We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
NisW
Colombo, Sri Lanka

Comfortable stay and a genuinely caring host

Review of Vista House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 8, 2017
Ours was a one night stay which exceeded all expectations. The room was like a junior suite in a star-class hotel with all the amenities and we were very comfortable in it. We enjoyed the balcony where one could sit in the lounge chairs, listen to the sound of the stream below and take in the fresh air and the lush greenery outside, not to mention some interesting bird life which was a bonus. The location was great for us because we needed quick access to Kandy town and University of Peradeniya during our stay.

But the unique selling proposition (USP) is the genuinely caring owner & host Waruni. After a few moments with her, it was like we had known her all our lives and she made us feel so much at home. The breakfast was fantastic and I overate!
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waruni W, Owner at Vista House, responded to this review
Responded Nov 13, 2017
Dear Mr & Mrs Weerasekara.
Thank you so much for taking time to tell others what to expect from the VISTA HOUSE KANDY. Much appreciated!
I am very sure your detailed review will really make a difference even among the local travellers.
Hope to meet you both again with the memories of Good Old Days at Pera!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$105
$94
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $105
  • Priceline
2.5 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$101
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $84
  • Expedia.com
    $102
3.0 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
$78
$41
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
    $66
1.5 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
$119
$79
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $119
  • Priceline
4.4 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $85
  • Expedia.com
    $86
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $90
  • Trip.com
    $87
  • Expedia.com
    $94
1.5 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $60
  • Expedia.com
    $82
2.4 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Kandyan Villa is a Boutique Hotel and a detached Private Bungalow located along the slopes of the Hanthana mountain range in Heerassagala near Kandy, which offers you a outdoor pool, rooftop terrace, surrounded by lush tranquil gardens with a breathtaking view of the surrounding mountains! | Contact on +94 812 208 208 for reservations and information
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $37
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.3 miles from Vista House
Free parking
Pool
Front view of hotel
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    $44
  • Hotels.com
2.5 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $32
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.1 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kandy
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
90
6
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
90
6
1
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 98 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2017

Very enjoyable stay - clean and comfortable. Owner was delightful, couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Breakfast was delicious with homemade delights and fresh fruit juice. Worked well for us as a family as we took the two rooms so didn't have to share the area with other guests.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swallows_Rest_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Vista House in the last week of September. The room that we stayed in was nice. They do not have air conditioners in the room but because of the weather and the location of the hotel, you wouldn't find a need for air-conditioning. The remote operated fan works perfectly fine. The host is wonderful and has done up the house beautifully. She cooked some amazing breakfast for us. The place is around 4 km from City centre. The place is perfect for a couple of days stay in Kandy.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Anuj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waruni W, Owner at Vista House, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Dear Mr Anuj & Family
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! I am glad that we were able to accommodate a comfortable room for you. Also, thank you for the kind words regarding the breakfast. We are continually trying to improve the variety and quality of food items that we offer. Thank you for staying at the VISTA HOUSE KANDY and we hope that you will consider us for your next business trip!
Convey my kind regards to your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

This lovely bed and breakfast was a fantastic place to stay. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. It was up on the hilside and our room had a dramatic view of the city below. It is just a quick 10 minute tuk tuk ride to the city center. The owner Waruni was friendly and incredibly helpful. The airline had lost a piece of our luggage and we had essential medications in it. When we told Waruni, she immediately phoned a number of doctors so that we could get a prescription filled (fortunately in the end the baggage arrived). The included breakfasts were substantial with a variety of Sri Lankan and western dishes. We were delighted with our stay

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sandraben2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waruni W, Owner at Vista House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Dear Mrs Sandra and Family
Wow! A huge thank for taking the time to tell others what to expect from VISTA HOUSE. Other travellers really count on candid opinions like yours.
We could exceed your expectations!
What you reviewed will really make a difference.
Looking forward to your return vist in the next time in SRI LANKA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed very much our stay in Vista House. Overall it's a great value. The house is very beautiful and everything is spotless and in great working condition. Everything is stylish, starting with the room furniture and decorations and beautiful dinning space. Breakfast is wonderful and freshly prepared. The location is in a peaceful area and the house has got beautiful views. Everything is perfect. The host Waruni is amazing and we are very grateful for the assistance she provided to our family. We hope to see you soon. Lily, Kiran and Jaden

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank LightPacker148995
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waruni W, Owner at Vista House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Dear Lilly, Kiran and Jaden
Thank you so much for your detailed comments about your recent stay at VISTA HOUSE.
It was a pleasure to treat you and enjoyed much while you are staying with us.
We always remember the drumming of Jaden.
The only people worthy to be in your life are the ones that help you through the hard times and laugh with you after the hard time pass.
Hope you enjoyed the tour in our country even it is a short stay.
We are always happy to help you whatever best we can do.
Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017

The accommodation was spotlessly clean with lots of nice touches e.g. Use of kitchenette, pegs and washing line. The view was impressive in this beautiful house. Waruni our host was very friendly and approachable and was able to organise everything we asked for, e.g. taxi , resturant booking. The breakfast were enourmous and tasty. All in all an excellent stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waruni W, Owner at Vista House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Dear Mr Julian & Family
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our guest house. I truly appreciate your kind words. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this.
We hope to have you back in future and take part in celebration the next anniversary!
WISH YOU A HAPPY LIFE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews