We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,919)
Filter reviews
2,919 results
Traveler rating
1,185
1,222
360
93
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,185
1,222
360
93
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river a la carte restaurant sri lanka lovely hotel main restaurant superior room swimming pool buffet style fruit bats half board our honeymoon dinner buffet lovely pool public areas hotel is situated stayed longer two nights
Filter
Updating list...
2,109 - 2,114 of 2,919 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is a lovely hotel to stay in Kandy. The location is beautiful as the resort is situated on the bank of a river and has an authentic Srilankan Touch. Although the hotel rooms are not very plush and luxurious.. it has an ethnic Srilankan hospitality with relatively good hotel service.
The view of river is lovely from the hotel balcony (although the river water is not very clean).

The positive about this place are:
- Its location
- Good service
- Food is average

Negatives will include:

- It could have been more luxurious
- lots of mosquitoes outdoor.

Overall, We enjoyed our 2-day stay at this resort and visited places around Kandy city.

I would surely recommend this resort for people looking for value for money and romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you for your review on Chaaya Citadel Kandy, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We spent only 1 night here but we were lucky to get a free upgrade to a deluxe room. Room was very clean, spacious and fournished with taste! Food was good, staff was kind but we didn't found them very friendly as we saw in other hotels, they were too busy maybe. Anyway it has been a short but lovely experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiara-Raji-Alisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This hotel is in a superb setting next to a river. The rooms are very good with balconies or patios overlooking the magnificent view. They are well furnished and clean, as are all the public areas. The swimming pool is also lovely.

BUT... there seems to be a serious problem of management, with some staffing issues especially in the small A la Carte restaurant by the pool. Our meal there one evening was a total shambles of chaos and confusion with poor staffing levels, an inaccurate menu (the vegetarian section included fish, chicken and lamb!), inadequate kitchen output (nearly two hours to get six meals on the table) and poor quality food (what I was told was fresh tuna was straight from a tin, poorly cooked pasta, very tough meat) . To top it all, I was very sick during the night following my meal. The food in the main restaurant was ok, although the choice was not as good as at the other hotels we had stayed at, and the restaurant staff seemed overstretched and a little grumpy.

I understand that the hotel is soon to be shut for a refurbishment and would hope that all these issues will have been addressed when it reopens. If so, it will be more than worth going to.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with a patio are lovely but are more vulnerable to monkey visitors and prying eyes.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iowsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you for your comments on the resort and about the restaurant staff. Chaaya Citadel Kandy will be closing for a complete refurbishment on the 1st May 2012 and we have taken into consideration the highlighted areas of concern as areas for improvment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

A nice hotel on the banks of the Mayawati Ganga.Good room facilities. Very good choice of food at evening meal and breakfast. Reasonable prices in the bar for Lion beer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOP_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just perfect in cleanliness, location, meals and customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renuka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews