We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful view of lake”
Review of Expeditor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expeditor Inn
Ranked #76 of 412 Kandy B&B and Inns
prescott,az.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“beautiful view of lake”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

we stayed in expeditor for 4 nights and used it as a base to explore the cultural triangle.the room and patio on the top floor provides you with an incredible view of the lake and the buddhist temple.they are happy to serve your breakfast and dinner on your patio and the food was excellent.the guest house is very clean and the staff is warm,friendly and give good service.the guest house is perched up on the hill and within easy walking distance to the town and temple-tuk tuk's are also readily available.we really enjoyed the people and our stay.

Room Tip: rooms on top floor provide great view of lake and temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prescott_az_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    78
    40
    19
    14
See reviews for
18
97
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

After taking a train from Colombo we stayed in Expeditor for two nights. We had the top floor all to ourselves likely because it was the beginning of the season. The GH is located on the side of a mountain with a nice view and the walk to the lake is managable during the daylight hours. It is close enought to the Tooth Relic Temple, museum, cultural center and business area. Kanthi the owner was a bit of a complainer about rising costs which was reflected in the higher than expected cost of the room. Meals here are expensive as they are in ALL Sri Lankan homestays or guest houses and the menu is limited. She will add on a 10% service fee. I am not sure what the fee was for other than to add a cost to our bill rather than adjusting the rates. However, this is the case all over Sri Lanka. The price is not the price. Be wary. Nice place though and very very clean. They do arrange trips and treks but I did not use them.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dabblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here for one night after a train ride from Colombo to Kandy - basically to get sorted for our trip through the 'Cultural Triangle'. Looking back we should probably have relied on the host's recommendation on their experienced guides for this area.
Our room in this slightly remote hillside guest house was okay with a nice view on Kandy.The bedsheets felt a little damp which you can hardly avoid in the colder areas of the hill country. There was a slight smell coming out of the bathroom (BEFORE we used it) - not too pleasant but since, to us mosquito coils have more than one purpose.
All in all good value for money with good home cooked dinner and Sri Lankan breakfast upon request the day before.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnarvon, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The owner of this hotel made false promises to us and it ended up costing us not the 4450R they quoted for the room but 6000R. We had booked ahead and were told they have family rooms and of course booked a room on this basis. We arrived at 12:00 at night (with 2 young children in tow) after a misunderstanding regarding the correct train to take from Ella to Kandy (11 hours instead of the 6-8 hours we were expecting).

My wife was shown 2 rooms and we were informed that one parent and one child should sleep in each room. This is not suitable for family accommodation especially when we were supposed to be staying for three to four nights.

That is my gripe out of the way, so read on.

The rooms were beautiful and the view was as good as the other hotel and each room has a balcony so you can enjoy the view. The rooms and the bathrooms were clean and tastefully appointed. We only spent 6 hours at this hotel so we cannot provide much more information than this. We did note the owner was annoyed with us because we refused to 'bunk' with our children and stay at the hotel. She was emphatic that this is how Europeans go on family holidays and that we were the odd ones out. Well if that is how Europeans go on holiday then you can have it.

Room Tip: Get it in writing. Make sure she sticks to the contract. Don't take the bulls&*t (unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Fillingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISLAMBAD PAKISTAN
Level 6 Contributor
641 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Our holiday in Sri Lanka was one of the most memorable vacations we have had. The icing on the cake was our stay in this lovely home stay. The owners Kanthi and Sid were so delighted that a family was staying in their inn, that they entertained the kids like they were their actual grandchildren. The rooms were peaceful, clean and airy. The water was warmed by solar panels. The breakfast everyday was wholesome, clean and freshly made. The owners are really decent people as when there was an emergency and we had to leave one day earlier they did not charge is for the last day- despite of the fact that we cancelled at the last moment. Overall a reasonable, safe homely place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first and second floors are really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HINAWASEEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We spent three nights at the Expeditor Inn, and found it to be clean and comfortable. We had a room with lovely views of the lake and temple, and a good bathroom. The bed was comfortable, and the room had lots of space. We paid a reasonable price. The location is a little ways out of Kandy, but not a long walk. It was quiet at night, so we had some wonderful sleeps. The place did shut down a little early, but this did not bother us too much. We opted out of the breakfast, and instead ate at the small cafe / shack on the walk down to town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liane_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is a pretty new place, so fairly sparkling clean. When we were there there was a huge amount of drilling going on from way too early o clock. They still had quite a lot of work to so when we left, so not sure how king that's valid. It's a bit all white, like an office, the owner spent most of our stay telling me what a good heart she had and then slating local people and tho the room rate was ok, at 2000rps, she slapped on a whopping 750 for breakfast, which is more than double what most places charge. And it wasn't what you'd call a big breakfast. I'm sure other people like it, I just didn't.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck55London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#23 of 54 in Kandy
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 54 in Kandy
526 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Garden
Hotel Mango Garden
#35 of 412 in Kandy
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
St Bridget's Guest House
0.4 mi away
Anna Shanthi Villa
Anna Shanthi Villa
#11 of 412 in Kandy
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kandy Waters
Kandy Waters
#62 of 335 in Kandy
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expeditor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expeditor Inn

Property: Expeditor Inn
Address: 41 Saranankara Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 412 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Expeditor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expeditor Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing