We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Nearby Hotels
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Secret Kandy(Kandy)
$216
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$74
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$64
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
$21
$19
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,776)
Filter reviews
2,776 results
Traveler rating
1,124
1,177
336
84
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,124
1,177
336
84
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivera la carte restaurantsri lankalovely hotelmain restaurantswimming poolsuperior roombuffet stylefruit batsour honeymoonhalf boardlovely pooldinner buffetpublic areasstayed longerhotel is situatedtwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,884 - 1,889 of 2,776 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Cinnamon Citadel Kandy for two nights and we certainly wished we could stay longer. The experience we had at the hotel were really amazing from the first second. Upon arrival we were asked to wait in the lobby and we were offered a cold towel and a welcome drink while we were waiting for the check-in to be finalize. The room was absolutely beautiful with a big bathroom and a great balcony. The hotel has to main restaurants. One is called Panorama (buffet style), where also breakfast is served in the morning and an a la carte restaurant called Cafe C. Both evenings we had dinner at Cafe C and we really enjoyed our food and the great service from the hotel staff. Also the setting of the hotel bar is very nice as it offers a great view at the river.
A special thank goes again to the house keeping for preparing an amazing surprise in our room by setting up swans and elephants made of towels and a huge heart covered with blossoms on our bed. When we come back to Sri Lanka we will certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy198030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations - Cinnamon Citadel Kandy at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback with regard to your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was a pleasure to be at your service. Pleased to hear that you tried both restaurants and enjoyed the food, ad enjoyed the view of the Bar.

Thanking you once again, and we eagerly look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

A lovely hotel with a friendly welcome, the staggered seating overlooking the amazing Mahaweli Ganga Sri Lanka's longest river, even more amazing when for minutes hundreds of fruit bats flew along it! So dramatic at twilight.
Rooms were comfortable, had loads of laundry completed very efficent and well done. The black tiled bathrooms looked classy, good showers and good lighting for makup:) Had a little balcony but it rained so not used. Food very good display, staff not great at seating always seemed to be a challenge and there was heaps of tables; food was excellent though.
Pool very nice, warm towels a bonus too:)

Room Tip: At the side it was quiet but had a river view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hogfairfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The newly refurbished citadel was a treat to stay at. The guest relations people were very friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome the moment we stepped in. The interiors by Archt. Channa Daswatta were warm and inviting. I loved the vases and little intricate details in the lobby. There is a super view to the pool, the river and the green jungle beyond.
The rooms are spacious and all amenities are available. The bathrooms are very clean and homely. The view was nice as we could see the river right from the balcony.
The hotel was quite enchanting at night, with it being well lit, some entertainment acts and a well functioning bar. Dining at the hotel is good with an option to sit outside. The food was good too. Its a short drive to the Kandy city and we found that very convenient. One complaint would be the fact that no green tea sachets arrived to our room although we ordered it over the phone to room service. :(
Overall, I think the new Citadel is one of the very few 4 star hotel available in the area of that standard. A good trip I must say.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Checked in on 23rd Dec and checked out on 25th Dec 12.
Cinnamon citadel is located about 10 mts drive from the town centre. It is in a beautiful location overlooking the river. Our check in was smooth and with a delicious welcome drink and cold towels. The lobby was across multiple levels and overlooking the swimming pool and the river. We had booked river view rooms. The rooms were clean and neat with awesome view of the river from the balcony. We were on half board basis [breakfast and dinner]. The food was fabulous. The Christmas eve party of a bit of a let down though. The DJ did not pep up the crowd and most of the guests left for their rooms by 10-10.30 pm itself. The Christmas eve dinner spread was extensive with multiple live counters and predominantly Sri Lankan/India food and European fare as well. The staff was polite and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel in Kandy. This property is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Opt for a river view room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajeev_Simu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Cinnamon Citadel in Kandy was a delight to say the least. My husband and i stayed here along with a group of friends for 2 nights in the Christmas week in 2012. We were pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded from a B&B package to half board and were delighted to see the vast spread on offer for breakfast and dinner. Apart from the good food (taste and variety were good), the best part of the hotel was its picturesque poolside overlooking the river. The lounge and bar area was spacious and comfortable. The pool is a must do after a day of sightseeing and even the rain in the evenings didn't deter us from hitting the pool. The rooms were clean and spacious with all modern amenities. The staff were pleasant and service was good. I would definitely recommend this hotel to travelers visiting Kandy.

Room Tip: Only the Villa's overlook the pool but a lake facing room is preferable.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manasi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews