We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful oasis in busy Kandy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kandy Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kandy Cottage
Ranked #9 of 367 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A peaceful oasis in busy Kandy”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We loved Kandy Cottage! Kandy is a really busy city and it was a treat to come back to Kandy Cottage at the end of the day - it is only 10 mins walk from centre of Kandy but it feels like a different world. Lots of trees, monkeys, birds and the cottage itself is calm and cozy. Thomas was the most helpful host we came across in Sri Lanka - nothing was too much trouble and he even reserved train seats for our onward journey. Manni is an amazing cook and the food at Kandy Cottage was superb. Overall, we loved Kandy Cottage and cannot recommend it highly enough. It is a bit more expensive than other places in Kandy but I think well worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    53
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
63
121
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hospitality of the host, Thomas, best we've come across on our travels. Nothing was too much effort - walked with us to town (10minutes to centre), took us to the temple and was an excellent source for local knowledge and events. The food too, is delicious - curries (cost extra) and traditional breakfast: don't expect to leave feeling hungry, he sees to a good feed. Rooms were very comfortable, in fact tasteful too: polished concrete, traditional cotton sheets and mosquito nets/ plugs and fans. And the bathroom too, very comfortable, hot water, clean towels. Wifi works too. First impressions were excellent, but would advise to other travellers on a budget, that we found other guesthouses in the area (perhaps not such a warm welcome) for two thirds if not half of the price (though we booked in advance and didn't haggle...). Would also advise, as in amidst the jungle area, to take long socks and dettol to protect against leaches and jungle formula for the Mosquitos, there were a few but all added to the experience, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LettsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Kandy Cottage is practically in the jungle but still close to the centre of Kandy. The rooms are basic but comfortable. I slept like a baby here! Hot water works and wifi works - two things you can't take for granted in other places.

Thomas is a wonderful host. Charming, helpful and genuinely interested in making your stay in Sri Lanka as good as it can be. He encouraged me to use local transport to visit Sigirya, Dambulla and attractions around Kandy. Firstly, it saved me a fortune and secondly it set the tone for my whole trip. I used buses all over the island afterwards and met some very interesting characters. Before I moved on he sat me down with a map and worked out my itinerary for the rest of my trip saving me a lot of time and money and correcting a few daft ideas I had.

Finally, the food. I had a different breakfast on each of the four mornings I stayed, all of them excellent. Dinner was also excellent and varied. It was my first time in Sri Lanka so I was introduced to hoppers, string hoppers, roti, curd and honey etc. I didn't realise until I'd been on the island for a couple of weeks how good the food is here.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostInPyongyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Tobi and Thomas were wonderful hosts, ensuring a tuk tuk met my train and preparing a meal for me on arrival. Thomas was very kind and made lots of very helpful suggestions for things to do in Kandy and recommended a reasonably priced driver, Anil, to bring me safely back to the airport in Colombo. Kandy cottage is basic, but it is also very reasonably priced. It's wonderful to be away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy itself and to wake up to bird song and the noises of the jungle. My only downside was the number of moth balls in my room. I hate the smell of them, but apart from that the room was clean and comfortable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The house is quaint and charming and it was lovely to nap and watch the rain fall in the skylight.
My only complaint would have been about the leech that got on my leg from the toilet, but it is the rainforest and you have to expect these things some times! Thomas is the best host and his dog Cookie was so sweet--nice to see a domesticated dog since you see so many strays on the roads. Thomas made some of our favorite meals of the whole trip and we compared every restaurant's daal to his--it is Daal-icious! --no one can compare!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knickslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Oh where to start? Probably by saying that I feel very lucky to have found Kandy Cottage. What a wonderful place and Thomas, what an wonderful host! Tucked away in a quiet corner of woodland 10 minutes walk from Kandy town, Kandy Cottage was such a wonderful find. I chose to stay here because of all the fantastic reviews but still the place exceeded all my expectations. It's worth the walk as you'll be rewarded by a peaceful nights sleep and a magical feeling of being immersed in nature. Undoubtedly the best and most authentic Sri Lankan food I had during my time in the country. My host Thomas, was incredibly helpful from the moment I arrived. As a female travelling alone in Sri Lanka for the first time I have to admit to feeling a bit apprehensive at the start. Thomas' kind, trustworthy and helpful nature immediately made me feel at ease and throughout my stay he did everything he could to make me feel welcome – even helping me with planning my onward travel and accommodation. Thank you Kandy Cottage and an even bigger thank you to Thomas for making my stay in Kandy unforgettable. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastleigh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a fantastic welcome from Thomas to Kandy Cottage - its a lovely peaceful green oasis up a leafy lane a really short distance from central Kandy. We stayed in the family room with our 2 children (age 9 and 6). We were back packing and Thomas was brilliant at organising drivers, tuk tuks etc. he also took us by bus to the Kandy Dancing. The cottage itself is really quirky with board games etc. But there is so much to do in the area its unlikely you'll have much time to kill. The botanical gardens are beautiful. We loved our time here. Request one of Thomas' lovely lime juices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 53 in Kandy
475 reviews
0.9 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#21 of 53 in Kandy
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
911 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
2.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Cottage

Property: Kandy Cottage
Address: 160 Lady Gordons Drive, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 367 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottage nestles in a little hollow, in the midst of trees, beside a tiny virgin forest - "Udawatakelle" Forest Sanctuary just one of the many splendidly green spaces that is KandyThe Cottage is a charming and cosy place of retreat for writers andartists, and also welcomes regular holiday makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kandy Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandy Cottage Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing