We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic experience”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The cinnamon Citadel has been a great experience in the middle of hill country. Its quiet location is well carved out amidst quaint private residences, paddy fields and the river. it sits harmoniously against this setting.

The rooms are great - everything you need, good reliable wifi, comfortable beds and nicely done up bathrooms.

Food was fantastic - the buffet really showed off the finest in Sri Lankan cuisine, and they do a mean asian repertoire as well.

Wished we stayed longer and would definitely come back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Citadel Kandy and for your appreciative review on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate your words of praise on our hotel, staff and location. Our location is the best in the heritage city of Kandy. Our superior and deluxe rooms are very combatable & equipped with all modern facilities which are of international standards.
Our food does indeed offer gastronomic delights due to the bursts in flavour and spice found in both our Sri Lakan cuisine and Asian as well.
Whilst thanking you for your comments, we do look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    1,037
    281
    72
    47
See reviews for
611
1,209
56
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our room was clean and elegantly furnished with a great view over the river. The air conditioning was quiet and very efficient and the television and Wi-fi reception was very good.
We spent two nights here whilst visiting the Elephant orphanage at Pinnewala ( not to be missed ) , the gardens at Peradeniya and the Temple of the Tooth.
The food at breakfast and dinner was very good but there were insufficient staff on duty at breakfast for a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review on Cinnamon Citadel. We are elated that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the food at our Hotel and the comments for limited staff in the restaurant have been noted and will be looked in to.
It is great that you were able to witness the three famous places in Kandy, namely the Pinnawela elephant orphanage, Temple of the tooth relic and the Botanical gardens which are all within very close proximity to our Hotel.
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Booked a standard room & got put into a deluxe one - as it was the "last room they had available" maybe, however then got charged for deluxe room. Would not have stayed here on that basis, as it was literally a bed for the night we needed.
Supposedly a quiet room, but you are quite near the road so can hear cars & more to the point stray dogs barking throughout the night.
To be fair you do get a clean, well equipped room with comfortable bed & nice bathroom, but at $ 260 that should be a given. What outraged me was at the buffet breakfast - which is a large spread, 1 of us asked for a cappucino & got charged $4 for it. What was worse was it was the worst cappucino we have ever tasted - no decent coffee in it, which we pointed out, but to no avail - talk about the hotel being after every penny !
Though I do think that Kandy is a bit of a money pit for tourists in general.

Room Tip: I wouldn't say that the "new" (?) deluxe rooms are quiet - but they may be a good deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Cinnamon Citadel. We regret the inconvenience caused as a result of not being able to book a Superior room, however our Deluxe rooms are in a higher category and have a more extensive range of amenities such as a bath tub and a stunning view of the river which is absent in the Superior rooms.
In our main buffet, we provide regular tea/coffee as part of the meal plan however should you require a different beverage such as cappuccino, it would be treated as extras and charged for separately. We apologize that the quality of the cappuccino did not meet your requirement. Your comments for improvement have been noted and we will take necessary measures to rectify these issues. We hope that you will visit us again and experience our true hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have to say that the staff here were probabibly one of the best in Sri Lanka in my 2 weeks of travel around the country. Their service was above the call of duty. Calls to the reception was picked up before a third ring, request to maintenance had a maintenance person dispatched to our room under 10 minutes.
The service at the restaurant was excellet with a fantasic selection both at break fast and dinner buffet, we stayed 3 nights here and absolutely enjoyed it. My daughter enjoyed the pool and threw a fit like most 2 year olds on entering the hotel, almost every receptionist & staff remember this and asked me if I did take her to the pool, when I returned to the hotel after 3 days to stay one night, the rooms were not ready hovever they remembered my daughter and asked me if I need a room to change and take her to the pool " very nice".
The rooms were comfortable with a balcony overlooking the river. It did not have a tub, which I did not care for, I used the laundry that was very efficient and they returned clothes washed and presses by noon even though I drop off the laundry at 10:00 AM.
Couple of negatives 1. The first room that I had did not have a light in the shower ( As the entire shower is done with dark tiles - it becomes dark & dungeony.
2. My sisted in the other room complined of ordor from the bathroom drain in her room.
3. They do not have elevatory to rooms ( depending on the floor it involves walking up/down steps)
I will give them a solid 4 star and don't see myself staying at another place in Kandy.

Room Tip: Request a floor with least amount of climbing steps if you are with a senior citizen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xkuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hospitality and the friendliness and efficiency of our staff. We do ensure very high service delivery standards at the Hotel and we are glad that you were able to experience this.
We regret the inconvenience caused as a result of a few of the functions in our rooms not being in place. Your comments with regards to the rooms have been noted and will be rectified immediately. Thank you for taking time to write to us and we do look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for three nights during our stay. Lovely hotel and setting. Room and bathroom superb.Fresh fruit on arrival. Food great, staff very friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault it. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room nearer main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terrymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your review on our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Hotel underwent refurbishment in 2012 and re-opened as a stunning four star deluxe resort late last year. We are glad that you appreciated the food, accomodation and service of our staff. Thank you for recommending our Hotel and we certainly hope you would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I was in room 302. Amazing view. Perfect service. Clean rooms. The pool is nice. Breakfast was amazing. We also had dinner there and the food was good and same for the value. The Girl at the reception desk is so nice and friendly. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. It was indeed a pleasure having you with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Cinnamon Citadel. Our rooms do indeed offer a spectacular view, especially the Deluxe rooms which are overlooking the Mahaweli river, the longest river in Sri Lanka. Thank you for sharing your great experience with us and for recommending our Hotel to all your friends. We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent one night there after a day in kandy. stayed by the pool with view on quiet river. had a good time in this well managed property of international standards! :-)

location is a bit far from any restaurant or shop or attraction, but this is not a flaw.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your response on our Hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay. We do ensure that we maintain international standards in all aspects of the Hotel, from accomodation, dining and staff service. We are glad that you enjoyed the view of the Mahaweli river, the longest river in Sri Lanka. Our Hotel is strategically located to ensure that the spectacular view of the river could be witnessed not only from the pool but also from our rooms, particularly the Deluxe rooms. The peace and serenity of our property is maintained due to the area in which it is situated which is very quiet and peaceful. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
753 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 53 in Kandy
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 53 in Kandy
995 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#12 of 53 in Kandy
368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 53 in Kandy
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing