We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at Kandy Cottage”
Review of Kandy Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kandy Cottage
Ranked #9 of 470 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Kandy Cottage last year . We found the reviews on Tripadvisor and couldn't resist . Kandy Cottage did not disappoint! We were welcomed by Tobi our wonderful host, who was welcoming, attentive and kind. The authentic Sri Lankan food was sooo soo delicious. Mane the cook made succulent devilled potatoes and cashew curry and i still dream of going back. Tobi organised our transport to Sigiriya and also was our advisor throughout our whole adventure in Sri Lanka. Amazing service, one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GobleEmpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 277 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We really enjoyed two nights with Thomas and Mani as our hosts. Thanks especially for the recommendations for accommodation in Ella and Galle. We were most grateful that Thomas purchased our train tickets to Ella and Hatton in advance. Guest house accommodation is the way to experience the real Sri Lanka and meet like minded travellers. Kandy Cottage is in a quiet location with rain forest directly behind. It's a quick walk down to the main town but far enough away to be quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishtheDish1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had some trouble finding Kandy Cottage but the welcome we received made the journey worth while. The rooms were basic but very clean and spacious. Thomas, the 'manager', is such a lovely man. He cooked us a wonderful dinner and then breakfast in the morning. This guest house is off the tourist track but is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3466traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Small house with few rooms. Warm, friendly and extremly helpful service. Nice atmosphere – you are living in the hills above Kandy in surrounded by jungle. Perfect cleanliness. Outstandig Sri Lankan dinner.

BUT: You have to be clear that you are living a little bit away from town centre (walking distance to Kandy lake – 15-20 minutes)

CONCLUSION: One of the best accommodations in Sri Lanka, that we visited during our Sri Lanka roundtrip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisAugsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My now fiance and I traveled to Sri Lanka for 10 days, 4 of which we stayed at the Kandy Cottage. Lovely countryside Bed and Breakfast with fantastic views and very close proximity to everything you need in Kandy. If you do not like walking then you will not have the best stay, however if you are the adventurous type then book here quickly because they fill up very fast. Mr. Thomas was more than hospitable during our tenure here. He and the chefs onduty prepared a lovely birthday dinner for me (since it was my birthday on was of the days) and the owners wife BAKED A CAKE!!!!! Do you believe that!!!!!! She even wrote Happy Birthday Darren in the icing. This place was great and if we ever return to Kandy, we will be staying here once again. Thanks for an amazing time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We did a round trip in Sri Lanka and stayed in several accomodations. They were all good, but we experienced Kandy Cottage as the best. Thomas helped us finding our way in Kandy and provided excellent hospitality. Mani made us some wonderful breakfasts and meals, and we will never forget our train trip from Kandy to Ella, among others thanks to our seats and Mani's delicious sandwiches. The place itself is small scaled, situated on a pieceful spot in the woods just outside Kandy. It seems to be far out of town by car or three wheeler, but on foot you will reach the city center within ten minutes walk. The rooms are tidy and spacious. If we ever visit Kandy again, we will certainly return to Kandy Cottage.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojannekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. A real peaceful place only ten minutes walk from busy Kandy. The setting is beautiful. Thomas was very helpfull with everything. The rooms are comfortable and the food is great! We would go back there any time!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jopke u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#6 of 58 in Kandy
747 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#19 of 58 in Kandy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#24 of 58 in Kandy
379 reviews
2 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 470 in Kandy
320 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Bridget's Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Cottage

Address: 160 Lady Gordons Drive, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $25 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottage nestles in a little hollow, in the midst of trees, beside a tiny virgin forest - "Udawatakelle" Forest Sanctuary just one of the many splendidly green spaces that is KandyThe Cottage is a charming and cosy place of retreat for writers andartists, and also welcomes regular holiday makers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kandy Cottage Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing