We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kandy View with no view of Lake or Temple”
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Kolkata
Level Contributor
559 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Kandy View with no view of Lake or Temple”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Pros - Staff & Owner is really friendly, Open air restaurant is out of this world, food is nice but prices are on the higher side, Air Conditioning in rooms was great, breakfast was good.

Cons - Location, no view of any major areas in Kandy, view of suburbs of Kandy, Air Conditioning in airport pickup vehicle dosnt work, General condition of room furniture and bathroom fittings is bad, no lift and stairs are too steep (due to hill side location) & slippery, wifi dosnt work in some rooms in first basement and 2nd basement rooms.

Room Tip: Never stay in Room No.10, its two levels below the reception along steep stairs. Bathroom shower dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudipnandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    196
    96
    52
    60
See reviews for
82
224
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

although the staff were very friendlyand the breakfast ok, the room itselfwas a disappointment. the bed had old, pass their date sheets, which once were white. the humidity of the room, was sponged by the bed. overall unhealthy. although cannot recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in hotel for 2 days.
We booked 1 deluxe room (was good) and 1 standard (awful)
Maybe we came to late and all good standard rooms were busy or all of them are that terrible (little backyard window, broken boiler, moll on walls). They proposed us a little better room at the same price (not big difference but at least it liveable), but we changed room on deluxe with some a small additional charge.
Hotel is situated at the hill, around 30-40 minutes walking from Kandy lake. Upper rooms (deluxe) have big wall windows - thus the view is really nice.
However windows are pretty old and either don't open properly or don't close -in windy whether was quit cold.
The breakfast is good - smorgasbord - with European and local food.
I really enjoyed the view from room, especially in the night.

Room Tip: Don't risk with standard rooms. Deluxe have beautiful view on both side but on the front side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mekleo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you are looking for an affordable place to sleep and have no other expectations this is a great place, and you will not be disappointed.

There is a big terrace where they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner and it is overlooking all Kandy. The view is nice. The owner plays classic music and you feel like in a movie with Peter Ustinov (sometimes more Peter Sellers).

We ordered for dinner a seafood platter and got a meat platter.

However, they try to give you a good service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airporthost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in the delux room with good views over Kandy. Food is good. At $35US per night this hotel is very good value. It’s about a 25 minute walk to the city centre. If you’re expecting super luxury this not the place for you. However, service is excellent and friendly and room clean and comfortable. Worthwhile bringing ear plus as the dogs barking at night can be annoying- not the fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: Go with Delux room (would avoid super delux as further from motel and needs a clean-up)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mollymook, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here twice in our recent trip to Sri Lanka - the staff were friendly and helpful in organising pick ups from trains, drivers and drop offs to trains. The meals were very nice as was the view from our room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The room (deluxe) had 2 window fronts with great views, was very clean and had all necessary equipment plus an extra bottle of water for free.
The staff (owner and employees) were very friendly and helpful without being pushy. The owner helped us organising a tour to the cultural triangle with driver, two hotels and park-entries as well with the transport to Nuwara Eliya. Both was for reasonable prices.
The driver was friendly and reliable.
The food in the restaurant was excellent. The Kandy View dhal was our favourite on this trip.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms on the floor above the restaurant offer nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mika_1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 54 in Kandy
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#32 of 54 in Kandy
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#33 of 54 in Kandy
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Property: Kandy View Hotel
Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing