurant is jungle and river. The staff here were great and the buffet is the best I have ever had, so much variety and healthy too. Can't understand the negative reviews I have read. We were only there for two nights.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the river, although I think all were!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greekofil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are extremely pleased that you chose Cinnamon Citadel Kandy as your holiday destination.

We are happy to note that our staff in particular made such a constructive impression during your recent visit in our resort and also for your comments on our food.
We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Cinnamon Citadel is a very modern hotel and I recommend it to everybody who can afford it the pool is fabulous and clean great views over the river from the lounge and the rooms are quite spacey and the service is great we only had one problem with the beds but everything was fine after that the food is lovely and we had a magnificent time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3.5 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
1,889 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
911 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
590 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 53 in Kandy
941 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 53 in Kandy
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing