We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for groups travelling around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hotel for groups travelling around”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The room we had was a superior room and it was looking nice. Good beds, spacious and clean enough.

The restaurant was very big and we had more the feeling of a canteen then from a nice restaurant. The foodquality is Reasonable but nothing special. There is also room for hygiene improvement. Espacially for the saladbar the introduction of a breath shot would give some improvement. Now eveybody is caughing and breathing over the salads.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fransk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    1,026
    281
    71
    46
See reviews for
601
1,202
55
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Very nice location over looking the river , good comfortable public areas and main restaurant.

We had excellent spacious rooms in the 300"s corridor.

The food was very good and used local ingredients very well.

The staff were excellent from initial reception to final departure.

We stayed in 4 hotels in Sri Lanka - this was by far the best. We would want to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan_gowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The Chaaya hotel brand in Sri Lanka is part of a (private?) company, John Keels, with interests in hotels - they operate the Cinnamon hotel brand as well with, some feel, the best hotel in the nation with the Cinnamon Grand in Colombo - tour organisers, tea company, retail and no doubt other ventures.

Kandy is a former capital and a major cultural and tourist stop in Sri Lanka, located roughly at the geographic centre of the country at 500m (1,500 ft), set amongst verdant hills and has, amongst other places to visit, botanical gardens wonderfully maintained (and where some of The Bridge on the River Kwai was filmed and which, incidentally, played a relevant role in s.e.-Asia during the 2nd World War after the fall of Singapore).

The Chaaya Citadel was built in the early.mid '80s, winning a local architectural award and the over-all structure blends in with the surrounding topography well in the "suburbs" of Kandy in an up-market neighbourhood.

I write the above because, in some of the earlier reviews, there are comments made about the tiredness of the structure; the location being distant from the centre of Kandy and seemingly being full of tourists.

The Chaaya Citadel scores well for what it is. It is not a fully-blown business hotel; it is not situated slap bang in the centre of Kandy - as any map on the Internet for example will tell you; it is not the epitome of the the brash new world of gleaming chrome and outrageousness that some locales in other parts of the world cherish - think Dubai, Shanghai, New York City.

What the Chaaya Citadel hotel is a 3 Star hotel in a popular tourist locale that sees on a daily basis a high churn in guests: those arriving as part of a tour and those leaving. During our stay there were approx. 30 teenage Australian cricketers and their minders staying, amongst a wealth of others.

The rooms are typical for a quality 3 Star hotel - and certainly an improvement on many in cities of equal or greater size in the US, UK and continental Europe and even in Dubai/Arabian Gulf states when comparing 3 Star to 3 Star. All rooms have a balcony or verandah and the air-conditioned rooms also come with ceiling fans - so if the noise of the air-conditioning is bothering you, maybe turn it off, open the doors to the balcony and turn on the ceiling fan. The room I and the other 3 rooms in the family group I travelled in were clean and well serviced during our staff. Laundy service good and in-expensive.

The swimming pool was clean and you could watch the staff cleaning it in a professional manner should you be out and about pre-dawn at 06.00 hrs. The pool could be larger but was well located for sun- and view-seekers. Poolside service with cushions for loungers, towels and for refreshments was good.

The restaurant is basically buffet style all the way in a large restaurant with a good view out over the property and onto the river. The buffet selection was wide, deep, and well displayed, for breakfast & dinner - did not have lunch at the hotel. The quality of the food was good - in some respects better than meals at the sister hotel group, Cinnamon, and at the famous Mount Lavinia Hotel with the publicity conscious and national celebrity Head Chef. The selection of drinks and their pricing was good, considering one was in the centre of Sri Lanka and the pricing reflected that - in effect, good value by comparison to western pricing standards.

The staff invariably wore a smile; had a pleasant, constructive and purposeful manner; well groomed and willing to help. Yes, some, did not at all times understand but, frankly, one could ask oneself, "Was I being clear, concise and considerate when asking my question or making my request?"

If, as I am, you are an early-riser, take a stroll along the road outside the hotel: turn-right as you leave the hotel. The road is relatively quiet and meanders along above the river, offering occasional glimpses of it several feet below. What one hears and sees is (affluent) Kandy waking up against the background of lush vegetation and, in particular, the splendour of frangipani (?) trees and heliconia plants: a good way to work-up an appetite for the breakfast buffet and ease yourself into the day ahead.

What could be better? Yes, the hotel management does need to speed-up with the refurbishment cycle and, as one comment below has it, the corridors do have a utilitarian and quasi-hospital look and feel to them on some of the levels of the hotel. The swimming pool could be larger but, unless there are some significant structural changes, this is probably unlikely. The level of attention by staff could be keener - but isn't this a common gripe by the "instant gratification" traveller regardless of where you are in the world? So, over-all, not really much to bemoan.

For how the Chaaya Citadel markets itself and the position it is going for in the tourist market in Kandy, it scores extremely well and I would certainly recommend it. If you are looking for something else with a different brand position, this is probably not for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KolkataKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in June as part of a 10 night tour of Sri Lanka through Kuoni.

The whole experience was amazing and the staff at the Chaaya Citadel were really welcoming and helpful.

This hotel set the benchmark for the whole holiday and the others were good too but this was the most welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This was the first hotel on our tour in Sir Lanka. We found the hotel very welcoming and very relaxing, our room was spacious and had a beautiful view over the river. Swimming pool and surrounding gardens were clean and well kept , and the buffet in restraunt could not be faulted i am quiet a fussy eater but there was something for everones taste, staff throughout the hotel were very attentive and friendly. great place at the end of a busy sightseeing day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoptiludrop_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Having read the reviews and subsequently stayed there with my family for 3 nights in July I would say that if you set your expectations right you will not be disappointed.

The hotel is really a 3 start hotel trying to pass off as a 4 start hotel. It is not part of an international chain so you cannot expect the same standards & trappings. It’s a locally owned and run business. The staff are courteous, friendly and eager to help, but are more used to providing the standard delivery. Anything out of the ordinary routine & they are bit at sea.

We stayed in the ‘Superior’ rooms hence no tissue boxes, Bathrobes & Bathroom Slippers, a Shaving Kit, Toothpaste & Toothbrush. The rooms are designed in a minimalistic style to provide a rustic feel using locally produced furniture which seems a bit dated. The shampoo & shower jell in cork bottles may seem quaint but if you’ve pushed the cork in too far in previously it’s no fun trying to open in mid shower.

We were given 2 adjoining rooms which do not have connecting doors. As our kids are grown-up that didn’t matter. If your kids are small you may need some other facility.

We landed in the early ours and were taken by our guide and driver straight to the Chaaya. As dawn broke, Sri Lanka awakened before us along the ribbon development. We arrived at the hotel around 9.30 a.m. and were told that no rooms would be available until guests left and anyway check in time was 2 pm. However, after complaining that our younger son was travel sick & would continue doing so in the foyer, they rushed around cleaning one room as some guests left & then the other.

Whilst we waited for the rooms we sat around the main lounge area and enjoyed the views of the swimming pool and the stunning views of the river. This is what makes this hotel; the views and manicured lawns and the various seating areas. Our rooms were on the 3rd level so our balcony area just opened out on to the gardens overlooking the river. Waking up to the sounds of the various birds and animals was wonderful. In fact on the 3rd day we cancelled some of the visits planned by our guide because we wanted to stay & enjoy the hotel grounds and the pool.

Luckily our Tour operator had arranged half board which saves a lot of time. Once you have been out on trips all day to see the various sights we just wanted to relax back at the hotel. We went up to the dining area to be shown to a table labeled & reserved for our family, which was a nice touch. However, when on the 2nd day we found that someone else had taken our place and we complained we were simply shown to an alternative able. The restaurant staff didn’t really have the bottle to tell the others to shoo off. The variety of food was interesting providing Western, Sri Lankan and Indian dishes not to mention the exotic fruit. We all enjoyed and looked forward to the evening meal.

The Ayurvedic massage is much more reasonably priced than the beach hotel we stayed in. It’s convenient to have it in the hotel and after the massage just walk leisurely back to your room. Similarly, the laundry service was also reasonable so we took advantage of that.

Overall as a family we enjoyed our experience at the Chaaya and take away fond memories.

Room Tip: Ground Floor opening out to garden or Top floor with view to Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEDDAH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one night with my family.
The rooms and bathrooms were good and clean.
The special thing about this hotel is the view.
The beautiful river surrounded by jungle is stunning.
The breakfast was not worth.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IPFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
998 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
736 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 54 in Kandy
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
970 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 54 in Kandy
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing