We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,917)
Filter reviews
2,917 results
Traveler rating
1,183
1,222
360
93
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,183
1,222
360
93
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river a la carte restaurant sri lanka lovely hotel main restaurant superior room swimming pool buffet style fruit bats half board our honeymoon dinner buffet lovely pool public areas hotel is situated stayed longer two nights
Filter
Updating list...
2,135 - 2,140 of 2,917 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Only stayed one night on a busy tour schedule. Although on the outskirts of Kandy it did not seem to be a long drive to the city. Our room was spacious with plenty of guest extras, the decor was tasteful and the service good. The view from the balcony was over tropical gardens to the river and the early morning wildlife - monkeys, birds etc. was a bonus. This large hotel gave us the best welcome with attentive staff and efficient check-in. The welcome drink was amazing - pure watermelon juice - I asked for another! Buffet style dinner and breakfast offered a huge selection of dishes with local musicians as entertainment and, as we left early the next morning, we were offered a generous take-away breakfast. The pool area looked inviting and, as we arrived at the weekend, there was a nice mix of locals who were enjoying pool-side lunch and tourists just having a relax from their travels. Liked the authentic Sri Lankan dress of the welcome staff - very colourful!

Room Tip: Our room was classed as 'Superior' and was well worth the additional charge. It was still quite a walk from the main reception areas and restaurant but not a problem. If you like to be near to everything it would be worth requesting a more centrally located room.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercuryderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you for your review on Chaaya Citadel Kandy, it is a pleasure to find that you enjoyed your stay at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed there 4 nights, following 10 nights at Bentota Beach and had a really good time. We were apprehensive with the reviews but may be because we weren’t at peak time and were staying 4 nights, we had a fantastic room. We were 2 interconnecting rooms over looking the pool, river and jungle on the other bank. The pool was cool, but not freezing. The seating area for looking up the river was very relaxing, and the whole thing was perfect.

The bonus must see about this hotel was dusk. With an eerie silence, thousands upon thousands of bats would fly up the river. It would last for about 15-20 minutes with the sky darkened by them, there were that of many. This happened every evening we were there.

We were on half board, which seemed to be the only choice, and a good job really, as it is probably about 25 mins drive to the centre of Kandy. The food to our surprise was excellent for a buffet. Probably the best we have ever been to, in terms of choice and quality.

A special mention must go to the staff. Our daughter had left her favourite teddy bear behind at the Bentota Beach hotel. Being a sister hotel they rang and having been told where it was potentially lost, was duly found. They then arranged for it to be transferred to us in Kandy, as some one was heading this way. Having arrived somewhere in Kandy, they then got someone to collect it and bring it to our hotel at no expense, despite our insistence on paying. Now that is service, going the extra mile, literally.

We stayed in Kandy for 4 nights so we could use it as a base for the inland trips. Before leaving the UK we booked a mini-bus and driver over the internet from www.malkey.lk. This was a lot cheaper than the tours being quoted at UK prices. We had it for 3 days and did 1) Kandy, 2) Sigiriya & Dambulla, and 3) Nuwara Eliya. While with you, the hotel puts the driver up free of charge. Do note that all transport comes from Colombo, which is mad, so when they have finished driving you, they then drive 3 hours back home! We were lucky because our driver (Jagath) was a qualified tour guide, who was doing this to start his business. We was very good and if you wanted to cut out the middle man his details are: mdjagath@gmail.com, 0773278015.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel but avoid the obvious busy festivals when service will be poorer, and perhaps don’t expect too much if you are just transiting for a night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you for your review on Chaaya Citadel Kandy, it was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. We were glad that we were able to locate your daughter's favourite teddy bear. We hope to see you again at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed in one of the rooms facing the river. It was a very rustic-meets-modern themed hotel. The amenities were clean and well kept. The buffet always had some sri lankan delicacies and the dining experience is quite lovely with a view of the Mahavali river. The staff are courteous and attentive. Its a great place to stay while enjoying the cultural sights that Kandy has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for the river facing rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityGirlCountryRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you for your review on Chaaya Citadel Kandy, we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This hotel was situated in a lovely position on the river. A very welcoming check in with drink before we were shown to our room. Our room was lovely and comfortable with a super river view. Dinner in the evening was buffet style with a vast range of options – we were sorry only to be there one night. Breakfast too the following morning was also excellent. Would have liked to stay here longer but as it was part of our tour we were only here for one night. Would return and would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, it is a pleasure to find that you enjoyed the buffet offering during dinner and breakfast. We hope that you return for a longer stay at Chaaya Citadel Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed here only for 1 night. Lovely large hotel which overlooks the river and swimming pool. The restaurant is on the first floor so you overlook this too.
We had a suite which was lovely. Large room with a sitting area, dressing gown and slippers with a huge shower and bath and lots of free products. Lovely balcony overlooking the river.
Food was ok. A nice range.
We wish we could have stayed here another night to use facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjw332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us in Chaaya Citadel Kandy; we hope that you visit us again for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews