We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable place to stay in Kandy”
Review of Freedom Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freedom Lodge
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to stay in Kandy”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our trip around Sri Lanka. We had a penthouse room on the top floor which was spacious and had a balcony overlooking the garden. The room itself was of a high standard with a comfortable bed with mosquito nets. The bathroom was quite modern with a good shower and hot water. We had breakfast and dinner on one night here. Breakfasts were very good and consisted of fresh fruits, eggs, toast and tea and coffee. It was a bit disappointing that there was not an option of a Sri Lankan breakfast. Dinner cost 1000 rupees per person and although it was tasty, it probably wasn't the best Sri Lankan meal we've had. The lodge is located close to lake and it's an easy walk to all the sights in Kandy. What made Freedom Lodge stand out was the comfortable atmosphere around the guesthouse. Guests have their meals together which was good in that we got to meet and share our travelling experiences with others. The hosts of Freedom Lodge were very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKTTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    136
    37
    20
    10
See reviews for
45
189
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our first room smelled terribly of damp, so we moved to a better one - same price, which was odd.

When we came back a few days later (having left our luggage - very helpful, thanks) after a trip up north, we had a 3rd room - no balcony, no mosquito net, but higher ceiling and newly decorated, but more expensive. Odd again.

Breakfast is rather European, which is disappointing - and why import big bananas rather than providing the local ones which taste so amazing?

But lovely people and a good location with clean rooms.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night. Other reviews accurate. Owner has experience in hotel sector - very professional and friendly. Nice calming approach. Helped us find accom in next town. Dinner provided for more than our one night. Not much more i can say. Cannot comment on dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyB255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

After a dismal experience in Sigiriya, Freedom Lodge was a total relief. Good sized room, bright, spotlessly clean, clean and fresh smelling sheets and towels, lots of hot water (even if the system, like so many others in Sri Lanka, would scare anyone with even a basic understanding of the combined effects of water and electricity!). The room wasn't mossie proofed, but there was a nice clean mossie net, so it wasn't a problem.

The owner is charming and has impeccable English. Breakfast was the standard fruit, eggs and toast that you find everywhere, but it all came quickly and was good. You are able to make your own toast, so you can have it hot (a novelty!). Dinner was also good.

If you are going in peak season, you will need to book. We booked (for January 2013) about two weeks before and there weren't any rooms with lake views left and the place was fully booked by the time we arrived. We paid Rs 4,000 for bed and breakfast on the first floor with no view of the lake. It was easily the best value for money guesthouse we stayed in during our trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingsamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It's a perfect stay for a couple and some comfort. It's very calm and my room had a balcony.
In the evening, people gather to the ground floor and discuss altogether, with the owner.
there are many american tourists.
Price is 4500Rps with breakfast, which is a good value based on location and comfort provided.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Feel_the_air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights across NYE 2012. The place is clean, decently situated near to the lake, and run by a very friendly and professional guy. The food was good. Actually one of the highlights were the other guests - a nice mix of nations, ages, some with kids - all happy to share New Years Eve with some new people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Fabulous room and such very friendly family and staff.
The penthouse room with balcony and stunning rooms - booked last minute but made to feel like a returning friend - Just wish we could have stayed longer.

Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mich_syd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#19 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.1 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Lodge

Property: Freedom Lodge
Address: 30 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Freedom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedom Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing