We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab hotel.... AMAZING views.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab hotel.... AMAZING views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel was fabulous for the price. It is at the end of a bit of a bumpy road, however a tuk tuk gets up it fine. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the hotel is kept very clean. The major selling point to this hotel is the view from the top in the restaurant, its amazing. The restaurant is a lovely place to sit and has a great atmosphere. Breakfast was amazing, and also sampled the hotel curry which was delicious and a great price. The staff here are amazing, so helpful and friendly. They organised a tuk tuk tour of Kandy for us which was so cheap and a must do. Everyone in this hotel was raving about how good it was for the price. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    196
    95
    48
    59
See reviews for
82
220
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed in Kandy only one night during our Sri Lanka holiday. Kandyan View Rest was great choice. We had comfortable room with big bed. Cleanliness of room was on very high grade in regards price level of hotel. Wonderful view from bedroom. Breakfast in time what we needed. Eren (very kind guy from hotel) solved about our transport to dinner and get recommendation for program in Kandy - useful. Very good location, WiFi connection was working.

Room Tip: Bathroom is not incl. the room. But in our case we had available bathroom on floor with two rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

After reading some of the other recent reviews of this hotel I started to wonder whether we had stayed at the same place!
Looking at the hotel photographs on Trip Advisor made me wonder why they put us in such appalling rooms when they clearly have much nicer accommodation available.

We had two external rooms on the outside of the hotel overlooking wasteland which held two very interesting, old and demolished cars (great from a photographic point of view but not from a guest perspective).

The patio area outside the rooms had broken furniture and was being constantly dripped onto by leaky overflow pipes resulting in extensive mould growth.

The rooms were very, very basic and insecure – you could open the sliding windows from the outside and there was no way of locking them! My mother in law was in a single room and felt rather vulnerable.

The sheets were laced with holes and the cleanliness of the rooms left a lot to be desired.
We couldn't tell whether the bathroom furniture was filthy or just plain old?

The staircase just outside our rooms led down onto another level but did not have any safety rail and looked extremely dangerous (although, to be fair, we didn’t need to use these stairs).
The feel of our accommodation and immediate surrounding area felt damp, un-cared for and very rarely used or maintained.

We WERE on a budget accommodation trip but this fell very short of what we reasonably expected.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LouiseJB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

we enjoyed the atmosphere in the restaurant able to mix with other guests and the local food was very good great views of surrounding area friendly staff out of the rush of the town but for the fit a good walk to the lake and town.

Room Tip: order local dishes in restaurant or get chef to cook exactly what you wanton the restaurant range
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphtheblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Kandy View and highly recommend it. Great value for money. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable enough.
There are beautiful views from the rooftop restaurant, and the food was lovely. Breakfast is included and was delicious.
The staff here are very friendly and helpful, particularly Kay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I stumbled upon Kandy View Hotel online by accident when I was searching for another hotel. I just took a risk and paid online to book 2 nights in Kandy. Now I'm posting this review thinking to myself "I'm sooo glad I selected this place!" I mean the service is amazing, the atmosphere is amazing, the convenience of the location, the view, so peaceful n private! But most importantly, the rates are absolutely amazingly unbelievable! Wow what a deal! The owner of the hotel himself give personalised service to the guests... the hospitality is amazing!! I will definitely return! N wikk definitely recommend thia place to my friends!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Indika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I have stayed here before when working in Sri Lanka and wanted to show my husband on our holiday Kandy Town. This hotel is ideal, a short walk to the Lake and into the Town. The staff are so helpful, especially the lovely Ameli, who's English is excellent. Overall a very pleasant value for money stay, with a good Sri Lankan breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyCYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.8 mi away
Heavens Holiday Resort
Heavens Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Mahawaththa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#34 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#20 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#36 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#38 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Property: Kandy View Hotel
Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing