We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be so much better....”
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“could be so much better....”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

the hotel is a hike up a steep street from the lake, but easily navigated. rooms are spacious, but the bathrooms could do with a makeover and some work to bring them up to the quality you would expect. No wifi access from the rooms.
food is good enough (there appears to be a lack of good restaurants in kandy!) and served in a lovely open air restaurant midway up the hotel with excellent views across the town.
small pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonmammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    197
    97
    52
    61
See reviews for
83
227
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Upgraded to balcony room for few pounds more. Well worth it for floor to ceiling windows on 2 sides and great views. Really friendly staff, ok food although bit too westernised for our tastes. Fazeel is just best tuk tuk driver and guide and showed us all round Kandy and then amazingly took us all the way Kithugala very cheaply. Wifi bit intermittent but really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with balcony...they are higher up but have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Have originally booked 2 nights at Kandy View hotel, but even prolonged 1 more night as the hotel is very nice. Deluxe High view rooms are very spacious with huge windows, clean, bathroom was pretty good as well. Roof top restaurant is brilliant! Amazing view on mountains around! The hotel also provided breakfast, which included fruits, toasts, eggs, vegetables & rice. But the best at the hotel is its manager! I would definitely nominated him as one of the best managers! Very helpful, he is always around all the guests from the morning until night! He made the best impression on us! Hope to come back again to the hotel!
As well, the location of the hotel is very comfortable - just short walk to get tuck tucks or to get to the Lake!

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe High View, it is just few dollars higher price, but the view is brilliant and room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

On reading other reviews, we thought we were in for a treat. How we were wrong. The room we had smelt of sewage and the TV which they use as a selling point didn't work . There were worms in the shower each morning and the towels they provided didn't soak up a single droplet. The manager was very friendly but that alone wouldn't change how we thought.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very nice big rooms, lovely and very accommodating staff -- they strike the perfect balance between friendly but not intrusive. Beautiful view from the terrace. Sri Lankan breakfast plus eggs and toast included in room price. Up a long-ish hill from the lake (hence the view), but three-wheelers are waiting at the bottom (or in town) to take you up. Not everything works perfectly, but it's a delightful experience, and the staff is very adept at solving problems.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Kandy View Hotel. It’s not modern plush and it’s not expensive. My purposes were well served. I found the bed quite uncomfortable the first night. Sunday morning the staff happily moved me to another room which I enjoyed. The staff is delightful; the rooftop restaurant offers both a marvelous view and seriously excellent food. The breakfast buffet is my favorite offering a variety of Sri Lankan food, fresh fruit, a coconut “sombon” which is a bit spicy, Indian foods and fresh pan fried Indian bread. The Sri Lankan special lunch is also delightful While writing the start of this report, I was at the roof top restaurant and realized that it really is a special place. Open air, great food and wonderful people. Occasionally there is a little distraction like a torrential rain that might bother you even if you are in the center of the room. That only happened once, other rains were gentle. However, on Monday afternoon it rained a torrential down pour. The little road behind the hotel leads to homes further up the hill. It became a raging little river. School children were gathered part way up waiting for the river to subside so they could continue their journey home. An hour and a half later the river and the children were in their proper places. At this time of year the best approach is to do the tourist visiting in the morning and mid-day. Sure as the sun rises in the morning it rains in the mid to late afternoon.

Room Tip: No wi-fi in lower level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryCNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

When we entered the building, I couldn't get around to calling it a hotel save for the reception desk and few sofas,we were not thrilled though our travel guide/ car hire assured us it was great> We asked for a room on the top most floor with a good view. The place was very affordable so we climbed the stairs and as soon as she opened the door, the view just took our breath away. You get a feeling of openness with a wall of glass that faces lush green trees. The room was clean, the bathroom and its lightning could be made better. Hot water is not available 24/7. You turn on the heater and wait for 10 gallons of water to be piping hot and that comes through the taps. After 10 gallons, is another long wait. We learnt the value of 10 gallons of water here. There are no ACs and we didnt require any in December. In the evening, close all the doors since there are small insects around. Carry your own shampoos and stuff. Its pretty much a no frill hotel. The Sri Lankan breakfast was good, the view from the open air restaurant was good, the service was friendly and the location was good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top most floor, left side of the hallway, have a view of the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barefootprincess83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 55 in Kandy
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#33 of 55 in Kandy
178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 55 in Kandy
495 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
1.1 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#35 of 55 in Kandy
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Property: Kandy View Hotel
Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing