We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Freedom Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$175
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$109
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$33
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
165
146
50
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
146
50
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housethe ownerpenthouse suitesri lankalocal schoolother guestslovely guesthousekandy laketop floorwelcoming familyfriendly hostswithin easy walking distancea wonderful place to staytuk tukclean roomsnice roomrice and curry
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 394 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Kandy is a medium sized man made holy lake and the surrounding area is essentially like a bowl so most streets are steep radiating outwards from the lake. As a result may places have good views of the lake. Saranankara road is typical and Freedom lodge about 1/2 way up the street.
We had penthouse suites with balcony costing 3,500 + 15% tax per night per double for each suite. This included reasonable breakfast. Evening meals possible at SLR 900 + tax. Meal cooked by Nalini (wife of Sarath) - we had traditional 4 curries and rice - a relatively simple affair. Suggest try Sharon Inn's dinner 300m up the same road - more sophisticated and sl. cheaper. Some Aussies move here from Sharon's and agreed the food there better but the owner's wife apparently was the cause of them moving. The rooms were spacious and we did not need air conditining. Mosquitoes were an issue and we were lacking a net on the 3 rd bed. The repellent given was Mortein - well known brand but wondered if it worked. The rooms are above the family home which was inherited by Sarath(male owner) from his father. If you have diff with steps - there are no lifts.
Building under going construction on the ground floor so a little messy currently - prob cont for another 3 months.
Bathroom and toilet and modern and clean as is the room itself. Each room has a small table and simple chair. There is a single bed side table/drawer.
The rooms face a secondary girls school further up a hill about 600m away so expect some noise about 0630 hrs as kids arrive.
Monkeys did not give us problems as they are more interested in the bins.
It is possible to walk to town from here without too much effort about 10 -15mins and about 1/2 shaded by trees along the Kandy lake road.
Tuk tuk cost about SLR 200 if not raining. ( SLR 300 if raining !!! )
Rain occurs mostly in the afternoon's and may cont thru the night.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Reading outstanding reviews of this place, we decided to book a 2 nights stay with them. Finding the place was a bit difficult but its within good walkable distance from the Lake (and rest of the main town). Parking our car was a bit of a problem but they were helpful in moving the car around when needed. As commented by others the hosting couple are warm and friendly.

We had booked the pent house room for ourselves hoping it would be much nicer than the other rooms. Not really, the bed was stinking (despite removing the extra sheets on the bed), there were stuff falling from the roof and the 'double' bed would always stay split ! We were woken up by the loud noise coming from the school right next to it (wonder why no one mentioned about the school ! ). We had dinner at the place once and they charged us 900 LKR per person for something that we did not enjoy (maybe because we are vegetarians and although they prepared a veg dish for us it was not all that great to pay 1800 + tax for us). Even the water bottle we asked for was twice the market price. We quietly had all other meals out in the town.
The place was under construction when we visited them so its possible that things might change in the future but in the present state not worth the money. You can easily find a better place to stay once you get there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pingvishal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed one night at Freedom Lodge, but had 5 days altogether with Pio Mendis on a tour throughout Sri Lanka.

Hotel wise, it's clean and value for money. We stayed at the penthouse - 3 floors up. They provide clean linen and towels.
Although slightly expensive than eating at road side, I would recommend having dinner at Freedom Lodge (800rs per pax). If you're not one who can eat spicy food, inform them. Truly authentic home cooked Sri Lankan food, you'll be wanting more...

Only downside is its location, need to walk about 20 minutes to temple of tooth and city centre of Kandy.

We had a 6 day tour with Pio, a family member of the owners of Freedom Lodge. Vehicle is very clean, he drives safely and definitely generous not only as a tour guide, but as a person. Best way to travel in Sri Lanka is with a local guide...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terence7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed here on two occasions during our trip to Sri Lanka. Nalini and Sareth are truly warm and engaging hosts who went out of their way to ensure that we had a lovely stay. They were of help both before our arrival and during the stay, arranging for tickets to the incredible Perehera and hooking us up with a family member who drove us all around the country. Nalini made us some wonderful Sri Lankan dinners, and we appreciated that it was an easy walk to the center of town. Lastly, as we stayed here at both the beginning and the end of our trip, I can say, without a doubt, they have the most comfortable beds in Sri Lanka! That is worth a lot to any traveler!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cl22464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

My girlfriend & I stayed in the Freedom Lodge for three nights. We arrived by train from Colombo & were greeted by a smiling Sarath who drove us the short distance to the house where we were greeted by his wife Nilani. We were given the double room on the top floor which was very clean & roomy with a large mossie net which is pretty much essential in Sri Lanka. The rooms are basic but for the price you're paying they are perfect. The only slight problem is that there's a school very close to the rear of the lodge so it gets pretty noisy around 8 in the morning so be prepared for that. We ate dinner at the lodge on 2 of the 3 nights & it was top class. Soup followed by what can be described as a banquet of different curries with fragrant rice. You can also have a few ice cold Lion beers with your meal which is great. Sarath also arranged a day trip to Nuwara Eliya which was fantastic, wonderful scenery & we stopped at a tea factory to witness the manufacturing process which was cool. Sarath also organised a taxi to take us to the costal town of Bentota as well. We really enjoyed our stay here & it's a lovely walk into the town taking only 15 minutes. A tuk tuk can be rented from the pub back to the lodge for 150 rupees. I would definitely go back if I ever visit Kandy again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stintdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews