We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location”
Review of Hotel Comfort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Comfort
Ranked #218 of 384 Kandy B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is well located next to the lake in Kandy, about a 15 min walk to the centre. It is a nice clean hotel and was pretty good value. Breakfast was pretty standard although you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overmarsirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel was the least I was paying for during my entire trip, so I was a bit nervous about how it would turn out. Well, it turned out really good! The location is excellent, it's right by Kandy Lake. You may want to ask for a room that has a view of the lake. The room we were given was big and clean. The beds were comfortable. Nothing fancy but good value for money.

One night, they had already closed their kitchen. We didn't know that and we went down for dinner. We were quite worried about what to do about dinner, since I was with my parents and having them walk out in the night for food was a bit worrisome. The manager understood this and cooked up a delicious Sri Lankan meal for us. The breakfasts were very good too.

Beware of monkeys (they have notices in the rooms too). Don't leave your window open, esp during daytime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santanu_Bhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for one night during a short tour of Sri Lanka. I have lived here for over a year and stayed in a few guesthouses in the country. This is a good choice if you are looking for a simple, clean room at a decent price. Everything worked properly and the beds were comfortable. This is not a luxury hotel, but a good, simple place with friendly staff. It is in a good location near the lake. It would be a 15 minute or more walk to town or a very short tuk-tuk ride.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Well located in the city centre next to the lake. We had a room (8?) at the top of the house with a lovely high ceiling. The view wasn't great (it looked on to the back of other properties) but we could have no complaints on the standard of accommodation, service or food.

Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamSancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Ok for quick stay, room we had not AC so was very hot in the night for us and not a lot of sleep. We're meant to have AC but tour obj didn't book it. Rooms ok, had everything we needed. The tea was very good unlike some other hotels. View of lake was lovely if in the right room ( unfortunately we we not) staff very good. Room wasn't cleaned though so had to ask for fresh towels and paper.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliveparkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel is located beside the Kandy Lake, and is a 10 or 15 minute walk to the commercial/retail area of Kandy. About 10 to 12 minutes to the Temple of the Tooth.

The rooms were clean and big, but the hot and cold water showers were a mystery of god. In the afternoon, even the cold water was hot, and in the morning, the hot water was lukewarm at best. I can only assume that they are using some form of direct solar heating of the water.

The staff were variable with the Manager very affable, but the junior staff member looked like he was there under sufferance if his ambivalence to customers was anything to go by.

A value for money proposition.

Room Tip: Front rooms for the view, back rooms for no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

The rooms were very clean. The staff were very cheerful and helpful. The location is good as it is facing the Kandy Lake and it is in the city center. Will definitely come back to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Premi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comfort

Property: Hotel Comfort
Address: 197 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 384 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The choice of the fastidious individual tourists or small visitor groups for a stay in Kandy. The hotel is situated in a very quiet area but nevertherless in easy walking distance to the city. (approx. 1.3Km to the Dalada Maligawa) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing