We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price”
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Nice hotel, located on one of the Kandy's hills. Not too far from the city center.

Room are small, but nice and clean, as well as bathrooms. AC, hot water - everything is in place. Some rooms have very nice balconies with the view (on upper levels).
Hotel has a rooftop restaurant, food is OK, but a little bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ksush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 547 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

I have stayed for 2 nights in April 2012. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, can organize trips and provide advice on transportation and what to see. The room is basic, no fridge or minibar or other more-star perks, but clean and spacious and with an absolutely AMAZING view on the valley. Bathroom clean and functional. Although the rooms could do with a bit of refurbishing, they are definitely not in a bad shape and worth the price. Breakfast, although same every day was delicious (pol sambol, rice with vegetables, dhal and continental stuff (eggs, toasts, jams etc.). I can definitely recommend the hotel to anyone travelling to Kandy and looking for good value for money and a beautiful scenery view.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe option for great view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MajraHlavac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

By my review I’d like to thank Mr. J, Kandy View Hotel manager. I’m not aware of his full name – J was the way he introduced himself. I have to say it was a good idea cause sri lankan names have one thing in common which is escaping your memory by all means, you know. J was one of the few Sri Lanka hotel managers who really cared about his guests. He would check in guests at the reception desk, participate in making food and approach guests at the hotel restaurant to talk to them, to solve any issues, to offer a drink on the house or just chat. There was that nagging old man from Sweden at the restaurant one day who bothered J with some very minor issue for half an hour (and the issue was not even related to the hotel or its manager) and J never lost his nerve and remained polite and calm and as helpful as possible. Can you imagine that a manager of your hotel will take care of a dent at your rental car absolutely free of charge? I mean we paid only to the car shop guys. We came to that car shop together and then my gf and I left on a tuk tuk while J stayed at the shop to drive the car back to the hotel after the repair work had been done. What a cool man!

The room we’d booked turned out to be occupied so we got an upgrade to a large suite on the top floor of a separate building. Actually the whole floor was available exclusively for us. Both the room and the view from it were gorgeous. The restaurant located on the top floor of the main hotel building is very good in terms of food, service, views and feeling. I do not know why but we never even checked the pool so I cannot say anything about it.

So, if I find myself in Kandy one day I won’t be thinking too much about accommodation selection. In fact I won’t think at all. I’ll simply go to Kandy View Hotel.

P.S. A reminder for J: please put a neon sign with the name of the hotel at the road side – we missed the turn three times before we finally found it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YakovTriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Well worth the effort to find this place.Cool rooftop vibe and nice views. Excellent service and without doubt the best meal Ive had in Lovely Lanka. Bon appetit! (HB, Sydney, Australia)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonieJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

A great place to relax in the restaurant with helpful staff able to organise tours to suit, transport or give local advise. Good value for money if basic and would benefit from a little more up to date maintenance. That said we had no complaints from our 2 children and enjoyed the days spent in Kandy with thanks to the staff.

Room Tip: Main suite under the restaurant had good views and sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziptoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Hotel located on very steep hill. Quite a climb if walking up with backpack.

Room was tiny, but nice, clean beds. No proper drainage from bathroom. Looked like some sewage was spilling out behind building. But nice balconies outside rooms on upper levels.

Gorgeous rooftop restaurant, with plenty of opportunities to meet other travelers. Food was so-so, a bit overpriced.

Staff were extremely helpful.

Overall, good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnovelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We spent our first three nights of a three week trip to Sri Lanka at Kandy View, and - for the price we paid - we would find it difficult to fault it. We had one of the deluxe rooms at the top and the double aspect view alone made it worth the money. Like other reviewers, I would say that the rooms are basic in terms of amenities, but ours was clean and roomy. The manager was very helpful and really on top of his game. The staff were lovely, particularly to our four year old son. The hotel is up a hill, about 10 minutes walk from the lake, but we found this a great advantage as it was very peaceful. The food was cheap and plentiful and, as other guests have noted, the restaurant was a good place to eat and chat to other tourists/visitors if you wanted. The pool is small, but refreshing. For a more extended swim, we used Devon Hotel just down the road (200 Rs for a day pass). We went to some much 'finer', more expensive hotels throughout our stay, that were far less well run than this one. I would recommend Kandy View to anyone who was expecting more than they paid for.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are probably worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlostatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#34 of 56 in Kandy
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#37 of 56 in Kandy
53 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $12 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing