We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Rooms & Service”
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
561 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Excellent Rooms & Service”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I booked this hotel thru travellerspoint.com after reading review on Trip Advisor. I am glad I did. Though location is a bit away from the city centre, it offers a beautiful view of Kandy. Also it has a pool, albeit small, its a nice place to relax.

The manager Mr. Kanchana is helpful. He has a good knowledge of the places around as well. The service standard can be gauged by the face that this was the only hotel which called me on my cellphone (an ISD Call) as soon as I booked and confirmed the booking.

The room are spacious and clean. Each room has individual Geyser so no problem of hotwater availibility either. We booked rooms for LKR 2500 which does not have A/c but Kandy doesnt need A/c. A/c will cost additional 500 LKR.

At the price we booked its a very good hotel to be in. But it charged additional for the drivers accomodation, which is OK. Also note that its not possible to upgrade your rooms in case someone joins you after you book.

Breakfast was good. Note that if you are a vegetarian, you get good Srilankan Breakfast but you have to inform them. The problem when you are out for sight seeing you dont eat out in the hotel you stay. So though this hotel had a restaurant (and India food) we could not eat here.

If you are looking a budget hotel this is one good hotel in Kandy and I would certainly like to come back here once again



Though

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgprabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    196
    96
    50
    60
See reviews for
82
222
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed at the Kandy View after we failed to get a room at the Sharon Inn. The main problem is that it is a little way out of town and up quite a steep hill ( even the tuk tuk struggled up here). Once you are there it is quite pleasant with good sized clean rooms. There is some building going on next door but it was not too noisy.
The breakfast was OK but although the menu mentioned bacon or sausage with you eggs they were not forthcoming on either day. We found that we got better value and selection for evening meals in the town.
The rooms were quite expensive compared to when we were in Ella, Tissa etc maybe because it is Kandy and it had no internet facilities (quite disappointing)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandDitheYorkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I have read some negative reviews about this hotel but we stayed there on a recommendation from a fellow traveller and I am glad we did.

The hotel is tremendous value for money and i have to say the rooms are fantastic, especially the top floor rooms. The service was great, the food exceellet some of the best i had during my stay, and the manager Kanchana was fantastic

The location is good a 5 minute tuk tuk driver or a 15 minute walk passed the lake.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in fact extended longer that we had originally anticipated

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridgey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negombo
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I had the misfortune to be booked into the Kandy View Hotel, I could not stay as the rooms were appallingly dirty, my fellow travellers within the group checked out straight away.
I had the dirtiest, smelliest room, in the place.
I opened the window to let out stale air part of the window casement fell off, a dirty black electric socket with two bare wires hanging out of the wall. Workmen working on scaffolding outside my window could see everything happening in the room and did not fail to stop and look.
I approached the owner about the dirty sewer smell in the room & he denied there was a problem, water all over the bathroom floor from the leaking toilet, hand basin drains into the shower floor, dirty water & dirty drain smell.

Budget or not there was no way I could stay there or allow my friends to stay there either so we all checked out as soon as possible. The owner thought it quite amusing that we through his establishment dirty and uninhabitable which it clearly is.

IF YOU DON'T MIND DIRTY CONDITIONS, SMELLY ROOMS, & AND UNCARING STAFF GO AHEAD BOOK IN, BUT BE AWARE HYGIENE IS NOT ONE OF THEIR STRONG POINTS. BOOK AT YOUR OWN RISK. JUST DON'T GO!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilsmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

west midlands england
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

The hotel does not have a view of Kandy it is quite a long way out of town. The road is very steep and there are no lights. If you do not have a torch then it is likely to be quite dangerous.

The rooms are Ok but the staff seem to be very noisy and do not bother about being quiet. The rooms on the lower floor are the quietest with the other rooms being close to recetion orthe rooftop bar.

There was a TV in the room but nowhere to plug it in. the view from the bar was great and the bar itself was very pleasant but we sent our meal back as it was very poor and could not eat it

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Kandy View Hotel in late January for a few nights and were really impressed. The restaurant at the top of the hotel offers amazing views of the surrounding mountains. The rooms are basic but clean and the manager Kanchana was extremely helpful and knowledgable about where to go and what to do in the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scozuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Stayed for three days at the kandy view and enjoyed the fabulous view from the roof top restaurant. A visual treat for nature lovers. Service was beyond expectation, staff were very friendly and responded very well to all our requirements. Rooms were quite decent , good facilities esp the pool. All in all a comfortable stay , and we got back with a promise to return on our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.8 mi away
Heavens Holiday Resort
Heavens Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Mahawaththa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#31 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#34 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#44 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Property: Kandy View Hotel
Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing