We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy B&B with good home-cooked food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Expeditor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expeditor Inn
Ranked #74 of 366 Kandy B&B and Inns
uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Comfy B&B with good home-cooked food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Great little B&B perched on the hill just outside the centre of Kandy overlooking the Temple of the Tooth. Rooms were clean and pleasant and there's a large amount of communal space (lounges, balconies etc).

The food we had was some of the best in Sri Lanka (freshly prepared home-cooked curries) although they had run out of beer on one night!

We toured with a driver/guide who felt quite put out as this was the only guesthouse/hotel on our trip that didn't offer driver accommodation, but that didn't affect us.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    77
    41
    19
    14
See reviews for
18
97
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

Sumane and Kanthi, the best double-act in Kandy.

She takes care of the guest house (basic rooms, comfortable and inexpensive) and Sumane is the guide of guides with the office downstairs.

We arrived at the place late at night so missed our trek which should have taken place early the next morning. After arranging the details of our three-day Knuckles trek with Sumane he offered to take us on an impromptu drive to the Royal rice paddies where the idea was to check out the wildlife. No charge, just pay the driver.

Sumane can recognise every species of the over 400 birds in Sri Lanka as well as all of the indigenous plant life on the island. What an education.

We had such a good time with him that he broke protocol and came on the trek with us the next day. (He normally trains the guides and sends people off with his best people).

I won't go into the details of the trek, but suffice to say we had the best time with Sumane, Gamini and Diksan in the mountains. Tea plantations, hidden villages and spectacular scenery with a bit of a sing song at the end of the day.

Sumane is the man.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

The Lonely Planet put this guesthouse into the Mid Range catagory but it is basic budget accomodation in terms of the rooms. Not the cheapest (but Sri Lanka is not these days) for the rooms; we had a double, room was not cleaned on a daily basis, no air con, noisy fan, cheap mattress, room needed a good dust. However nice view and open communal areas, abit of a trek up a hill and there are lots of other guesthouses nearby too. Easy to walk into town. The breakfast was well overpriced, in fact it worked out at nearly 8 pounds for the two of us; for a cup of tea, one boiled egg, one piece of fruit and some toast with jam. Don't bother, go to the cafe around the corner and get some fresh hoppers for very little. Meals were avaliable on an evening but they were about 800 per person plus service charges; I can eat cheaper in the UK. No WiFi, internet expensive too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bangkokbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grouw, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

The big house has several clean rooms with beautiful views of the surrounding area. Only a few minutes by tuktuk away from the centre of town. The woman who runs it (and the ones working there) is very helpful and you can have a nice breakfast or dinner. Internet is available. Perfect place from where to explore Kandy.

Rob Zwager
Holland

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rozwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

A nice guesthouse, average optional breakfast (350 without eggs, 450 with eggs). Our bed was decent with a mosquito net and the bathroom was good. Nothing too fancy here but all clean and in good condition. It is a bit of a walk up the hill (esp with bags!) but a tuk tuk (200Rupees) eases the pain.
Occasional monkeys nearby too :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Lovely and spotlessly clean place with great views over the lake. Good location, owner is friendly and helpful and organised a driver for us for the next part of our trip. Great breakfast and lots of very friendly cats living here, well recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

The overall experience here was average, and I can understand how some other reviewers felt ripped off while staying here. We were here for 2 nights and the location is good, with beautiful views overlooking the lake and temple. We had a room on the top floor that was Rs.3850 (£21) per night, which was the price we were quoted when I had emailed the week before. It was a new room with a private bath and a nice communal living area shared with 1 other double room. There was a lovely balcony on the top floor with chairs and tables, which had a great view.
The downside was, there was no toilet paper and the shower (paid extra for hot water and private bath) had NO water pressure. It was one of the most miserable showering experiences, as a tiny trickle of hot water doesn't keep you warm and it's nearly impossible to wash your hair. A cold shower with good water pressure is much better.
Breakfast was also a disappointment. For breakfast we were given old fruit (barely edible), rubbery eggs and bad toast (how toast can be that bad, I don't know). I ordered the basic breakfast (toast, jam & coffee/tea) for Rs.200, and my husband had the breakfast that included eggs as well, and for some reason, that cost a massive Rs.500 extra for terrible eggs. The next morning, we opted for a granola bar I'd brought from home for breakfast, instead.
There's a wonderful guest house (Sharon Inn) a few buildings up the road that has an amazing buffet-style Sri Lankan curry and rice dinner, which I highly recommend if you're staying here. You have to book ahead.
They have internet, but charge quite a bit for it. They also have wireless, but we couldn't get it to work, so my husband checked the router and computer, and managed to get us logged in with our iPhone, but it was slow and only worked a few hours before we were disconnected.
We had to catch the bus to Sigiriya at 7.30 in the morning, which we'd told the owner the night before. We had to wake her up to pay and were scared we'd miss our bus (only direct bus of the day). Our bill was as expected, but I felt the price we'd paid for that room was too much for what we got.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BCBG983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#20 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#19 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Garden
Hotel Mango Garden
#31 of 366 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Kandy
Days Inn Kandy
#44 of 366 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
McLeod Inn
McLeod Inn
#3 of 289 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expeditor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expeditor Inn

Property: Expeditor Inn
Address: 41 Saranankara Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Expeditor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expeditor Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing