We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average basic budget accomodation but overpriced breakfast”
Review of Expeditor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expeditor Inn
Ranked #58 of 438 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2011

The Lonely Planet put this guesthouse into the Mid Range catagory but it is basic budget accomodation in terms of the rooms. Not the cheapest (but Sri Lanka is not these days) for the rooms; we had a double, room was not cleaned on a daily basis, no air con, noisy fan, cheap mattress, room needed a good dust. However nice view and open communal areas, abit of a trek up a hill and there are lots of other guesthouses nearby too. Easy to walk into town. The breakfast was well overpriced, in fact it worked out at nearly 8 pounds for the two of us; for a cup of tea, one boiled egg, one piece of fruit and some toast with jam. Don't bother, go to the cafe around the corner and get some fresh hoppers for very little. Meals were avaliable on an evening but they were about 800 per person plus service charges; I can eat cheaper in the UK. No WiFi, internet expensive too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bangkokbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Expeditor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 206 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2011

The big house has several clean rooms with beautiful views of the surrounding area. Only a few minutes by tuktuk away from the centre of town. The woman who runs it (and the ones working there) is very helpful and you can have a nice breakfast or dinner. Internet is available. Perfect place from where to explore Kandy.

Rob Zwager
Holland

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
Thank rozwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

A nice guesthouse, average optional breakfast (350 without eggs, 450 with eggs). Our bed was decent with a mosquito net and the bathroom was good. Nothing too fancy here but all clean and in good condition. It is a bit of a walk up the hill (esp with bags!) but a tuk tuk (200Rupees) eases the pain.
Occasional monkeys nearby too :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Lovely and spotlessly clean place with great views over the lake. Good location, owner is friendly and helpful and organised a driver for us for the next part of our trip. Great breakfast and lots of very friendly cats living here, well recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

The overall experience here was average, and I can understand how some other reviewers felt ripped off while staying here. We were here for 2 nights and the location is good, with beautiful views overlooking the lake and temple. We had a room on the top floor that was Rs.3850 (£21) per night, which was the price we were quoted when I had emailed the week before. It was a new room with a private bath and a nice communal living area shared with 1 other double room. There was a lovely balcony on the top floor with chairs and tables, which had a great view.
The downside was, there was no toilet paper and the shower (paid extra for hot water and private bath) had NO water pressure. It was one of the most miserable showering experiences, as a tiny trickle of hot water doesn't keep you warm and it's nearly impossible to wash your hair. A cold shower with good water pressure is much better.
Breakfast was also a disappointment. For breakfast we were given old fruit (barely edible), rubbery eggs and bad toast (how toast can be that bad, I don't know). I ordered the basic breakfast (toast, jam & coffee/tea) for Rs.200, and my husband had the breakfast that included eggs as well, and for some reason, that cost a massive Rs.500 extra for terrible eggs. The next morning, we opted for a granola bar I'd brought from home for breakfast, instead.
There's a wonderful guest house (Sharon Inn) a few buildings up the road that has an amazing buffet-style Sri Lankan curry and rice dinner, which I highly recommend if you're staying here. You have to book ahead.
They have internet, but charge quite a bit for it. They also have wireless, but we couldn't get it to work, so my husband checked the router and computer, and managed to get us logged in with our iPhone, but it was slow and only worked a few hours before we were disconnected.
We had to catch the bus to Sigiriya at 7.30 in the morning, which we'd told the owner the night before. We had to wake her up to pay and were scared we'd miss our bus (only direct bus of the day). Our bill was as expected, but I felt the price we'd paid for that room was too much for what we got.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BCBG983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Near the top of the hill with great views of the city- and there’s always an enterprising tuktuk at the bottom in case the climb is beyond you. Well located near the lake. Cute cats. Comfortable rooms and very helpful owner: she let us use her internet and phone, and even recommended a friend’s hotel in Dalhousie when we couldn’t get through to our first choice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaledonianWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We loves it and even came back . Mrs. Canty is a lovely woman. The place is very clean. Located a walking distance from the city center, up on a hill. The price is more than reasonable.
We recommend!!
Maggie, Yoav and Mika

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#24 of 56 in Kandy
367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Garden
Hotel Mango Garden
#31 of 438 in Kandy
237 reviews
1.4 mi away
St Bridget's Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
McLeod Inn
McLeod Inn
#8 of 357 in Kandy
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn-Kandy
Days Inn-Kandy
#44 of 438 in Kandy
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kandy Waters
Kandy Waters
#68 of 357 in Kandy
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expeditor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expeditor Inn

Address: 41 Saranankara Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $20 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Expeditor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expeditor Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing