We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,901)
Filter reviews
2,901 results
Traveler rating
1,174
1,217
358
93
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,174
1,217
358
93
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivera la carte restaurantsri lankalovely hotelmain restaurantsuperior roomswimming poolbuffet stylefruit batshalf boarddinner buffetour honeymoonlovely poolpublic areasstayed longerhotel is situatedtwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,938 - 1,943 of 2,901 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. We had a very pleasant time.
Our room was overlooking the river and had a nice balcony.
The food in the restaurant was great! Also the service was very good.
The hotel is situated outside Kandy. So for visiting the city you need transport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the riverside
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvanderroest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you with us. We look forward to welcoming you again for yet another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Me and my wife had stayed here in the first week of March as part of my family vacation at Sri Lanka. The hotel is little away from Kandy downtown and has a river flowing just next to it. View of the river is available from the room as well as the restaurant and swimming pool.

The room was clean, spacious and nice, the service was prompt. The buffet breakfast served in the restaurant on the first floor had a good spread with lots of Sri Lankan cuisine as well as International dishes. The view from the verandah of the restaurant was also greatr.

A very nice place to relax during a vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eroych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that our facilities are well suited to your holiday requirements. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the stunning views from our rooms. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

The public areas of the hotel are well designed and enhance enjoyment of the setting. Food is above average but service is inconsistent - basics are not always attended to which you would expect in a hotel of this standard. The evening entertainment is very cheesy - please ditch the 'western wedding singers' and provide more low key local entertainment - that is if any is needed at all!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. Cinnamon Citadel underwent a full refurbishment recently and our lobby, bar area restaurant and rooms portray a modern chic look with all modern facilities to cater to all your needs. Your suggestion concerning the evening entertainment is well noted. We do have local entertainment on certain days of the week which keeps our guests actively engaged and entertained.
Thank you once again for staying with us. We hope to see you at our Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Location outside Kandy. Must use transportation to town centre. Hotel nicely situated at the river bank. Nice views. Although for rooms located down, no elevator! Again, it is used by big groups, so do not expect the special touch of service. Food OK, if you like desserts you are in the right place!

Room Tip: Due to lack of elevator, try to book room on the entrance floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geomapSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is simply beautiful. On arrival you are greeted in the stunning reception which overlooks the pool and the river beyond. A very elegant hotel with perfect decor. Our room was large and the bathroom decorated stylishly in black and grey. Large walk in shower with quality products in the bathroom. I appreciated the thick, towelling bathrobes provided. We had a superior room which overlooked the river. A lovely, tranquil view. Food was probably the best we had during our trip. Cannot fault it!

Room Tip: We had a first floor, superior room which overlooked the river. The higher rooms have a better view of the river.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justmoving1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews