We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very peaeful place to spend a few nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

great service, lovely room and nice balcony overlooking the swimming pool and river. The actual building may not be the most attractive but I would it is looked after very well and the open air bar area is very pretty overlooking the river. The staff are excellent, lovely pool area and a very peaceful location away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy centre (although only a 10 min drive away).

Room Tip: best views are from the rooms on the left (facing the swimming pool). The rooms on the right are nea...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments on trip advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we are glad that you appreciated the open bar area and restaurants.
We certainly hope you would stay with us again if you do visit Sri Lanka in the near future, to experience more of our facilities and true cinnamon hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,491)
There are newer reviews for Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,616 - 1,622 of 2,492 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

From the first moment we walked into this hotel we were impressed. The white bar restaurant which opens out to the swimming pool with a view of the lake is just breathtaking.

Our room was also excellent, excellent bathroom and beautiful room. The only thing that we didn't like so much here was my parter and i were in 2 single beds.

The buffet dinner as far as buffets go was very good, as was breakfast. The only things to be mindful of is the drive is up in the mountains up a windy road (one way, less windy the other as we found out) so take a ginger pill or 2!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your response on trip advisor. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay in our Hotel. Our Superior and Deluxe rooms are well equipped with state of the art modern facilities. Our newly refurbished lobby and the open bar have stunning views of the Mahaweli River.

We cater to every palette and we have a wide variety of dining options. The Café ‘C is the A la carte restaurant which would give you a total different experience of dining. We do hope you visit us again to experience the Cinnamon Citadel hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cinnamon Citadel in Kandy for 2 nights in February and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, we simply cannot fault it, all the rooms overlook the lovely river, a 50min boat trip is a must $15 per person, just ask at reception or go to tour office which is on the left hand side as you walk from reception towards the swimming pool, the trip is totally relaxing as is the hotel away from the noise of Kandy. The restaurant is also overlooking the river with the food complimenting the views. We simply loved this hotel and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collywollyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Our superior and deluxe rooms were refurbished recently and have stunning views of the Mahaweli River. It gives us such a great pleasure to know you had a memorable holiday in our resort and that you have enjoyed everything that we had to offer. Your comments are very highly appreciated. Thank you once again for recommending our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel lobby is impressive, all in white marble and decorated with kilim-style carpets or black- and-white wall hangings, in minimalist style. We were first allocated a room which was two floors down form the level of the lobby, which although opening onto the garden, had a slightly claustrophobic feel. our next room was three floors above this, with a balcony with an impressive view over the river and the hills. A good size room with all you'd expect by way of toiletries etc.
The air-conditioning was OK and so was the restaurant and buffet choices. Service is somewhat impersonal, but this is to be expected in a hotel of this size.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the level of the restaurant-much better views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna123s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Cinnamon Citadel is situated in a stunning location along the Mahaweli River. We are glad you appreciated our well-appointed rooms and public spaces which underwent refurbishment very recently. Your comments on service of staff is well noted and we wish to inform you that we maintain a very high quality of service and our staff will always go that extra mile for our valued guests to ensure that they have a memorable stay.
While thanking you for your comments we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lovely hotel with nice views over the river, good rooms and friendly, helpful staff, but let down by disappointing food with a fairly indifferent dinner buffet (which we found all to often in Sri Lanka).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We regret that the food standards did not meet your requirements, however may we suggest that you dine at our A la carte restaurant upon your next visit to experience variety and different bursts of flavours. We thank you for taking time to write to us and do look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice surroundings with a beautiful view of the river adjoining. Rooms are ok and always get the deluxe rooms as I don't think the standard would be of any class.

Food was pretty ordinary when v checked in for lunch. Then when requested some more options for dinner chef Raminda was nice enough to accommodate our request. I would like to really recommend this chefs ability as he is an asset to the cinnamon chain at a time,where there hotel down south is having a terrible time. Overall nice place to visit.
Will I return again- may be but not very eager.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiyazIsmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your response on trip advisor. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay in our Deluxe rooms. Our Superior rooms, being our starting category are in fact well equipped with state of the art modern amenities which will cater to your every need as our Deluxe rooms did.
Our Hotel underwent refurbishment last year and re-opened as a stunning four star Deluxe resort which reflects upon the rich city of Kandy and its culture. We cater to an Asian and Continental cuisine offering a wide spread of options while we also have an A la carte restaurant which would give you a different experience of typical Kandyan style dining. We do hope you visit us again to experience different culinary delights at Cinnamon Citadel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The CInnamon Citadel is removed from the hectic pace of downtown Kandy in a splendid setting overlooking a river and with the tropical rainforest as a backdrop. We were told it had just undergone a renovation and certainly the lobby and the lounge bar area is very striking and stylish. We especially likes the tiered lobby lounge overlooking the pool area and the river, and the bar is certainly one of the best stocked in Kandy. My room, which was large and very well appointed with a very comfortable bed and a large balcony, was elegant and had fast Wifi. But the real surprise was the dinner buffet. I am not really a buffet fan but I was impressed by the amazing selection of local Sri Lankan, international, Italian, Chinese and Indian specialties. And the quality was superb. Top marks to Chef Raminda and his team! And also to general manager Aroshs as the staff could not have been nicer, they were so friendly and smiling and efficient when it came to check-inand check-out and also to room service. I can really recommend this property and would most definitely come back again.

Room Tip: We were i a deluxe room, which is considerably larger than the superior rooms, although the faciliti...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your review on Cinnamon Citadel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated every unique aspect of our Hotel. Our Hotel has a fused retro chic design with the rich heritage of the ancient kingdom of Kandy to breathe new life to the most stylish hotel in the hills of Sri Lanka. We hope you visit us again for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 56 in Kandy
792 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $106 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing