We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Blinkbonnie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blinkbonnie Inn
Ranked #10 of 352 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. A mosquito net was provided too. The bathroom was clean and hot water available. We stayed on the top floor and our room had an amazing view over Kandy. The manager was excellent and gave us all the information we asked for when planning our trip. He was really helpful and friendly. We observed that it was difficult to find a restaurant that sold traditional Sri Lankan food for dinner in Kandy and when we mentioned this to the owner he immediately offered to make us a Sri Lankan meal for the next evening - which was delicious! I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Kandy.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 on the top floor have outstanding views of Kandy and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Gem2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    73
    23
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
86
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stephen was very helpful. He arranged a driver to collect us from Colombo airport at 3am, and when we arrived had our room ready for us to check in early at no extra cost.

Room was clean and perfectly adequate. Shower wasn't great, a dribble, but it was warm.

Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosam999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I thought the rooms were very clean, although basic, and ours had a beautiful view over Kandy. I thought the location was pretty good, although it was a little walk down the hill, via the short-cut to the town centre. Overall I thought it was a nice place to stay.

My main gripe was that this was the only place we stayed at in Sri Lanka that didn't include breakfast. It just felt a bit tight when compared to other places we stayed. The staff were ok, we didn't have any problems but didn't feel it was overly friendly..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We came here for dinner by recommendation of our driver. We are vegetarians. We were not disappointed. The local vegetable dishes we ate were well cooked and each one had its own distinct flavour and texture. Service was attentive. Moderate cost. Good value. We would eat here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LooksWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The room was large, very comfortable and absolutely clean. The balcony was nice and we liked the great view over the whole city of Kandy with its lake. At first the hotel seemed to be a little too far away from the city center but there are shortcuts which the friendly staff will explain you. Therefore it was very quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijayawada, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I was not only overwhelmed by steven of the hotel, facilties in particular but enthused of the Srilankans in General. Trip being the first time, we managed to see very good places based on trip advisor., but steven helped us to see the best and wonderful place called Ella. Though wish to stay longer there, coudnt for lack of time in our itenary. The hotel , food and enterprenuership adds charm to holiday..

Room Tip: One that is upstairs with balcony , with a wonderful view of kandy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seetharama P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love my stay at the Blinkbonnie Guest house. It offers amazing value for money (I paid £19 for a twin room). The room I stayed in had an amazing view over Kandy and although basic it was very comfortable and clean.

The owner is also incredibly helpfully and arranged transport for us to get to our next destination. I also ate dinner whilst staying at BlinkBonnie and the food on offer was very tasty Sri Lankan cuisine.



*****

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toky302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 55 in Kandy
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#40 of 55 in Kandy
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.7 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#22 of 55 in Kandy
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#21 of 55 in Kandy
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blinkbonnie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blinkbonnie Inn

Property: Blinkbonnie Inn
Address: 69 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 352 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blinkbonnie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blinkbonnie Inn prides itself with the best views in Kandy. You will believe it after you have your breakfast in the view-point restaurant, overlooking the whole of Kandy. All this combined with their outstanding service and traditional hospitality makes the Blinkbonnie Inn a great place to stay in Kandy. The rooms of the Blinkbonnie Inn cater for all needs and budgets. All rooms are having a view point balcony overlooking Kandy Lake, Mountains. The view point restaurant has 180' views of Kandy lake and Temple and mountain ranges. You can enjoy a lovely cup of world famous Sri Lankan tea in the mornings watching playful monkeys passing by as well as a beautiful tropical and migrating birds, a great way to begin your day. Tours can be arranged in all budget ranges. Eco and Adventure tours are available as well as cultural tours of the ancient cities and temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blinkbonnie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blinkbonnie Tourist Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing