We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They ALSO forgot my reservation”
Review of Freedom Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freedom Lodge
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They ALSO forgot my reservation”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place looks really nice, it's in a good location to access the sites in Kandy BUT having made a reservation in April - confirmed twice on email - when we arrived on the agreed date (2 adults, 4 children booked for 3 nights in two rooms) - we were informed that they didn't have a booking for us. Luckily I had my iPad, showed them the booking confirmation, and they were embarrassed. OK, OK, these things happen and luckily there was another guest house 200 metres away that did have space. The owner of Freedom Lodge was apologetic and like I said, it looks like a very nice guest house. My advice to fellow travellers: please confirm the booking with them a few times leading up to the day of your stay. Nalini (wife of the owner?) said that I should have confirmed during the days leading up. If you get stuck the Expeditor Guest House, just up the hill, is very nice. Review to follow.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    136
    39
    20
    10
See reviews for
45
191
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've spend 3 nights in this lovely Lodge and from the first till the last Minute we fellt like at home. The owners are so lovely and the staff perfect. It's located on a Hill 5 minutes by Tuk-Tuk from the (polluted) center. The place is calm,clean and we were happy. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank botorack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The rooms here are fantastic value for money, most coming with a balcony and plenty of room. The hotel is close to Kandy's central lake and main attractions. The main reason for staying here though is the fantastic staff, it feels more like a homestay than a guesthouse. The owners were welcoming from the very first moment to the last. I went on two day trips with them, and both were excellent.
If you're heading to Kandy, can't recommend this place too highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sriracha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I booked a room about 2 days ago via email, and had a confirmed reservation. When I arrived, they told me the rooms were full and wasn't able to recommend another place. In the end, I walked down the hill and stayed at Pink House, which is widely different from what I expected.

Will be good to confirm your reservation a day in advance!

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PhebeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Nice comfortable guesthouse close to the center of Kandy. Run by a friendly family. We did not but you can join them for breakfast or dinner. The rooms we stayed in were clean and had a private balcony.The owner was a great help with the busses too :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin_ijpelaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We ended up staying here a couple more nights than we planned - after two nights in Kandy we went up north to Sigiriya, but then came back via Kandy and stayed at Freedom Lodge again because we'd been so comfortable there. The family were very friendly, and were the most open about discussing the country / political situation etc out of everyone we met on our travels, so were very interesting. The room was very comfortable, nicely decorated, very clean and quite large, although crawling with insects (met ENORMOUS spider in the bathroom!). Breakfast was the standard fare, but perfectly good. Sarith has a van and will drive you places, but is more expensive than drivers you can pick up elsewhere in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The house and the room were both very clean. The hosts were very friendly and nice. We had a room on the second floor with a balcony but the view wasn't great. It just overlooked other buildings. The breakfast was average. There was a damp smell in the bathroom that was kinda gross. The bathroom tiles are black so you can see the mold or ants. There were also lots of ants in the bathroom crawling over the sink and toilet.

No real mosquitos when we were there. The room was cool even though it was fan only and provided a comfortable sleep. The location was good on the hill.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 54 in Kandy
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
490 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#32 of 54 in Kandy
177 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.6 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Lodge

Property: Freedom Lodge
Address: 30 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Freedom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedom Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing