We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““ Charming and very comfortable””
Review of Kandy Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kandy Cottage
Ranked #8 of 462 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our family recently stayed in a Hotel for three nights in late june. The location is perfect. The staff was very helpful and responsive. The room was comfortable with two king sized beds,I would recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 274 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

This place really exceeded my expectations. From the time I booked Tobi went out of his way to accommodate my requests. He also met me off the train, which I didn't expect, and gave a mini guided tour of Kandy on the way to the cottage. The cottage is on a hillside just outside Kandy town, and is surrounded by forest. I stayed in the Creative Room, which is a lovely room. The chef cooked wonderful food, at very reasonable rates. The whole team there were so helpful, they really went out of their way to give us the best experience possible. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband, our 4 year old son and I stayed at Kandy Cottage back in March. We had the most amazing time, it really felt like we were staying in someone's home. Tobi and Andri were absolutely fantastic, helped us out and gave us a lot of information about the area and Sri Lanka. Location was lovely in the middle of the jungle. It was just the calm and peace we needed as a break from our hectic life in Dubai. I would definitely recommend Kandy Cottage. Tobi, Andri, so sorry for the ridiculously late review. We have not forgotten about you guys though :-)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Tobi, the manager, went out of his way to make me and my friends comfortable and happy. The tour of the garden (where I ate right off of the trees), stories and tips, nice decorations, and amazing breakfast made this the highlight of my week in Sri Lanka. Great for families, couple, friends, and singles... Would go on and on but out of space. Thanks, Tobi!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The other glowing reviews are no accident, this is a great place to stay when visiting Kandy and the surrounding area.

The cottage itself is a short distance up the hill from Kandy (an easy walk down in the daytime and a short Tuk-Tuk ride back up) in a lovely setting in its own grounds. Accomodation is relatively basic but comfortable and cosy.

Other than the setting our stay was made in particular by Tobi, our host, who was enormously helpful and friendly and extremely knowledgable with regards to not only Kandy but Sri Lanka as a whole. It is well worth running any tour and travel plans past him or asking him for advice.

The food here was also excellent and very good value. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Sorry. This is a delayed review. I and my boyfriend stayed for 3 nights in March. We enjoyed the cozy room and everything around it. Tobi and Andrea were so nice helping arrange everything even for my trip going forwards to other places. The food were terrific and they really care how it's prepared for different guests and make them feel so much at home. It's a quite place and still close to Kandy town. We would definitely stay there for another time if we go.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Charming cottage, once you find it !!, and with great manager who really makes you feel at home. Could have spent 3 nights here !

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin65_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
737 reviews
0.9 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#24 of 57 in Kandy
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 57 in Kandy
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 57 in Kandy
583 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anna Shanthi Villa
Anna Shanthi Villa
#21 of 462 in Kandy
248 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Bridget's Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Cottage

Address: 160 Lady Gordons Drive, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $25 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottage nestles in a little hollow, in the midst of trees, beside a tiny virgin forest - "Udawatakelle" Forest Sanctuary just one of the many splendidly green spaces that is KandyThe Cottage is a charming and cosy place of retreat for writers andartists, and also welcomes regular holiday makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kandy Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandy Cottage Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing