We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Penny and Anthony”
Review of Kandy Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kandy Cottage
Ranked #8 of 438 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A dream and Thomas such a welcoming host. We enjoyed the relaxed and gentle atmosphere of this real home environment. Great evening curries and Sri Lankan breakfasts. The natural environment of the reserve surrounds you and only a very short walk to the bustling Kandy Lake. Thank you delightful Kandy Cottage.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room with no ensuite or balcony but had the bathroom of the house and could use...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Kandy Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 269 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

This truly is a little hidden gem!
A little cottage tucked away in the Kandy hills in and amongst the monkeys!! Although you feel like your miles away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy, the city centre is only a 10 minute stroll away.

We absolutely loved this place.

After a gruelling 5 hour taxi journey all we wanted was a warm welcome, some decent food, a comfy bed and decent cup of coffee!! Luckily we got all we wished for and more..

I would highly recommend this place if your after the real Sri Lankan experience; nothing fancy, just the simple things done extremely well....

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view of the moon!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ford87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I had 2 nights here in December and loved it. I had dinner one night, which was one of the best meals I had in Sri Lanka. It is only a 10 minute walk to the heart of Kandy, but feels like a world away, so a fantastic location. Thomas is an absolute star and went out of his way to make sure that you enjoy your stay in Kandy, he is a gem. I would definitely recommend this place and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were sadly only staying one night but our stay was perfect. Room was lovely and spacious with a cool bathroom. Loved the decoration. Big comfortable bed, and peacefully quiet away from the noise of Kandy.

Thomas was a star! He took us to the town to ensure we got our bearings then met us again to take us to the cultural show. We had an excellent dinner and breakfast (don't eat out, it's not worth it when it is this good). The friendliest service we'd had in Sri Lanka, nothing was a problem.

The cottage is unmarked but easy to find and a short walk from town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We adored this little cottage in Kandy. It is a bit hard to find at night, but close to everything in Kandy. We stayed 2 nights in the Friendly room (one king bed plus a second room with bunk beds for children) with en suite bath. Our kids, ages 4 and 5, were convinced they'd meet Hansel and Gretel here and be able to eat the walls, given the name, and it was so adorable it was indeed right out of a fairy tale. What makes the place if the manager: he helped us with so much, cooked a great dinner for us, and we had wonderful eggs and roti for breakfast. THE COFFEE WAS FANTASTIC: among the best we had in our 3 week stay on Sri Lanka!! I only give a 4/5 as it is still a bit rustic, but wonderful as can be!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evilexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Getting to Kandy Cottage is a bit tricky at first, but the manager was very helpful with giving directions to the driver and we arrived with no problems. It's sufficiently out of the way to feel as if you are on your own in the wild, but still within walking distance of the town. The staff are immensely hospitable and cater to your needs, with excellent advice on do's and don'ts. A great getaway for writers and artists to work on their craft, or just to relax in the garden with a good book. The food is also excellent and the rooms are simply but tastefully furnished. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wajih H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The manager, Thomas, is very welcoming and helpful and the accommodation itself is very peaceful. The food was brilliant too and very authentic - ask for eggs hoppers for breakfast! Not too far from central Kandy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank womble7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#24 of 56 in Kandy
367 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 56 in Kandy
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
548 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Cottage

Address: 160 Lady Gordons Drive, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $25 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottage nestles in a little hollow, in the midst of trees, beside a tiny virgin forest - "Udawatakelle" Forest Sanctuary just one of the many splendidly green spaces that is KandyThe Cottage is a charming and cosy place of retreat for writers andartists, and also welcomes regular holiday makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kandy Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandy Cottage Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing