We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and location”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed here only for 1 night. Lovely large hotel which overlooks the river and swimming pool. The restaurant is on the first floor so you overlook this too.
We had a suite which was lovely. Large room with a sitting area, dressing gown and slippers with a huge shower and bath and lots of free products. Lovely balcony overlooking the river.
Food was ok. A nice range.
We wish we could have stayed here another night to use facilities.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjw332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us in Chaaya Citadel Kandy; we hope that you visit us again for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    1,027
    281
    71
    46
See reviews for
601
1,202
55
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lechlade
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The location of the hotel was good & the swimming pool area & bar very pleasant. The reception staff were very friendly but the cleaning staff a pain, waking us up far too early. The room was at best described as modest & incredibly noisy, you could clearly hear the people In the rooms both sides of us. The bathroom was acceptable with a good shower. The food in the restaurant was fine but it was like sitting in a school dining room. If you need somewhere as a stopover when travelling it is fine just make sure you don't have a standard room & take some ear plugs.

Room Tip: Don't have a basic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you for your comments on our property, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to bring to our attention about the room service staff waking guests up early we will look into this and address it to ensure that none of the guests are disturbed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed here for only 1 night but the hotel was pleasant with a lovely pool by the side of a river. It was staff day when we arrived and all of the hotel staff bought their families to the hotel they had a great time dancing on the lawn and we really enjoyed watching them. Earlier reviews disliked the small, dark room with no amenities. We were upgraded to a superior room, the room was large and bright with a sofa & chair with coffee table, TV and DVD player, the bathroom had a bath and shower with plenty of 'goodies' including toothbrushes & shaving kit and most importantly big white fluffy bathrobes and slippers, we cant fault the rooms. The restaurant on the other hand was dark and the food average, waiting staff could be a little more attentive. The grounds of the hotel pleasant. Wifi is available throughout the hotel. One downside is the knocking on the doors around 6.30am by the staff to see if everything is ok, we had been warned about this and put our do not disturb sign on the door, it did not stop the knocking, we ignored it, on the third bout of knocking I answered the door , I was asked if I wanted the room cleaned as he pointed to the DND hanging on the door which had been turned over to the clean my room side. So be warned the room staff come looking for tips early in the morning. This is probably the worst thing I can say about the hotel and would have been happy to stay more than one night.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a superior room, you will not be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you for your review on Chaaya Citadel Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed here as our second destination on our Sri Lanka holiday and where incredibly impressed by by the staff, the location and the room. The in hotel dining is very reasonable and the food is good. The room is very comfortable, well equipped and decorated.

Overall I have no problem with recommending this hotel to anyone, and I fully intend to come back and visit it again myself. My only recommendation is that if you have a family, ask for a ground floor (with garden) room so your kids have some extra room to run about. Stay here and know that you are close to all of the local attractions such as the Golden Tooth, Dumballa caves, etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaJamesJardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you for your review on Chaaya Citadel Kandy, it was a pleasure to host you at the resort. We look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in the month of December.The staff was extremely courteous and service pretty good!Food much above average...we only had problem with little extra salt in everything!
Need to mention Arshad(do not know his designation)who was everywhere and ensuring the guests were looked after!

Room Tip: Second floor gives good view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savitadutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed in th is hotel for 2 nights and must say the experience was bad and disappointing.
The Hotel rooms are small and very dimly lit. The ameneties provided within the room are bad e.g. used shower caps, no bath robes, no slippers, etc and for all that you need to buy from the hotel.Even the level of cleanliness is bad, with insects, dust in the room.

Coming to the food, its decent but the service standards are poor, the waiters are rude and unattentive. Further in one of the instances at the bar, the bartender made a wrong drink and when i commented he was unapologetic and did not bother, and when i escalated the matter to the duty manager, he was rude and rather cool and yes to make matters worse they even charged me for the same when i did not consume it. The Duty manger is the worst i have ever interacted in my life. Given the level of focus to the guests , i will not receommend this hotel ever and also the front office satff is also uncooperative..... the property is decent with a view of the lake, but then there are much better properties like Amaya hills, Mahaweli reach with better views and staff.

Room Tip: Dont stay here, there are better hotels in Kandy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranjeet_kapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention, it is regrettable to find that you did not enjoy your holiday at our resort. Thank you for highlighting the problem areas, we will look int them to ensure that they are rectified. With regard to the toiletries, we do not charge our guests for the toiletries that we supply, however should the guests wish to purchase the filled clay vials as souvernirs there is a minimum charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, Bucks
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We only had an overnight stop here on a Kuoni tour and would have been very happy to stay longer. The hotel seemed well-appointed and we were sorry we did not have enough time to explore the grounds. The food was very good - it was halloween night and many of the dishes, especially the desserts, had been given a halloween theme. The room was very comfortable with a particularly quiet air-con and a very well-appointed bathroom

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you for your review, we wished you could have stayed longer to explore the unique features of the hotel. we look forward to seeing you again at our resort for a longer holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
739 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 54 in Kandy
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
972 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 54 in Kandy
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing