We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but don't expect the Ritz”
Review of Blinkbonnie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blinkbonnie Inn
Ranked #9 of 321 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent but don't expect the Ritz”
Reviewed August 14, 2010

What a fantastic place - high on the hill overlooking Kandy. Stephen and his staff were helpfull and caring. This is a hostel not a hotel and the price reflects it so don't expect air conditioning in all rooms but do expect excellent food and service. Steven the owner will also arrange trips out in his minibus and for two days took us out and about taking us where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Botanybay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    72
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
85
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wakefield England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We booked simply because of the entry in our book - 'A small gem of a B&B....best views in Kandy..rooms simple but spotlessly clean...breakfast on the verandah..the manager is extremely helpful''
Hopefully we will be able to return soon for longer!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richandlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Friendly staff and helped us to organize a guided tour to the interiaor locations of Nuwara Eliya.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudhirappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Lovely guesthouse - the owner was very friendly and helpful. Arranged tours around Kandy - and was helpful with tips for onward travel.

The views down to Kandy lake are great.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonM_and_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I cannot express just how Blinkbonnie and the proprietor Steven made us so feel so welcome. Sri Lannkans in general we found, are extremely hospitable, Steven makes this an art form! He organised all of our trips from Kandy personally, driving us to the Tea Plantations and the Ancient Cities himself, calling tuk tuks for local trips, making sure we received the best value for money at all times. Honestly, the best service I have experienced anywhere in the world!
Amazing food,... hand pick veg and herbs from the garden made their way to the kitchen after we had ordered/he suggested what to eat costing us on average £3 per meal!
All the rooms have incredible views over Kandy, the staff are attentive at all times, even bringing us room service snacks/ drinks after 11pm on one occasion.
If you are visiting Kandy there really is only one place to stay, you cannot find anywhere cheaper (2500rs a night inc breakfast ) and an incredible level of service.
P.s Having travelled much of the world over many years, for the 1st time on leaving a hotel my friend and I said our goodbyes, got in the tuk tuk, and looked at each other with tears in our eyes... nuff said?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed here for two nights as part of a week long tour of Sri Lanka. Our room was clean enough, it had a/c and a fan, a decent sized bathroom and we had a long balcony overlooking Kandy Lake, the biggest diappointment of the room was the bed, which was uncomfortable due to the fact that the base was made of uneven bits of pallet wood! Breakfast was included, which was nice, the restaurant was open air and had a good view also of the lake and surrounding countryside. We also had dinner one night, which was also quite good. You could easily walk into Kandy town from here, although it was a steep walk back up the hillside.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samiloupepperell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

Blinkbonnie Tourist Inn is a very beautifull small hotel. On 3 floors there are at all 9 rooms, 3 rooms on the top floor with a/c . All rooms are very clean and have a separat shower room with washing, toilet and the room itself has 1 or 2 beds, moscito net, van and a nice balcony with view to the nice Lake of Kandy and the Temple of the Tooth. Every morning you see monkeys.
You can book here bed only or b/b or half pension. I can tell only about b/b. For breakfast you get 2 eggs (boiled or otherwise), much toast bread, marmalade, tea or coffee and a fresh papaya juice. If you need more, you get it by friendly face of the cook.
The owner has a car and he will fetch you at the airport if neccessary, but we come always by private car.
The price is deep in compare to other Kandy guesthouses.
I can tell only good things of this guesthouse and I will come again as much as possible (when I stay in Kandy).
If you need a tuk tuk for a Kandy day, the owner will call it for you. The driver of tuk tuk is good english spoken. Please ask for his name: "INOON"... Inoon will show you all beautifull places of Kandy.

  • Liked — deep price in compare to other Kandy guesthouses, very friendly staff, good rooms, clean
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blinkbonnie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blinkbonnie Inn

Property: Blinkbonnie Inn
Address: 69 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 321 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blinkbonnie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blinkbonnie Inn prides itself with the best views in Kandy. You will believe it after you have your breakfast in the view-point restaurant, overlooking the whole of Kandy. All this combined with their outstanding service and traditional hospitality makes the Blinkbonnie Inn a great place to stay in Kandy. The rooms of the Blinkbonnie Inn cater for all needs and budgets. All rooms are having a view point balcony overlooking Kandy Lake, Mountains. The view point restaurant has 180' views of Kandy lake and Temple and mountain ranges. You can enjoy a lovely cup of world famous Sri Lankan tea in the mornings watching playful monkeys passing by as well as a beautiful tropical and migrating birds, a great way to begin your day. Tours can be arranged in all budget ranges. Eco and Adventure tours are available as well as cultural tours of the ancient cities and temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blinkbonnie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blinkbonnie Tourist Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing