We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, not expensive”
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Muscat
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view, not expensive”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

When we entered the building, I couldn't get around to calling it a hotel save for the reception desk and few sofas,we were not thrilled though our travel guide/ car hire assured us it was great> We asked for a room on the top most floor with a good view. The place was very affordable so we climbed the stairs and as soon as she opened the door, the view just took our breath away. You get a feeling of openness with a wall of glass that faces lush green trees. The room was clean, the bathroom and its lightning could be made better. Hot water is not available 24/7. You turn on the heater and wait for 10 gallons of water to be piping hot and that comes through the taps. After 10 gallons, is another long wait. We learnt the value of 10 gallons of water here. There are no ACs and we didnt require any in December. In the evening, close all the doors since there are small insects around. Carry your own shampoos and stuff. Its pretty much a no frill hotel. The Sri Lankan breakfast was good, the view from the open air restaurant was good, the service was friendly and the location was good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top most floor, left side of the hallway, have a view of the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barefootprincess83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    196
    96
    52
    60
See reviews for
82
224
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Kandy View hotel is a simple hotel without a lot of extras. The rooms were very clean and the bed comfortable. We had A/C in our rooms which worked well. The bathrooms were very clean and worked fairly well. The bathroom drain in my room emitted a bad odor, but was cleaned and corrected when I told the management. The furniture is basic an a little worn, but this was not a problem for us. If you are traveling with a driver, make sure you confirm driver's quarters. I thought we had accommodation for our driver but when we arrived, it was not available and he had to find a different place to stay. The breakfast was a very good buffet. This place wasn't perfect, but a very good value. You will need to take a three-wheeler into town as it is a little way from Kandy center.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Want to enjoy your Sri Lanka holiday? well... here's a suggestion based from our experiences after our visit (October 24-29, 2012): Must not forget Kandy in your itinerary, and while in Kandy... stay at KANDY VIEW HOTEL, why? Price is affordable: foods - delicious: Staff - polite, hospitable: Location - good, peaceful and amazing views around the hotel: Room - wide enough for two occupants, l...Thank you very much from all of us for the unforgettable moments with you! See you again someday guys. What we can say is that you all guys are truly amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RomeoMuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel was great, staff lovely, good breakfast, good sized room. although we didn't opt to go on a trip, they seemed have a good service for day trips.
however, the swimming is unusable as it is in an unfortunate exposed position right next to the front entrance, the road and when we were there, a building site with lots of builders!
also, the location means a tuk-tuk is required and if you can't afford it (like us) a long walk.
great town though!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 78Ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Valley, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

From the moment we checked in until we checked out, our stay was great. The staff were exceptional, the owner, Kanchana was extremely helpful a number of times, organising a day trip around Kandy, another day trip to Sigirya and also assisting in us being able to watch the mighty Sydney Swans win the AFL Grand Final on the Australia network.

Breakfast on the balcony upstairs every morning was also a highlight.

Fond Regards,

Trish and Greg

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnandTwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

ABSOLUTELY NOTHING good to say about the Kandy View Hotel besides the location on the mountain. Start with, the Manager/Owner of the hotel is extremely RUDE and no guest courtesy whatsoever but behind every dollar he earns!
Room: First we got a room, in which Balcony Door "Lock" was totally broken so from neighbouring room anyone can enter to our room, it looks the lock was broken years ago. When we complained the Manager/Owner came and said he didnt know as no one complained! Basically, he didn't want to accept that he purposely put the guests into a room where no safety. Then we were offered 2nd room in which bathroom was stinking, then we demanded it to be cleaned before we move.
Linen: Bathtowels and bed linen and pillow cases were extremely old, worn out & stains can be so visible on them so very filthy to use them.
Bathroom: In the website it says there are "toileterries" but nothing besides 2-3cm sized piece of soap. There are wholes on wall so mosquittos can come easily. My husband put some toilet papers in the whole to avoid mosquitto coming in. In the bathroom commode is shaking, wash basin is broken & shaking, no hotwater for more than 1 second, shower cabin was extremely dirty (not washed for ages)
Breakfast: is useless (even noticed there were left over food from previous day, raw eggs were just kept on the table under sun and prepare when guest ask, fried egg was disgusting, coffee was not upto the standard, etc).
Bar: when we went to have a drink, the staff was sitting nicely on one & only sofa placed in the Bar and watching TV, but for the guests they pointed out a corner dinning table with chairs! When the drinks served they served just with the bottle, no glass, no tissue until we asked for!
Wireless internet: Though says in the webiste there is wireless internet we never got it anywhere in the hotel. On arrival we were said it is available in the Restaurant/Bar but still it was just searching
Manager/Owner: On way back we ordered a taxi to the hotel. Then Taxi driver simply asked "Sir/Madam, how was the hotel" then we said not good for anything. Then Taxi driver confirmed all of what we said since all the guests he had picked up complained all of these. More surprisingly what he said was "The Manager/owner seduce single European women tourists when they come to the hotel". Also, the Taxi Driver said this Manager/Owner do not like Taxi drivers since they tell the truth to the guests when they brining them!
Never ever recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Do not trust about the Hotel infomation put on the website since they are not even close to what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayaseeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Dhaka, null, Bangladesh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good place for vacation with some nice view & co-operating crew...............The hotel has lovely views, and I watched monkeys playing in the trees from my (very narrow) balcony, The hotel itself is of an average standard and was clean. The open-air restaurant area is lovely, breakfast was good, and the breakfast...staff were very helpful.............& if u haven't got booking for enough days.......you will get a room in the horrible & scary Holiday ban glow with a painful & scary(at Night) path(short walking distance from the hotel)................

Room Tip: Good Dining & upper rooms are good......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 53 in Kandy
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#32 of 53 in Kandy
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 53 in Kandy
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 53 in Kandy
687 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
0.6 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 53 in Kandy
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Property: Kandy View Hotel
Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing